14 Reviews

Really good but I also topped ours off with Sharp Cheddar.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bluebelles November 07, 2010

Sharon, you really out did yourself with this one...oh so rich and delicious! I followed the recipe to a tee and it is a perfectly scrumptious dish. Thank you for posting!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PleasantNancy September 17, 2010

This recipe can also be found on page 276 (verbatim) in the "The New Basics" Cookbook by Julee Rosso & Sheila Lukins printed in 1998. It is a fantastic recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thisaintnomartha January 12, 2011

I have been making this for years and have never gotten any complaints. I use Idaho potatoes, as called for, the big baking ones. If you want to use another type of potatoe, I would suggest anything that is floury, not waxy, as the waxy potatoes give off quite a bit of water and have tendency to break the sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendyla in Cali October 17, 2009

We adore potato bake, and when the children asked for it, I thought I'd try this.. YUM! So rich and creamy, this disappeared in a trice, no leftovers! Quickly prepared as well, and then it cooks away to itself, while you are busy with other dishes. Incidentally, I didn't peel the potatoes, since there is a lot of goodness in the skin, I just scrubbed them well before slicing. A real keeper, thank you Sharon! Made for Veg'n swap#11

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth June 24, 2009

Absolutely the BEST potato recipe I've ever made or tasted!!!!! Easily deserves 10 starts!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa28 September 08, 2008

I wish I could give this recipe 10 stars. Very guest-worthy!! AND absolutely delicious! Made for A TASTE OF YELLOW and LiveSTRONG event.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks May 09, 2008

The potatoes probably need to be pre-cooked a little before using. Some of my potatoes didn't cook all the way through during baking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha December 24, 2007

Yum. These were fantastic! I used half the amount of potatoes and baked it in an 8x8" square pan, but otherwise followed the recipe as is. I didn't have heavy cream so used half and half instead. Neither the flavor nor the mouthfeel suffered in the least-- in fact, you could probably use milk since the cream cheese helps thicken things up. Loved the breadcrumb and parmesan topping. Thanks for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. August 25, 2007

Stunning! Thank you Sharon I adored these potatoes which I ate alone as a meal by themselves! (My neighbours loved them too!) From Wiltshire, England.....Ta!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sc4r1ett August 17, 2007
Upper Crust Potatoes