8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I adore french toast and this lovely treat was no exception. Really easy to make and quick; you just pop it into the oven in the morning for a lovely taste experience. We really enjoyed the flavor and texture of the french toast. It was light and puffy, with apples, cinnamon and raisins, what more could you ask for. Thank you so much for sharing this lovely dish Weekender. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato June 16, 2010

Wow! Followed recipe basically, but changed a few things. Mixed apples into the brown sugar mixture. Used homemade challah bread, dried a bit in the oven. Layered bread, raisins plumped in orange juice, egg mixture, then apples on top. I like my french toast moist, and I thought this would keep it moister. It turned out gorgeous. Would be perfect to serve to company or for a holiday breakfast. Is a bit more like a bread pudding, but we loved it. Could also serve it as dessert. I topped with a syrup made of maple syrup, peanut butter, and orange juice. Awesome together and if you like peanut butter, give this a try. It would make a good dip, and kids would love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris M. September 25, 2014

I made this two days before I baked it and it still turned out great. Served it to some overnight. guests and it was a huge hit! Made for think pink event 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean October 16, 2012

I made a mistake and put the apples on top of the bread and not vice versa but it tasted great anyway . Very easy to do and it vanished fast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew May 05, 2012

this is very easy .cut in half and in 9 inch pan made 4 1/2 pieces . this is very sweet . if you like bread pudding you will like this

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. October 04, 2011

Most of the time now days I make this kind of toast with a whole grain bread rather than the French & that's what I did this time as well! Other than that, though, the recipe was followed (well, I did cut it all in half for just the 2 of us), & we had a great tasting breakfast! The whole wheat bread, the apples, the cinnamon ~ WONDERFUL! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hits recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike September 13, 2011

Yummo!!! I made this as written with the exception of omitting the raisins and scaling it back for one. I didn't take a photo because when I flipped it, it slid off the edge of the plate and made for a mess on top, but still so tasty. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 July 27, 2011

I followed this recipe exactly only substituting currants instead of raisins. It worked beautifully and my husband commented that it was a shame to eat it for breakfast as it could easily be used as a dessert. A wonderful recipe. Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap#50

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook March 06, 2011
Upside Down Apple French Toast