Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Upside down pizza Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Upside down pizza

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2002

      EXCELLENT! I made this for dinner tonite & it was wonderful. I only made a couple of changes: I added JIMMY DEAN lite (50% less fat) sausage (itz the real stuff), 1lg sweet white onion, 1lg green pepper, cut. I stirred the onion & pepper in after I drained the cooked meat & sauted about 4min. They mainted some crunchiness after the dish was finished. I sprinkled some oregano & a little italian seasoning on top of the meat mixture. I then sprinkled about 12oz of mozzarella & fresh parmesan cheese & used xlg refrig. crescent rolls for the top. YUMMY!! Thanx for such a great recipe & idea. BTW, given a scale of 1-5, my roommates gave it a 10..I think they are still patting their tummies..LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2002

      I'm so glad I tried this. It was really good. I added Italian herbs to the batter mixture for extra flavour. I also stirred the parmesan cheese into the batter instead of sprinkling on top as I find it sometimes burns that way. This was a nice easy meal that could easily be variated to suit different tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2002

      Another picky eater winner! I used half ground beef and half mild Italian sausage. I also added some pepperoni to the mix and it did "kick it up a notch" (or two or three). I combined the spices and parmesan cheese with the dough, as suggested by other reviewers. My picky daugher asked for seconds and even my skeptical wife liked it. Next time I will drain the cooked meat mixture a bit better as the finished product was almost too oily for my taste - chef's error not the recipe's. This is a keeper. Thanks all!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2002

      i haven't tried this exact recipe - the only difference in my recipe is that we use refrigerator croissants on top instead of the flour mixture. my kids would rate this a 5-star! it's very easy, quick and really good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      My family loved this, I omitted the onion and added garlic powder, onion powder and dried oregano to the crust batter. Easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I made this tonight for a potluck dinner I was going to. Usually, I like to try a recipe first but thought it sounded so good I would just hope all would turn out well and it sure did. I did add pepperoni, mushrooms, green & red peppers and a small amount of onion. Then added the parmesan cheese to the batter. Everyone loved it and asked for copies of the recipe. UPDATE This has become a regular dish in our home. Even my fussy kids love it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      My whole family really liked this recipe. It was quick and simple. I added a can of sliced mushrooms. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Enjoyed this a lot. I was in a hurry so I left out onions and peppers. Sprayed the dish with cooking spray and put cheese on bottom, then meat, then crust mixture. Family liked it and I will do it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

    • on October 30, 2008

      We really did like this pizza. I made my own pizza sauce and it was great. It is definitely a keeper. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Wow! Easy, Tastey, Wow! I (1/2) the recipe and baked it in an 8x8 glass pan. Used 8 oz of mushrooms, 1/4c chopped sausage, 1T onion and 1t garlic. Sauted till cooked, add 8 oz of spaghetti sauce with a 1/4t Italian seasoning. Cooked it down till it was thick very thick. Rest of recipe as is, but added a few slices of peperoini for flavor and a few canadian bacon. I only made changes because of what I had on hand. It was delicious. I tried the recipe out tonight for dinner with the grandkids tomorrow. I would have never guessed that the "crust" wasn't a yeast dough. It was delicious! What else can I say. I will be making it very often. By using low fat turkey sausage, canadian bacon and only a little pepperoni and a little light on the cheese I cut the fat down quite a bit, hopefully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Yummy this will be a keeper in my house i changed it a bit by adding garlic with my hamburger meat and mixing some italian sausage to add some more flavor , what i love most about it is you can change it up to suit your mood A++.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      This one is definitely a keeper..My kids loved it! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      We loved this recipe, and will definitely be having it again, possibly with some variations other reviewers have suggested such as ground sausage or pepperoni. This first time, the only changes I made were to add some chopped green pepper with the onion. I also used whole wheat flour in the 'crust', and it worked just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      Delicious..thanks so much for posting. DH and kids cleaned their plates!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      This was okay ... everyone ate it but it probably wont be made again this way. I didnt think it had enough taste & we didnt care for the bread topping. May try w/ pepperonis & cresent/ref. biscuits topping next time. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2005

      This was very good. It was quick to throw together and used ingredients that I usually have on hand. I was a little leery of the bread topping, but it turned out great. Dh thought it had a little too much ground beef so I might try to put some bread on the bottom as well. Thanks for sharing this great little recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2005

      This was just delicious, and a nice change from eating regular pizza! I made mine with ground beef and Italian sausage mixed together, and made mine with half and half cream instead of milk as I ran out of milk, and it worked out quite well. I also added in some garlic and chopped green peppers to the hamburger/sausage mixture, and sprinkled some grated Parmesan cheese over the top of the ground beef mixture just before I sprinkled the mozza cheese. The topping is similar to a biscuit, but softer... This is a very tasty casserole, and very versatile too. I will certainly make this again. Thank you Carolinafan for sharing!...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2005

      Very good! Three of us ate the whole pan! I added 1 tsp. pizza seasoning to the meat mixture, then layered sliced black olives and pepperoni (degreased) on top of that. No problem with uneven crust. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      5 STAR YUM!!! This was awsome!! I used italian sausage, black olives, and mushrooms. It was totally delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Upside down pizza

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 297.3
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    52%
    Total Fat 17.2 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 92.3 mg
    30%
    Sodium 420.0 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 20.2 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes