Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unstuffed Cabbage Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unstuffed Cabbage Rolls

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2002

      This was a really good recipe! My family usually is not crazy about cabbage, but this recipe changed their minds! It was very tasty and it fed all five of us, and that is a very hard task to accomplish with 2 hungry boys and a husband. Thanks for the recipe, hope to hear more of them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2002

      Thank you for a wonderful recipe. Like we've all discovered, stuffing cabbage is very time-consuming. My husband and I both enjoyed this meal very much. It's just like stuffed cabbage without the hassle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      This is great! We love stuffed cabbage also and it takes sooooo long to prepare the recipe I use that has been passed down from my grandmother. Thanks for such a time saver that gives the same great taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2003

      We love stuffed cabbage and I am thrilled to find this recipe. I made it exactly as stated and it turn out wonderful. What a time saver!!. Thank you so much, Crystalina. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2002

      I love stuffed cabbage but hate all the work involved since I work full time. I tried your recipe and my whole family loved it. I will definitely keep it to fix again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      I browned the hamburger and onion together first. I used instant rice and cooked this for 45 minutes. This recipe was okay, too much sugar. My husband thought it was really good. This made a lot, enough for 6 people!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      Absolutely delish! I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but it turned out amazing! I didn't have any tomato paste, so I added 26 oz of tomato sauce to make up for it. I also realized I didn't have any beef, so I substituted spicey sausage and wow! I think this made it! The sweet mixed with spicey is awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      This is a very easy recipe to make and it taste great. I used 1# 8oz of cabbage and steamed it instead of par-boiling. I only used 1 teaspoon of sugar and *NO* salt and thought it was perfect. I'll be making this again, thank you for posting. Made for *Zaar Cookbook Tag 2009* game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      I really liked this recipe. I did make a few changes to fit my tastes which might be helpful if you think the recipe is a little bland. I only used 1 teaspoon of sugar & I mixed in about 1 tablespoon of paprika after it was cooked. Just an FYI, this recipe needs alot of salt & pepper. I just put a few pinches & I had to salt it alot after it was cooked. I also used 1 bag of Uncle Bens boil in a bag rice & boiled it for about 5 minutes before mixing it with the meat. Everything was cooked thru.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      Actually -- sauteeing it the next day made this really good. I had read earlier reviews and thought maybe the rice didn't cook completely for some others because they hadn't let it sit after cooking as the recipe calls. But wrong. Rice was slightly al dente. Flavors were very nice. I probably would leave out the sugar next time. The tomato is sweet enough. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      I apologize, I really don't like giving low stars, but we found this recipe too sweet, and the rice was still hard. We may try this again, but next time we will omit the sugar, and cook our rice before hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      I really liked this. I've never made cabbage rolls before, but this was very quick and good. I did half the sugar though, and added a couple cloves of crushed garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      I baked as instructed but used a jar of tomato sauce because I had a lot of area to cover in a 13x9 pan. My hubby and I found it too sweet for our tastes, and the rice in the center of the pan was still hard after the 1.5 hours in the oven. I'd recommend that you use instant rice. We also found that we would have preferred more rice in the dish and less tomato paste, so that the meat mixture would cling together more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      this was a good recipe and it was super easy but it was a little tasteless next time ill add some bay leaf and other seasonings thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      Yummy, We love stuffed cabbage rolls and this really fit the bill. Lot less work and so good. I cut the recipe in half for the two of us and still had plenty left over, will be good for lunch. Made it just like the recipe said (I always use uncle Bens rice) other than adding a little garlic powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2003

      Loved it! I had to make a change as I can not eat tomato sauce. I therefore used a large can of tomatoes and pureed it. I also par cooked the rice. Otherwise it was done as the recipe showed. At the end I mixed dry crumbs and cheese mixed and put on the top for the last 15 mins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2002

      A good dish and I really enjoyed not having to roll the cabbage rolls. In the future, I intend to either use instant rice or cook another 15 minutes or so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unstuffed Cabbage Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (426 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 277.9
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    11%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 48.7 mg
    16%
    Sodium 880.3 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 24.3 g
    97%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes