13 Reviews

This is so wonderful because it can be easily adapted to just any diet conscious person, and you can add or subtract ingredients as you see fit. I had thrown together a salad from the night before, and had some ingredients left over. Onions, peppers, tomato, and mushrooms. We also had baked ham, so I used this as the meat. After I put all ingredients in the baking dish, I even used the leftover croutons, (crushed and mixed with a bit of melted butter) that I put on top mixing lightly with the cheddar cheese. Baked and it puffed up, and just made a delicious breakfast treat. Thank you so much, Anme. You've done it again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm December 13, 2007

I have made this a few times now. My family loves it. It keeps so well. After the first moring serving, I split the rest into individual rubermaid containers and pop it in the fridge. The next two mornings we just reheated in the microwave and it was great. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
motown chef January 07, 2009

Very appropriately named! We had this dish for brekkie this morning and loved it! Had so much fun making it too. Used three eggs and the rest, egg substitute. For the meat, we had turkey sausage. Used cheddar cheese, spinach and onion. While we were eating it, we were discussing what combo we were going to use next time! Thank you so much for a lovely dish that I can have whenever I need to clean out the fridge!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jonesies August 09, 2008

This was good and very easy. I had some sausage links, took the casing off, cooked them up with some bell peppers and onion. I used sliced american cheese placed immidiately on top coming out of the oven instead of inside the dish. A keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu November 16, 2007

Great way to use up leftovers!! I had some leftover ham and fontina cheese. I cut it by a 1/3 so used only 6 eggs but kept the same amount of cheese and meat. Didn't have any veggies to throw in but did use the onion. I did garlic powder, italian seasoning, salt, and pepper. Great flavor! Thanks, Anme!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady October 30, 2007

Thank you very much for this great idea to clear out all the left overs. Will certainly be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandrine78 August 30, 2007

Very simple and easy way to clear out your fridge of all the random leftovers! I had some chicken fried steak, bell pepper, sauteed onions and baby bellas. Used a fat free cheddar, evaporated milk, fresh parsley and dried oregano. OMG...Soo easy! It was just the hubby and I but this would be perfect for a crowd over for brunch! Thanks for sharing such an easy and adaptable recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Divalicious *808* June 17, 2007

This is my type of recipe. It took only a couple of minutes to throw together, and cleaned out my fridge of lots of odds & ends. I was making this just for myself, so I cut the eggs down to 4 & milk to 2 tbsp. I guessed on the rest of the measurements, using up what I had. My dish included crumbled italian sausage, yellow squash & shittake mushrooms (thrown in raw), green onions, a bit of mozzarella & lots more gruyere cheese, plus basil, oregano, parsley & garlic powder. I love the concept, and think that you could adjust ingredients & amounts easily. It would also work great for low-carbers and vegeatarians if you just increased the veggies and left out the meat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 April 27, 2007

I gave this recipe 3 stars. This recipe got mixed reviews in my house. My 8 yr old niece & 7 yr old newphew didn't like this recipe. My future hubby and I did. I used shredded cheddar, leftover ham, I sauteed some green pepper with the onion, garlic powder and recommended herbs. I loved the fact I didn't have to stand over the stove to watch this fry. Overall this was very good and I'll make it again for sure! Thanks for posting a yummy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut December 31, 2009
Using up Leftovers Oven Eggs