Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unstuffed Green Pepper Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unstuffed Green Pepper Soup

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2013

      This soup was a pleasant surprise; easy to make, filling and delicious! To lighten this a bit I used turkey sausage instead of ground beef and only half the amount; I made up the difference with quartered fresh mushrooms which I sauteed with the other veggies. I was surprised by the addition of the cinnamon - the flavor was subtle but you could really notice it in the aroma of the soup. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      I thought this was excellent. and easy . The only difference I made was I made it with beef broth. thanks for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      Very good soup! I made mine with ground turkey and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      Absolutely delicious!!!!! We love suffed peppers and this soup is right on. I particularly loved the potatoes in it....nice and hearty and filling. I served this with crusty bread. Perfect for a cold Fall night. Can't wait to make this again. Thanks for sharing it, Laurie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      this worked really well but i did thincken up a bit and also put some more spices for my faamily will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      Soup lovers that we are, we found this one excellent - we loved it! We like what v - 8 juice adds to soups as well as the combination of onions, celery and of course the green peppers. Had lovely peppers when I made this, which made for that wonderful stuffed pepper taste. Made as posted the combined ingredients gave us a very flavorful supper soup. Thank you it's going into my Family Favorites. Made for the Auz/NZ March Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I wish I could of rated this two days ago, because this would make my top 2009 "Top Favorite Recipes". We loved this. Everything about it. I followed this exactly, except for two changes that would not effect the recipe in the least, 1) was saute' the ground beef in cooking spray and reduced the oil to less then a teaspoon, 2) Used 1/4 cup of uncooked brown rice instead of 1/2 and reduced the potatoes to one cubed, all this to make it more diabetic friendly. The taste would still be the same, as this would not have a bearing on the greatest, most delicious soup of 2009. Thanks, Lori!! Made for *January Soup Month* Diabetic Forum January 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      After reading the reviews I made a few changes and we love the soup. I exchanged the canned whole tomatoes for 2 cans of Rotel tomatoes - one diced tomatoes with lime juice and cilantro and one with chilies and diced tomatoes. I also left out the cinnamon as I just couldn't visualize that in this soup. I did add 1 extra diced potato. I also used beef broth rather than vegetable broth as that was what I had on hand. Very, very good. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Wonderful! It's a complete meal in itself. I used lean ground turkey breast instead of ground beef. So because of that, I used beef broth, not vegetable broth. We garnished the soup with parmesan cheese. The little bit of leftover soup I had was just as good, if not better the next day. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      This soup is outstanding! If you have ever had green pepper soup at a restaurant or homemade stuffed green peppers, this tastes just like that. I did use tomato juice in place of the V8 juice and beef broth in place of the vegetable broth. I also added about 1/2 cup more brown rice and would suggest using about 1 1/2 pounds lean ground beef if you would like more meat. I have had mine simmering for several hours now and the taste is fantastic. The potatoes are not mushy and the rice has not overtaken the soup. I also added about a tablespoon more of brown sugar. This is a great recipe that you can make your own depending on your tastes. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      This was great comfort food. I made it as written but added about 1/4 cup more rice because I like my soup more stew-like. I also used chicken broth, but I think beef broth would give it a great flavor too. It was warming and hearty enough for a main dish. This was pretty easy to throw together too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      This was so-so. I usually love recipes that use cinnamon, but frankly I felt something was lacking... Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      I thought this was a really tasty recipe, a real hit with the whole family. The only change I might make would be to use less broth, but other than that, a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      We loved this. The 3 of ate it all in 1 sitting. I used beef broth instead of vegetable broth. A very yummy soup! Good luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      We thoroughly enjoyed this soup, and the flavour really reminded me of my mother's stuffed peppers. I will make this again with a few adjustments. I agree with PanNan, the texture was odd. In future, I'll cook for 30 minutes (instead of an hour), leave out the potatoes and use less broth (will probably use beef stock).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Reviewed for RSC #9. Oops, this might be very subjective, but this soup didn't do it for us. I halved the recipe but stayed true to the ingredients and amounts given. Maybe it was the green pepper, maybe some condiment was missing. If this wasn't a contest recipe, I'd have tweaked it. The tiny bit of cinnamon was lost, and anyway, cinnamon would not complement green pepper in any way. I honestly wish I could be more enthusiastic about this soup -- but the list of contest ingredients were not easy to make magic with and the taste and texture was somewhat disappointing. It was a good, clear recipe from a cook who tried to use imagination. Good luck with any other recipes you entered!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      The flavor was nice, but the texture didn't work for me. After an hour cook time, the potato and rice were overcooked resulting in a mushy porridge texture. Because the flavor is so nice, I think the soup is worth tweaking. I would cook the soup for about 30 minutes before adding rice and potatoes, so that they will be just tender when the soup is ready.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This soup was just ok. It had good potential but it had no flavour other than from the green peppers and the V8 juice. It really needed some spices to jazz it up a bit. DH added some hot sauce and pepper which he said made it more flavourful. Side Note: I did freeze the extras in a small bowls and then transfered them to a labeled ziploc bag. My mom defrosted one for lunch the following week and she said it froze well. Good Luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Delicious!! This has simple instructions and ingredients which turned into a fabulous meal! Good luck with the contest!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unstuffed Green Pepper Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (276 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 352.4
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    41%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 364.5 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 17.8 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    juice

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites