13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this last night, mostly for my husband who grew up in Oneida County, and it was delicious! We own a house in Rome, NY and have had riggies on many occasions while we're up there. We are military though and can't just run out and get riggies in Kentucky! :)

This recipe tasted like the "real" riggies you get at Teddy's in Rome. So yummy! I think I put a little too much red pepper flakes in ours though because it was too spicy for the kids (I used 1 tsp).

GREAT RECIPE!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
girl_beast86 April 01, 2012

Well supposedly "chicken riggies" originated in Utica......I don't think we'll ever know for sure which restaurant or which chef made it first. But the one thing I DO know for sure is that this recipe is absolutely delicious and ranks right up there with the ones I've had from the Utica....and, yes, Rome...area restaurants. Actually, IMO, it ranks higher than some! I made them along with the Utica Greens (Escarole) recipe. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal!! Thanks for a great recipe!!! Note: I did add a few (3-4) cloves of minced garlic but that's the only thing I did differently.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catsoplenty February 16, 2010

My husband and I just made this amazing recipe. We live very near to Utica, NY, and wanted to try it on our own instead of always getting them out. We couldn't stop oohing and ahhing while we were eating! We tweaked some of the amts of ingredients to our liking, but it was absolutely delicious!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amarkowicz January 17, 2010

Wonderful!! I've tried many different recipes but nothing compares to this one, rave reviews!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lconley1947 September 16, 2009

We loved this! Creamy, robust and satisfying, with very good flavour, I made as directed, except that I used a 410 gr can of chopped tomatoes rather than tomato sauce. I didn't use the corn starch, i felt that the sauce had good texture, and was perfect once the pasta was added. An extremely good and tasty pasta for those cool evenings!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth March 09, 2009

Easy to make. Good flavor. My sauce did not thicken. Any one else have that problem? Amount of cornstarch was not listed in recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie N. February 01, 2015

These are a lot like the ones that you used to get at Mr. McGill's in Schuyler. Great !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
autoteck April 01, 2014

This was outstanding! The only changes I made to the recipe were adding crushed garlic and I thickened it with a few spoonfuls of tomato paste instead of corn starch. I also added a red bell pepper to add more color. I doubled the recipe which really made a ton. It filled my large turkey roasting pan! This is even better than the large pan of riggies I bought at our local restaurant on Christmas eve.Remember to have a loaf of italian bread on hand to soak up all of the extra sauce. I will definitely be making this when company comes! Simply amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie M. March 16, 2014

First of all, woah Chef #1255054! No one said Utica's were the best, and no one said there weren't riggies in Rome, NY. In fact, the author said that you have a tough time finding riggies 20 miles outside of Utica and Rome is within that 20 miles. Chill. It's a recipe and a local story.<br/><br/>Now, this recipe is awesome. Totally reminds me of my days in Herkimer! Thanks for sharing. It's a hit every time I make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmrymar November 07, 2013

As an Aussie girl I have never had this dish, so I was unprepared for how amazing this would be. As the mum of 4 small children I was delighted to have all their plates clean. I added garlic and 1 heaped TB of chopped sun dried tomatoes. I didn't add the corn flour, rather - simmered the sauce for 30 minutes. I WILL be making this again and I cannot thank you enough for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom July 04, 2013
Utica Chicken Riggies