20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy, growing us in South Utica and now living in Yorkville I know how delish Utica's greens are.
I lost my recipe and was searching frantically for another. I made mine like yours except I didn't boil them. I have found that by skipping that step it saves a lot of time, and they taste just as good. Thanks origamifreak for the recipe your a lifesaver LOL!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skn1234 June 19, 2011

Excellent greens. Easy to follow recipe. Sometimes I use hard salami instead of prosciutto. I've had these made with romaine instead of escarole, and always plan on buying that if my store doesn't have any escarole, but it hasn't happened yet. I'm used to a drier greens, so I cut the broth in half, but pretty much follow every other suggestion. Thanks for sharing this local specialty!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Edlear February 23, 2013

Living in/near the Utica area all my life I've enjoyed everyone else's greens. ....restaurants and friends'.......all the time wishing I could make my own that were as delicious. Now I can!! My son loves greens and chicken riggies....as do I...so I made these greens and the Utica Chicken Riggies Utica Chicken Riggies for him on Valentine's Day. We both thoroughly enjoyed our V-Day meal!! Everyone's greens are different.....some use bread crumbs and some don't.......some use spinach instead of escarole but they are all usually delicious. This recipe is comparable to some of the best I've had in the Utica area restaurants. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catsoplenty February 15, 2010

wow!...imagine my suprise.....I used to shop/purchase these things at Chanantrys...and they are excellent.....I live in northwest florida now....but do miss things from there.....true italian local flavor.....and I miss Hapanowitz's and Charlies Pizza.......

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv2cook #6 May 15, 2007

Very good! I didn't add as much broth or breadcrumbs as indicated as I had a smaller head of escarole. Be careful adding salt as the prosciutto and broth make this pretty salty to start. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 February 05, 2007

2 tidbits that are left out....after escarole is cooked drain and press all liquid out...toss with olive oil and garlic and refrigerate overnight...gives a great garlic flavor. Also with the breadcrumbs/cheese, mix the breadcrumbs and cheese together and add a bit of olive oil to soften (called oreganto mix). Then add this to greens, dont have to broil. Makes a difference...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andreab73 February 22, 2013

Loved these tasty greens! I didn't boil the escarole first and used lean bacon instead of prosciutto, otherwise made as directed. The greens had a very nice texture, not mushy but not too crispy either, and the cheese/breadcrumb topping was the perfect addition. Being from Texas I can't say whether these are the authentic Utica greens that many of the reviewers talk about, but I do know we loved them! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof October 05, 2012

This recipe is the real deal! Thank you for posting. It is as good as the best greens in Utica. Couldn't find the peppers in my area so used jarred. Next time I will need to quadruple the batch because they disappear! THANK YOU FOR POSTING the recipe, origamifreak!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cranford cook November 20, 2011

Loved the recipe even though I made a few adjustments. I didn't have escarole but went out to the garden and picked collard greens and mustard greens chopped them up with a spicy leafy lettuce and they were great. Also substituted bacon for the prosciutto since sometimes that's what restaurants in the area use. VERY GOOD!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twerk63 July 06, 2011

awesome!! as close as you can get to upstate ny!! my husband loved it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
retrojan_432690 January 19, 2011
Utica Greens (Escarole)