Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unstuffed Pepper Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unstuffed Pepper Soup

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2008

      Too bad I cannot give out more points. This is one of the best recipes I've tried in a long time. The peppers come out so tender. It really does taste just like stuffed peppers too. Only this will save you a step and make a lot more than a stuffed pepper recipe with similar ingredients. I had to use chicken broth in place of the beef and it tasted just fine. I left out the mushrooms and added 1/2 cup extra rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      This was delicious. Thank you for posting--I've been craving stuffed peppers for a bit but I wasn't in the mood to stuff them. Your recipe was just what I needed and SUCH a time saver. And, the hubby loved it! Thanks again.

      I added some seasonings (celery salt, paprika, oregano, basil, cayenne pepper, parsley, and pepper) and used 16 oz of frozen pepper strips. I didn't have mushrooms, I used 1 diced fine carrot instead. And, I only used 1 1/4 cup of rice because I wanted the soup to be a little thinner. This was fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      Loved this soup - super easy and my whole family thought it was delicious. (That includes two picky children - ages 6 & 4) I added a variety of seasonings and used freshed mushrooms vs. canned. Cooked the meat, peppers, onions and mushrooms (added garlic as well) and then threw everything in the crockpot. About a 1/2 hour before we were ready to eat I cooked the rice and added that to the soup. We topped with cheddar cheese. Thanks for the recipe - we will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      AMAZING!! Easy and delicious. Loved this recipe and wish I could give it more stars! It is a family favorite for us. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      This has become a staple in our house. If you don't like green peppers, like my family, it's easy to swap them for red or yellow peppers. I add in some chopped garlic while browning the beef and season with S&P and a dash or two of worcestershire and double the mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      Super easy to make. I added salt and pepper. Friend walked in the house and said "who's making stuffed peppers!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      I also added a bit of oregano, basil and garlic powder. I felt it needed more rice too so I added some more of that as well. Really good with cheese on top too!!! It just didn't totally rock my world, hence 4 stars. Thanks for a recipe that warms the belly though!!! It's been a couple days since I rated and I wanted to mention that a bay leaf would probably be really good with this also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      I LOVE stuffed peppers, and this makes it so much easier. In interest of cutting out steps, I dumped the uncooked rice in a few mintes before I removed it from the heat. Also added fresh basil and some oregano. Will become a mainstay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      This was not for us. My husband took one bite and said " This is not one of your best dishes." I hate to waste that many ingredients but I chucked it. I have never had a stuffed green pepper so I didn't know what to expect. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      Wonderful! I made this in the crockpot and ended up adding closer to 3 cups cooked rice (personal preference). DH declared this a "definite make again". Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Superb soup! Is the comment I got from my husband. Used frozen green peppers and 3 cans of tomato sauce. I didn't have mushrooms so they weren't added, personally don't think they were missed. Thanks for a great soup that will be made many times in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Very good! So much easier than making stuffed peppers. I left out the mushrooms and added some pressed garlic cloves. I'm definitely making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I made this tonight for the family and everyone, even the 6 year old DS loved it! Thank you for sharing such a delicious and easy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Delicious! I wanted mine to be less soupy so I used one can of tomato soup, 1 can of beef broth and a 15 oz can of crushed tomatoes. I also increased the beef to 1.9 lbs and the rice to 2 cups. It made a lot! I just made it for myself so I am going to have tons of leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Fantastic soup! I followed the recipe word for word and it's perfect as is. Everone in the family loves it. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Wow! What a great soup! I would give it 10 stars if I could...we just loved it...I used brown rice and added about 3 cups to the soup...and I did add a little oregano and a little brown sugar to it as I put that in my stuffed green peppers...a must try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      Yum! I added fresh garlic, salt & pepper when I cooked the beef. Then I dumped everything but the rice in the crockpot. I did add a cup of water as we like our soup a little thinner than the picture. Also added crushed red pepper flake for a little heat. I put the rice in before serving. Husband said he could eat this every day. Very good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      I really loved this soup. But what exactly is a serving? I'm trying to "point" this as I am a Weight Watcher. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      My husband and I loved this soup. It tastes exactly like stuffed peppers and so much easier to make! I added about 1/4 cup more of cooked rice, but that's all I changed. It's a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      Went with the highest rated stuffed peper soup, and I am sure glad i did! Easy to make and such a big hit. Thankks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unstuffed Pepper Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (386 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.2
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    28%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 44.2 mg
    14%
    Sodium 666.8 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites