Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Utica Greens (Escarole) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Utica Greens (Escarole)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2011

      Yummy, growing us in South Utica and now living in Yorkville I know how delish Utica's greens are.
      I lost my recipe and was searching frantically for another. I made mine like yours except I didn't boil them. I have found that by skipping that step it saves a lot of time, and they taste just as good. Thanks origamifreak for the recipe your a lifesaver LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      Excellent greens. Easy to follow recipe. Sometimes I use hard salami instead of prosciutto. I've had these made with romaine instead of escarole, and always plan on buying that if my store doesn't have any escarole, but it hasn't happened yet. I'm used to a drier greens, so I cut the broth in half, but pretty much follow every other suggestion. Thanks for sharing this local specialty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Living in/near the Utica area all my life I've enjoyed everyone else's greens. ....restaurants and friends'.......all the time wishing I could make my own that were as delicious. Now I can!! My son loves greens and chicken riggies....as do I...so I made these greens and the Utica Chicken Riggies Utica Chicken Riggies for him on Valentine's Day. We both thoroughly enjoyed our V-Day meal!! Everyone's greens are different.....some use bread crumbs and some don't.......some use spinach instead of escarole but they are all usually delicious. This recipe is comparable to some of the best I've had in the Utica area restaurants. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      wow!...imagine my suprise.....I used to shop/purchase these things at Chanantrys...and they are excellent.....I live in northwest florida now....but do miss things from there.....true italian local flavor.....and I miss Hapanowitz's and Charlies Pizza.......

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      Very good! I didn't add as much broth or breadcrumbs as indicated as I had a smaller head of escarole. Be careful adding salt as the prosciutto and broth make this pretty salty to start. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      2 tidbits that are left out....after escarole is cooked drain and press all liquid out...toss with olive oil and garlic and refrigerate overnight...gives a great garlic flavor. Also with the breadcrumbs/cheese, mix the breadcrumbs and cheese together and add a bit of olive oil to soften (called oreganto mix). Then add this to greens, dont have to broil. Makes a difference...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      Loved these tasty greens! I didn't boil the escarole first and used lean bacon instead of prosciutto, otherwise made as directed. The greens had a very nice texture, not mushy but not too crispy either, and the cheese/breadcrumb topping was the perfect addition. Being from Texas I can't say whether these are the authentic Utica greens that many of the reviewers talk about, but I do know we loved them! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      This recipe is the real deal! Thank you for posting. It is as good as the best greens in Utica. Couldn't find the peppers in my area so used jarred. Next time I will need to quadruple the batch because they disappear! THANK YOU FOR POSTING the recipe, origamifreak!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      Loved the recipe even though I made a few adjustments. I didn't have escarole but went out to the garden and picked collard greens and mustard greens chopped them up with a spicy leafy lettuce and they were great. Also substituted bacon for the prosciutto since sometimes that's what restaurants in the area use. VERY GOOD!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      awesome!! as close as you can get to upstate ny!! my husband loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      Delicious. I boiled escarole in water, didnt realize I was supposed to use the chicke broth, but this case out awesome - I used Capanello peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      The taste of these was good but mine came out REALLY soupy. I'd use a lot less broth next time. I'm from CNY and I now live where I have to drive 2 hours to Dallas just to find escarole! I'm glad I got it for this recipe though. I miss some good CNY food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

    • on April 22, 2010

      Growing up in Rome NY greens were a staple dish.. From the Franklin Hotel to the Hollywood on Dominick Street to several other places in Utica. Great recipe...We all add our own flair to everyone elses... For me, I boil the greens in water and chicken broth as it adds flavor to the greens... I don't use breadcrumbs until I throw them under the broiler before we eat them... Thank you for the recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      this is the closest I have tasted to Delmonico's Utica Greens!! I didn't use any chicken broth, though and only mixed in 1/2 the breadcrumbs. Fantastic recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      These greens are just like a restaurant in town, and are so delicious. My husband is hooked

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      I'm from Utica and I cant get greens where I am now. These where perfect. I would not change a thing.. Thank You for the recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      I sampled Utica Greens for the first time this summer at Lupino's Trackside Restaurant and Delmonico's Italian Steakhouse on a weekend trip to Utica, and I've been craving them ever since! This recipe is fast, easy, and perfectly replicates the greens I enjoyed in Utica. I ended up using only one pepper, and did not use any salt, but otherwise followed the recipe with excellent results. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      I live in Syracuse NY and for years have been buying Utica Greens from the Italian Chef. I tried this recipe when they ran out on New Years Eve and knew my guests were expecting them . WOW! These taste the exact same and cost MUCH less to make myself. I will never buy premade Utica Greens again. Thank you SO much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Five years ago I moved from Utica, NY to Southern California. I just went back to visit family a week ago for the first time in five years. While in Utica, we went to Lupino's Trackside Restaurant where I ordered one of my old favorites, Lupino's Greens. I searched RecipeZaar looking for a similar recipe. I was very excited to find such a close match for the recipe! Thanks so much for posting this. I made the recipe and came it out wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Utica Greens (Escarole)

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 154.6
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    47%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 315.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    prosciutto

    pecorino romano cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites