Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unstuffed Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unstuffed Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2003

      I skipped the rasins. This recipe is to die for. It has all the ingredients for a winning combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      I make this recipe all the time. I omitted the raisins and used diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes. To save time, omit making the meatballs. Add all the ingredients in pot and cook until cabbage is done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Wow what comfort food!! I LOVE cabbage rolls and this is the only way to go instead of spending hours in the kitchen messing with the old fashioned way. I used 3 - 16 oz. cans of tomato sauce because I didn't have canned tomatoes. I also sauteed the cabbage and onions in batches with cooking spray until wilted and lightly carmelized. Used garlic powder, kosher salt & black pepper in both the sauce and the meatballs. As a last thought I added 1 - 16 oz. can of undrained sauerkraut (the unsweetened kind) because that is what I add to my cabbage rolls when I make them. This is a keeper!!! Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      The taste was not bad however next time i would cut back on the amount of honey. Also, the meatballs were way too dense for my liking. Next time I would either just add as rice and ground beef or add moistened bread to the meatballs to lighten them up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2003

      I used a combination of chopped sirloin and ground round, and added a can of tomato paste to thicken the sauce a bit. The result was wonderful! Great stuffed cabbage taste without the fuss. Thanks, Chia!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      Unstuffed Cabbage "Unstuffed Cabbage"

      Hi Chia, I made your delicious recipe tonight. Hubby and I both enjoyed it.
      I did make a few changes because of what I did/did not have on hand, and personal preferences. I had to use 36 ounces of tomato sauce, because I did not have any canned chopped or fresh tomatoes. I used 1 lb 93% lean ground beef and 1/2 lb lean ground pork. I omitted the raisins and 1/4c honey, and added 1Tb sugar to the cabbage/sauce mixture instead (a la my Polish M-I-L). Although I used 1 1/2 lbs meat I kept the rice measurement the same (1/2 cup). I sauteed the onions in a bit of oil, then added the chopped cabbage to the pot. After letting that cook together a bit, I added the tomato sauce, water, 1Tb sugar, and 1/4c lemon juice to the pot as per your directions. While waiting for the pot to boil, I made the meatballs.
      I mixed the ground beef, ground pork, salt and pepper together. I added about 1/3 cup low fat milk to the meat mixture (stirred the Worcestershire sauce into the milk), and added the 1/2 cup raw long grain white rice to the meat mixture. Mixed until all was well combined, then rolled the mixture into 12 good sized meatballs which I added to the pot of cabbage. Brought all to a boil, then reduced heat and let it simmer, covered for 2 hours, (stirred it occasionally). Hubby was impressed as was I....it wasn't exactly his mom's stuffed cabbage, but it was close and so much less work. This recipe will make it into the monthly menu plan. (Stuffed cabbage isn't just for "special" anymore!) I may try a pressure cooker version of this when the weather gets warmer. Served it with sauteed potato pierogie and Zywiec (Polish) beer. A wonderful dinner, thanks for posting it!

      I divided the leftovers into 6 portions and froze them for future dinners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      This is so easy and so delicious! I used brown rice and diced tomatoes. I put in golden raisins and they add so much! I didn't bother making meatballs, just put in the meat and chopped it into bitesize pieces. This recipe is definitely a Keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      This was so good! Mouthwatering smell when cooking, reminded me of home. Comfort food for sure.Like suggested by some reviewers I used brown sugar instead of honey and soy sauce instead of Worcestershire. Furthermore I made the meatballs with ground chicken to which I added one teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon white pepper. Was a little apprehensive of using raw rice for the meatballs. Have never done that and thought the rice wouldn't get cooked (soft) but there was no need to worry. The cabbage I used was Savoy cabbage and I cut the leaves into stripes. The raisins gave an extra subtle flavour, very good indeed. What else can I say, this will be made many more times.
      I got 5 generous helpings and can also report that it freezes very well.
      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      This recipe is excellent!!! It just dont get any better get any this...It was very easy to put together and the taste was awesome!!! I added garlic powder,basil and one beaten egg to the meatballs and used brown sugar instead of honey It will be made very often in our home ...Thank you Chia for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Good comfort food. I didn't use the raisins didn't have any. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      Great recipe! Good way to use up some leftover cabbage and very much like the porcupine meatballs my mom used to make (minus the cabbage). I made a half recipe, except made all the meatballs and I will have had 4 generous servings from it. I had a half can of Rotel to use up with extra juice and used one small can tomato sauce. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      Why would anybody ever make stuffed cabbage and go through all that trouble when you can have this perfect recipe. Follow the directions to the tee, and you will see, why this cabbage is for ME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      My DH and I just finished dinner. I have never attempted stuffed cabbage and with this recipe on hand I don't think there is any need. It was quite simple and delicious. I substituted ground turkey and brown rice but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      We all enjoyed this. It is so filling and so tasty. I used about 3/4 cup brown rice, two cans tomato sauce and two 16 oz cans of chopped tomatoes and two 16 oz cans of water and I didn't have any lemon so didn't put that in. I also put some Cavenders greek seasoning in the meat balls and in the cabbage. It came out perfect, not watery at all, probably the extra brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This is a 10 star comfort meal! Only additions I added to recipe...is a little crushed red chili pepper to the chopped tomatoes. I fried onion and cabbage first with a couple tbls of tomato paste...then followed recipe. I skipped the optional raisins (actually forgot them, will try with raisins next time!!) Thank you Chia for a fabulous recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      Like last reviewer, this was terrific, TRUE! We MUST have had same Mum's cabbage too! Used red onion, personal taste! Used 4 cans diced tomatoes with juice, 4 tbsp paste! Even though was low fat, used 300 g ground beef, 100 g mushroom, 100 g mixture grated zucchini and carrot, TRUE! DEFINATELY put in raisins too! Must admit this brought back memory "smells" for me! Easy to do, and Mum's face I can see! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      This was an easy and tasty recipe to make.It tasted a lot like my Mom's traditional stuffed cabbage recipe ,one which she never wrote down,haven't had it for a long time since my mom isn't here to make it for me anymore.Great taste without the trouble my mom used to go through

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      We thought this was pretty good. I used ground turkey for the meatballs, and pretty much followed the recipe exactly, without the raisins. It cooked up really nicely and smelled wonderful when it was cooking. The flavor was good, and I liked that it is pretty low fat. It may have had a better flavor with the groud beef or pork as someone else had suggested. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      I made this recipe to go as a side with a Christmas Dinner of Giant Sea Scallops and Fresh King Crab--and it stole the show. I had to round up to go containers becasue everyone wanted to bring it home! I did not make the "meatballs". I use ground pork instead of the beef (just fried it and simmered it in with the rest) and skipped the rice, definitely omitted the raisins. I also had about 2/3 white cabbage to 1/3 red cabbage--it was what I had left from the garden. I did eat leftovers over rice to make it more of a meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      this was great.It will definitely be on my menue from now on. Didn't have any worcestershire sauce in the house so used soya.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unstuffed Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (386 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 346.3
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    31%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 296.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 22.9 g
    91%
    Protein 19.0 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes