15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Mom has loved German Chocolate Cake since getting the real deal while living in Germany. She's never had it upside down though so this was a perfect choice for her upcoming birthday. For some reason, the cream cheese mixture mostly disappeared into the cake so I decided to turn it onto a serving platter for presentation. I cooled the uncovered cake overnight, ran a knife around the edges, pushed a small spatula underneath the cake to loosen anything stuck (felt sticky) and turned it upside down onto a parchment-lined bamboo cutting board. It looked fantastic! Everyone gave this cake five stars. It was rich and very moist. What a winner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens February 14, 2014

I heard of this from someone else and couldn't believe you could do it. I am so impressed. I took one to VBS at my church and now I have to copy the recipe for 78 workers at church. Must have been good, huh?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetnessprecious July 10, 2010

Made this for Fathers Day. Loved by all. Huge success. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
closet chef in ma June 22, 2010

Made this for my pastor this past Sunday and some for my family... this is scrumptious! Fast and easy if you use a mix, but I prefer my own recipe for German Chocolate Cake. Love the cream cheese addition...you must try this...you will get many rave reviews! Thanks so much "ThatJodiGirl"...you were kind to share this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lutie September 09, 2009

Just delicious! I served this to a group of friends, and they loved it. Thanks for such an easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie November 18, 2008

This is sooo good! My boyfriend loves german chocolate cake so every year for his bday, I try to find a different interesting variation..and this was definitely one of the best! I don't have a 13x9 in. pan so I cut the recipe in half and used an 8x8 and it turned out perfect. I don't have an electric mixer either, so I just used a wire whisk and it worked out fine. I also made a mistake and used olive oil in the cake batter instead of vegetable oil (whoops!). I thought that I had ruined it but it still came out delicious! Thanks for the great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee May 15, 2008

Not sure what I can add that hasn't been said in previous reviews. I needed an after school snack for a bunch of kids one day, didn't want to go to a store, this and a gallon of milk fit the bill. The only change I made to the recipe was using sliced almonds (on hand). The kids were happy, I was happy. Thank you ;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Q May 12, 2008

This is one of my favorite cakes. My mom makes it all the time. I couldn't find her recipe, so I was glad to see it on the Zaar. It turned out delicious! I cut the powdered sugar down to 2 cups and used chocolate fudge cake instead of german chocolate. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover November 22, 2007

I am mighty glad I photo'd this cake before I took it to work...even though I intended to reserve a piece to photo on its own. (At least now there IS a picture, albeit not very creative.)The cake was demolished! Immediately. Everyone loved it. And I love sending a link to people who want the recipe...so much easier than the low tech writing on a card approach. :-) This is an outstanding cake. My recommendation: make it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT September 26, 2007

I made this last year for my step-father's birthday - his favorite is German Chocolate cake. This is not quite the same, but he loved it and I personally enjoyed it more. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferK2 February 14, 2007
Upside Down German Chocolate Cake