Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Upside Down German Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Upside Down German Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2014

      Mom has loved German Chocolate Cake since getting the real deal while living in Germany. She's never had it upside down though so this was a perfect choice for her upcoming birthday. For some reason, the cream cheese mixture mostly disappeared into the cake so I decided to turn it onto a serving platter for presentation. I cooled the uncovered cake overnight, ran a knife around the edges, pushed a small spatula underneath the cake to loosen anything stuck (felt sticky) and turned it upside down onto a parchment-lined bamboo cutting board. It looked fantastic! Everyone gave this cake five stars. It was rich and very moist. What a winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      I heard of this from someone else and couldn't believe you could do it. I am so impressed. I took one to VBS at my church and now I have to copy the recipe for 78 workers at church. Must have been good, huh?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Made this for Fathers Day. Loved by all. Huge success. Will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      Made this for my pastor this past Sunday and some for my family... this is scrumptious! Fast and easy if you use a mix, but I prefer my own recipe for German Chocolate Cake. Love the cream cheese addition...you must try this...you will get many rave reviews! Thanks so much "ThatJodiGirl"...you were kind to share this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      Just delicious! I served this to a group of friends, and they loved it. Thanks for such an easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      This is sooo good! My boyfriend loves german chocolate cake so every year for his bday, I try to find a different interesting variation..and this was definitely one of the best! I don't have a 13x9 in. pan so I cut the recipe in half and used an 8x8 and it turned out perfect. I don't have an electric mixer either, so I just used a wire whisk and it worked out fine. I also made a mistake and used olive oil in the cake batter instead of vegetable oil (whoops!). I thought that I had ruined it but it still came out delicious! Thanks for the great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Not sure what I can add that hasn't been said in previous reviews. I needed an after school snack for a bunch of kids one day, didn't want to go to a store, this and a gallon of milk fit the bill. The only change I made to the recipe was using sliced almonds (on hand). The kids were happy, I was happy. Thank you ;-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      This is one of my favorite cakes. My mom makes it all the time. I couldn't find her recipe, so I was glad to see it on the Zaar. It turned out delicious! I cut the powdered sugar down to 2 cups and used chocolate fudge cake instead of german chocolate. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      I am mighty glad I photo'd this cake before I took it to work...even though I intended to reserve a piece to photo on its own. (At least now there IS a picture, albeit not very creative.)The cake was demolished! Immediately. Everyone loved it. And I love sending a link to people who want the recipe...so much easier than the low tech writing on a card approach. :-) This is an outstanding cake. My recommendation: make it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      I made this last year for my step-father's birthday - his favorite is German Chocolate cake. This is not quite the same, but he loved it and I personally enjoyed it more. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      This is probably my absolute favorite cake. It is so so delicious!! I love the taste of german chocolate with the addition of cream cheese!!! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      A little different than the traditional German Chocolate recipe but I LOVE anything with cream cheese in it. I'll be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      This is wonderful! I had been searching for this because I had made this several years ago and lost it. I like this version better than regular german chocolate cake because it's quick, easy and delicious! Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      I had a boxed German chocolate cake mix I needed to use, so I tried this recipe. It was delicious! Make sure to spread the cream cheese/powdered sugar mixture evenly over the cake mix, and don't forget to flip it upside down when you serve it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2003

      I substituted dark chocolate cake mix and walnuts, and everyone at the picnic absolutely loved it! It's a somewhat less sweet version of this. An excellent recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Upside Down German Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 687.5
     
    Calories from Fat 380
    55%
    Total Fat 42.3 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 18.4 g
    92%
    Cholesterol 94.0 mg
    31%
    Sodium 406.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.7 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 59.5 g
    238%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites