17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a really good recipe! My family usually is not crazy about cabbage, but this recipe changed their minds! It was very tasty and it fed all five of us, and that is a very hard task to accomplish with 2 hungry boys and a husband. Thanks for the recipe, hope to hear more of them!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annie chambers September 09, 2002

Thank you for a wonderful recipe. Like we've all discovered, stuffing cabbage is very time-consuming. My husband and I both enjoyed this meal very much. It's just like stuffed cabbage without the hassle.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Penny72 Finn June 23, 2002

This is great! We love stuffed cabbage also and it takes sooooo long to prepare the recipe I use that has been passed down from my grandmother. Thanks for such a time saver that gives the same great taste.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= May 27, 2002

We love stuffed cabbage and I am thrilled to find this recipe. I made it exactly as stated and it turn out wonderful. What a time saver!!. Thank you so much, Crystalina. :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot April 13, 2003

I love stuffed cabbage but hate all the work involved since I work full time. I tried your recipe and my whole family loved it. I will definitely keep it to fix again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margaret Button December 29, 2002

I browned the hamburger and onion together first. I used instant rice and cooked this for 45 minutes. This recipe was okay, too much sugar. My husband thought it was really good. This made a lot, enough for 6 people!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aahlers February 18, 2013

Absolutely delish! I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but it turned out amazing! I didn't have any tomato paste, so I added 26 oz of tomato sauce to make up for it. I also realized I didn't have any beef, so I substituted spicey sausage and wow! I think this made it! The sweet mixed with spicey is awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aen935 December 28, 2010

This is a very easy recipe to make and it taste great. I used 1# 8oz of cabbage and steamed it instead of par-boiling. I only used 1 teaspoon of sugar and *NO* salt and thought it was perfect. I'll be making this again, thank you for posting. Made for *Zaar Cookbook Tag 2009* game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J October 06, 2009

I really liked this recipe. I did make a few changes to fit my tastes which might be helpful if you think the recipe is a little bland. I only used 1 teaspoon of sugar & I mixed in about 1 tablespoon of paprika after it was cooked. Just an FYI, this recipe needs alot of salt & pepper. I just put a few pinches & I had to salt it alot after it was cooked. I also used 1 bag of Uncle Bens boil in a bag rice & boiled it for about 5 minutes before mixing it with the meat. Everything was cooked thru.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bethany1191 October 28, 2007

Actually -- sauteeing it the next day made this really good. I had read earlier reviews and thought maybe the rice didn't cook completely for some others because they hadn't let it sit after cooking as the recipe calls. But wrong. Rice was slightly al dente. Flavors were very nice. I probably would leave out the sugar next time. The tomato is sweet enough. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rookie with a few Ball jars August 29, 2007
Unstuffed Cabbage Rolls