Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unsweetened Baking Chocolate Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unsweetened Baking Chocolate Substitute

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2008

      Love this stuff !! i have used it a couple of times it wrks really well i have also tried sweetened cocoa powder (also known as drnking chocolate) for a semi sweet chocolate relacement and it works great too !!Thank u You are simply amazing :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Perfect. Saves $ too. Great for countries where you can't get unsweetened baking chocolate.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      Wonderful recipe. I used it in Chocolate Coconut Crispies It was perfect. Thanks Marg :) Made for All you can cook buffet

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      Saw this come up in a cooking tag game and thought it like something I need to try as I cannot begin to count the times I have come up short or been out of unsweetened chocolate when it is called for and boy am I glad I did as it has worked out fabulously both times I have used it. I made as written using butter and special dark cocoa. Thanks for the 10 start post that I will be using again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      I've used this many times; it works perfectly. I don't understand the review that calls it "too chocolatey". Surely the idea of adding chocolate is to make the result chocolatey? Anyway, this is something I go to again and again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      This worked well in a pinch... but I thought it was a little too chocolatey... I increased my whole recipe so the chocolate flavor wouldn't be overwhelming. Still, it was a better solution for me than making a special trip to the store. Next time I would use about 2/3 the amount called for. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      Thank you..I used this as a substitute to unsweetened chocolate in a brownie recipe...turned out really chocolaty.....thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      This was great. I was craving brownies and my favourite recipe uses unsweetened chocolate squares but I had none left. Luckily I remembered stumbling across this sub. a while back and it worked wonderfully! I used the melted butter option. Worked perfectly! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      I needed to make a second batch of Chocolate Snowflake Cookies (#15229) for my mother-in-law but didn't have enough unsweetened chocolate squares and didn't really want to go out and buy more. This worked perfectly and the cookies made with the substitution taste exactly the same as the ones that were made with the actual squares. I used the melted shortening option. Thanks so much for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      This really helped me out in a pinch. I used oil as the fat and it worked out perfectly. Thanks so much for this tip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Thanks Marg for posting this as I couldn't remember the ratio. I just mix the extra butter or oil in with the the rest of butter or oil and stir the cocoa into the flour. Easy peasy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Outstanding!! Thanks posting, I was in a pinch and needed it!! Worked like a dream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      This works great! I cannot tell the difference between this and regular unsweetened baking chocolate. I have been using it in just about everything (brownies, cakes, cookies, fudge sauce, puddings, etc) since I was about 12 years old. It is listed in the front of my mom's old Betty Crocker Cookbook with some other substitutions. I was going to post it, but then I found it here so I reviewed it instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      Yep, it really works. Sometimes, too, depending on your recipe (like a stew), you can get away with just using the cocoa and skipping the extra fat altogether.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unsweetened Baking Chocolate Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.7
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    89%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 104.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes