17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was SO good!!! SO good. I'm not a great cook but this came out REALLY DELICIOUS! I had to make a couple of small changes....I had a HUGE ham bone so I tripled the water and celery. And then used 2% milk instead of half-and-half. Also, I didn't have red potatoes so I just used regular baking ones, diced with the peel still on. My family, including my 7yo and 4yo loved it too! Easy and good. This is a keeper recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Mo December 28, 2010

Very yummy... added some riffles, plenty of pepper, garlic and cheese and it was super yummy! I also used whole milk instead of half and half... was still very rich and creamy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Jeri February 21, 2011

Yummy and a great use for that ham bone. Soup is plain enough to customize to individual tastes but we enjoyed as is. Very thick, rich, and satisfying on a cold day. Used russett potatoes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama February 13, 2010

This was AMAZING!!! Best potato soup I have ever tasted. I made the recipe almost exactly as listed, but my ham bone was pretty big and meaty so I used a lot more water. I used 1 can of chicken broth and probably about 8-10 cups of water. Also, I think it needed the additional liquids to come out the right consistancy... It was still super creamy! I even ended up thinnning it out in the end with a bit of skim milk. For seasonings, I added some fresh cracked pepper, Mrs Dash table blend, garlic powder, and a pinch of cayenne. In my opinion, no added salt is needed, the ham is salty enough. I also sprinkled some shredded sharp cheddar on when serving, because everything is better with cheese! GREAT recipe, will most definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahSonn December 30, 2013

Awesome soup, added 2 carrots, celery and a cup of frozen corn, used a cup of whole milk and a cup of 2% and it turned out great, definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie 29 December 30, 2014

Yummy! A few changes i made - used chicken stock instead of water, added a couple handfuls of diced baby carrots, decreased flour to 1/4 cup in the roux. Once plated added a dollop of sour cream a small handful of cheese and Cholua sauce to taste to give it a nice kick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monicagagne December 29, 2014

This is very similar to the soup I make with leftover ham bone, but I cook the ham bone in my pressure cooker filled with water, with garlic, onion, fennel, celery seed, garlic and pepper. After I have cooked so that the broth is reduced by half, I put the meat in one bowl and strain the broth into another then put them into the fridge overnight. The next day I scrape the hardened fat off the top of the broth and put the broth (which has jellified) back into the pressure cooker and fill it with peeled and chopped potatoes and water. I try to leave the potatoes in 2 to 3 inch chunks so that they don't cook completely down. I cook them for up to 2 hours. By this time half of the potatoes have dissolved down and made a lovely chowder base. Then I add diced ham, corn and green onion. Cook on low for about 30 minutes. Add 1/3 to 1/2 cup butter and 1 cup of heavy cream or 2 cups of half and half with pepper. Stir and simmer for 10 minutes. No flour needed and even the kids love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa S. June 27, 2014

This was amazing!! Even picky, gluten free son loved it and went back for seconds....Am going to try adding crab next time. Only changes were adding carrots, garlic, dill, various potatoes I had on hand, and didn't have half & half so used part milk and condensed milk. And of course, used gluten free flour. I think you can use what ever is on hand. Thanks for this great soup; won't be throwing those ham bones away again...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane S. January 25, 2014

This is the PERFECT use for that ham bone! My husband and I LOVED it and I will definitely be adding this to my "Recipe Keepsake" book. Thanks so much for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OddSpirit January 21, 2014

This is such a good alternative to pea or bean soup. I added 3 small bok choy, about 1/2# carrots and a dash of bay leaf. My 15 month old grand daughter was watching me stir it and kept saying "num num" so she had 3 bowls of veggies & ham. This is a good base recipe to use different kinds of meat/seafood. I don't miss the salt. Thank you very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazy Grannie April 02, 2013
Using the Christmas Ham Bone, Makes You Feel Good Potato Soup