Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Using the Christmas Ham Bone, Makes You Feel Good Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Using the Christmas Ham Bone, Makes You Feel Good Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2010

      This was SO good!!! SO good. I'm not a great cook but this came out REALLY DELICIOUS! I had to make a couple of small changes....I had a HUGE ham bone so I tripled the water and celery. And then used 2% milk instead of half-and-half. Also, I didn't have red potatoes so I just used regular baking ones, diced with the peel still on. My family, including my 7yo and 4yo loved it too! Easy and good. This is a keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Very yummy... added some riffles, plenty of pepper, garlic and cheese and it was super yummy! I also used whole milk instead of half and half... was still very rich and creamy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Yummy and a great use for that ham bone. Soup is plain enough to customize to individual tastes but we enjoyed as is. Very thick, rich, and satisfying on a cold day. Used russett potatoes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2014

      This is very similar to the soup I make with leftover ham bone, but I cook the ham bone in my pressure cooker filled with water, with garlic, onion, fennel, celery seed, garlic and pepper. After I have cooked so that the broth is reduced by half, I put the meat in one bowl and strain the broth into another then put them into the fridge overnight. The next day I scrape the hardened fat off the top of the broth and put the broth (which has jellified) back into the pressure cooker and fill it with peeled and chopped potatoes and water. I try to leave the potatoes in 2 to 3 inch chunks so that they don't cook completely down. I cook them for up to 2 hours. By this time half of the potatoes have dissolved down and made a lovely chowder base. Then I add diced ham, corn and green onion. Cook on low for about 30 minutes. Add 1/3 to 1/2 cup butter and 1 cup of heavy cream or 2 cups of half and half with pepper. Stir and simmer for 10 minutes. No flour needed and even the kids love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2014

      This was amazing!! Even picky, gluten free son loved it and went back for seconds....Am going to try adding crab next time. Only changes were adding carrots, garlic, dill, various potatoes I had on hand, and didn't have half & half so used part milk and condensed milk. And of course, used gluten free flour. I think you can use what ever is on hand. Thanks for this great soup; won't be throwing those ham bones away again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2014

      This is the PERFECT use for that ham bone! My husband and I LOVED it and I will definitely be adding this to my "Recipe Keepsake" book. Thanks so much for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      This was AMAZING!!! Best potato soup I have ever tasted. I made the recipe almost exactly as listed, but my ham bone was pretty big and meaty so I used a lot more water. I used 1 can of chicken broth and probably about 8-10 cups of water. Also, I think it needed the additional liquids to come out the right consistancy... It was still super creamy! I even ended up thinnning it out in the end with a bit of skim milk. For seasonings, I added some fresh cracked pepper, Mrs Dash table blend, garlic powder, and a pinch of cayenne. In my opinion, no added salt is needed, the ham is salty enough. I also sprinkled some shredded sharp cheddar on when serving, because everything is better with cheese! GREAT recipe, will most definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2013

      This is such a good alternative to pea or bean soup. I added 3 small bok choy, about 1/2# carrots and a dash of bay leaf. My 15 month old grand daughter was watching me stir it and kept saying "num num" so she had 3 bowls of veggies & ham. This is a good base recipe to use different kinds of meat/seafood. I don't miss the salt. Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

    • on January 02, 2013

      I don't often review recipes but I had to make a special effort for this one! This tastes like a restaurant potato soup! I make a lot of soup and this is a keeper. I did make a couple hanges to lower the calories and fat and it was still amazing... I am sure the original ingredients add to the flavor and texture but I honestly can't imagine it tasting any better.
      I doubled the recipe but used only 1/2 c of butter and 3/4 c flour, and it was the perfect consistency for me... Very similar in thickness to potato soup from Panera or Chili's ( tastes similar too)). I also used skim milk and added 1 tablespoon of chicken base ( like better than bullion). I also added 2 tsp salt with the potatoes to season them as they cooked. It doesn't need anything as far as I am concerned... Perfect potato soup and a great way to use my ham bone! Thanks for posting such a great recipe!i love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      What a delish dish! Made this for our lunch and cut it down for the two of us. I had a ham hock that I used and used 2% milk. Turned out great. Will make this again. Made for Fall PAC 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      This is absolutely delicious! I used 1/2 c. whipping cream and 1 1/2 c. 1% milk because that is what I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      Loved this soup! Only change was lowfat milk instead of the cream, as suggested in another review, and the texture was still creamy. This one is going in my recipe box. Thank you, Shelley Lee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Made this tonight so it could stew in the fridge for Saturday night-the coldest night in Florida in years. It is really easy and so good. Especially using chunks of good ham off the bone. I used half buttermilk and half 1% milk, and country crock churn style instead of real butter. Turned out fine!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I have been looking high and low for a recipe for some kind of potato soup that would use a leftover ham bone from Christmas, but wasn't pea soup or bean soup...and this one fit the bill! I used this recipe as a base for a quick potato, ham & corn chowder. I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, so I skipped the celery and substituted baby Dutch yellow potatoes for red potatoes, and used a combination of 2% milk and half & half. It is simmering on the stove now and I think it came out pretty good. Looking forward to dinner tonight! Thanks for posting this, it was just what I needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Using the Christmas Ham Bone, Makes You Feel Good Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 308.7
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    54%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 52.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 154.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites