16 Reviews

Mom has loved German Chocolate Cake since getting the real deal while living in Germany. She's never had it upside down though so this was a perfect choice for her upcoming birthday. For some reason, the cream cheese mixture mostly disappeared into the cake so I decided to turn it onto a serving platter for presentation. I cooled the uncovered cake overnight, ran a knife around the edges, pushed a small spatula underneath the cake to loosen anything stuck (felt sticky) and turned it upside down onto a parchment-lined bamboo cutting board. It looked fantastic! Everyone gave this cake five stars. It was rich and very moist. What a winner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens February 14, 2014

I heard of this from someone else and couldn't believe you could do it. I am so impressed. I took one to VBS at my church and now I have to copy the recipe for 78 workers at church. Must have been good, huh?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetnessprecious July 10, 2010

Made this for Fathers Day. Loved by all. Huge success. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
closet chef in ma June 22, 2010

Made this for my pastor this past Sunday and some for my family... this is scrumptious! Fast and easy if you use a mix, but I prefer my own recipe for German Chocolate Cake. Love the cream cheese addition...you must try this...you will get many rave reviews! Thanks so much "ThatJodiGirl"...you were kind to share this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lutie September 09, 2009

Just delicious! I served this to a group of friends, and they loved it. Thanks for such an easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie November 18, 2008

This is sooo good! My boyfriend loves german chocolate cake so every year for his bday, I try to find a different interesting variation..and this was definitely one of the best! I don't have a 13x9 in. pan so I cut the recipe in half and used an 8x8 and it turned out perfect. I don't have an electric mixer either, so I just used a wire whisk and it worked out fine. I also made a mistake and used olive oil in the cake batter instead of vegetable oil (whoops!). I thought that I had ruined it but it still came out delicious! Thanks for the great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee May 15, 2008

Not sure what I can add that hasn't been said in previous reviews. I needed an after school snack for a bunch of kids one day, didn't want to go to a store, this and a gallon of milk fit the bill. The only change I made to the recipe was using sliced almonds (on hand). The kids were happy, I was happy. Thank you ;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Q May 12, 2008

This is one of my favorite cakes. My mom makes it all the time. I couldn't find her recipe, so I was glad to see it on the Zaar. It turned out delicious! I cut the powdered sugar down to 2 cups and used chocolate fudge cake instead of german chocolate. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover November 22, 2007

I see this recipe on a lot of different web sites. I make this and have made it many times. The big difference in my cake is that i use butter and brown sugar with coconut and pecans as first layer to the cake- just like pineapple upside down cake. It does look messy after it is inverted on a platter, the messier it is the better it taste. It is one of the best cakes i have made. I have made this 6/7 times since i discovered it and it is my favorite. Going to make it now starting with melted butter and brown sugar. Was wondering how you got the cream cheese mixture before the cake mix??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry J. March 18, 2016

I am mighty glad I photo'd this cake before I took it to work...even though I intended to reserve a piece to photo on its own. (At least now there IS a picture, albeit not very creative.)The cake was demolished! Immediately. Everyone loved it. And I love sending a link to people who want the recipe...so much easier than the low tech writing on a card approach. :-) This is an outstanding cake. My recommendation: make it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT September 26, 2007
Upside Down German Chocolate Cake