19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This soup was a pleasant surprise; easy to make, filling and delicious! To lighten this a bit I used turkey sausage instead of ground beef and only half the amount; I made up the difference with quartered fresh mushrooms which I sauteed with the other veggies. I was surprised by the addition of the cinnamon - the flavor was subtle but you could really notice it in the aroma of the soup. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof February 16, 2013

I thought this was excellent. and easy . The only difference I made was I made it with beef broth. thanks for the great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Stiles January 09, 2013

Very good soup! I made mine with ground turkey and it was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlee #2 February 03, 2011

Absolutely delicious!!!!! We love suffed peppers and this soup is right on. I particularly loved the potatoes in it....nice and hearty and filling. I served this with crusty bread. Perfect for a cold Fall night. Can't wait to make this again. Thanks for sharing it, Laurie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot October 05, 2010

this worked really well but i did thincken up a bit and also put some more spices for my faamily will make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycara July 27, 2010

Soup lovers that we are, we found this one excellent - we loved it! We like what v - 8 juice adds to soups as well as the combination of onions, celery and of course the green peppers. Had lovely peppers when I made this, which made for that wonderful stuffed pepper taste. Made as posted the combined ingredients gave us a very flavorful supper soup. Thank you it's going into my Family Favorites. Made for the Auz/NZ March Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry March 12, 2010

I wish I could of rated this two days ago, because this would make my top 2009 "Top Favorite Recipes". We loved this. Everything about it. I followed this exactly, except for two changes that would not effect the recipe in the least, 1) was saute' the ground beef in cooking spray and reduced the oil to less then a teaspoon, 2) Used 1/4 cup of uncooked brown rice instead of 1/2 and reduced the potatoes to one cubed, all this to make it more diabetic friendly. The taste would still be the same, as this would not have a bearing on the greatest, most delicious soup of 2009. Thanks, Lori!! Made for *January Soup Month* Diabetic Forum January 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm January 03, 2010

After reading the reviews I made a few changes and we love the soup. I exchanged the canned whole tomatoes for 2 cans of Rotel tomatoes - one diced tomatoes with lime juice and cilantro and one with chilies and diced tomatoes. I also left out the cinnamon as I just couldn't visualize that in this soup. I did add 1 extra diced potato. I also used beef broth rather than vegetable broth as that was what I had on hand. Very, very good. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXOLDHAM December 31, 2009

Wonderful! It's a complete meal in itself. I used lean ground turkey breast instead of ground beef. So because of that, I used beef broth, not vegetable broth. We garnished the soup with parmesan cheese. The little bit of leftover soup I had was just as good, if not better the next day. Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* November 03, 2008

This soup is outstanding! If you have ever had green pepper soup at a restaurant or homemade stuffed green peppers, this tastes just like that. I did use tomato juice in place of the V8 juice and beef broth in place of the vegetable broth. I also added about 1/2 cup more brown rice and would suggest using about 1 1/2 pounds lean ground beef if you would like more meat. I have had mine simmering for several hours now and the taste is fantastic. The potatoes are not mushy and the rice has not overtaken the soup. I also added about a tablespoon more of brown sugar. This is a great recipe that you can make your own depending on your tastes. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 September 10, 2008
Unstuffed Green Pepper Soup