Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unknownchef86's Very Best Dinner Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unknownchef86's Very Best Dinner Rolls

    Average Rating:

    145 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 145

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2009

      Loved them, LOVED them! I accidentally melted the butter and threw it in instead of softening. So I added an extra half cup of flour because they were SO sticky and wet I didn't think they'd turn out. They turned out AMAZING and that's saying something, because I bake a lot of bread. These are really, really good and very easy in my kitchenaid. I knew I had a winner on my hands when I was making them into plops and they were raising almost as soon as they hit the pan. One easy way to do the plops is to divide the dough in half and use a pizza cutter to divide up the dough. Also, mine didn't quite get done in the middle. UPDATE: I make this recipe a lot and, after much experimentation, I divide into 24 rolls and bake in TWO 9" pans for 15 minutes. I cover with foil for about the last 7-10 minutes so they don't overbrown. Also, I use powdered milk in these and it works GREAT! There's no taste difference, it's cheaper, and it's quicker because I can skip heating the milk. I just throw the powder in with the water and yeast. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      I made this recipe exactly as written with no deviations. If I could give this recipe 10 stars, I would. My husband and I actually ate more roll than we ate of the main dinner. the texture is simply divine; soft, airy and slightly chewy. The flavor has no trace of raw flour, which can be a problem for some roll recipes. Since it is my husband and me only, I froze the all the rolls except for 4, into muffin pans after cutting them into individual rolls. I then transferred them to a freezer safe container after they had frozen hard. Now I will have homemade rolls whenever I need them! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Excellent!! These were not very pretty when they were finished but oh my do they taste good. So soft and buttery. I will be making them more often as they are easy to mix up. One hint though, when you cover them with the plastic wrap tp rise please spray the plastic wrap with release spray or it will stick, I found out the hard way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      These are FANTASTIC! I've never made bread before and thought I'd give these a shot. I wanted to try them before I served them for Thanksgiving. Needless to say, these will definitely be on my Thanksgiving Day table! They were unbelievably easy to make and I will make them often now. I halved the recipe and it made 18 large rolls. I didn't change anything except for halving it. I did let them rise 1 hour, I punched the dough down with the KitchenAid as recommended and let them proof again for 1 hour. Be sure to spray non stick cooking spray on your plastic wrap before covering. When I was ready to divide these I again sprayed non stick cooking spray on my pizza cutter and dividing the dough was a breeze. I followed others' suggestions and buttered my hands before rolling into balls to put in buttered baking dish. I let them proof again for 40 minutes and right before baking I brushed melted butter on them. I baked these in a glass Pyrex dish at 375 degrees for about 15 minutes and they were perfect. As soon as these came out of the oven I brushed more melted butter on them to give them a shiny appearance. These are delicious, light and soft. Thank you for such an amazing recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      I have NEVER made homemade rolls before and these turned out AMAZING! I used my Kitchen Aid mixer and it couldn't have been easier. The only changes I made was I divided the dough into 24 rolls, rolled them gently in my hand to shape them into balls and placed them into 2) 9x13 baking pans. I then brushed them with butter instead of drizzling. Thank you so much for your excellent directions and sharing you fabulous recipe with us. It's a definite keeper! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      Not that this recipe really needs another 5 star review, but I just had to add how wonderful they are!! Very soft, and light with a great flavor. I did let my dough rise twice before shaping in the pan. The only thing I would do differently next time, is egg wash the rolls before baking and skip the melted butter. They had a hard time browning up nicely, and the egg wash definetly would save some calories over the butter!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      These are heaven on the lips. I also can't believe how easy they were to make. I love my new mixer with the dough hook! I made1/2 the receipe as there are only 2 of us and it was the perfect amount of buns for a standard pyrex baking dish. I decided to use a pyrex dish and reduced the heat to 375 and cooked for about 17 min. Turned out amazing. This was exactly what I was looking for. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      I have baked a lot of bread but never used my bread hook so I was hesitant to make these. . . but the great reviews encouraged me. I made them just as the recipe instructed - let them rise twice before shaping. It made two 9 x 13 pans of rolls. I baked them in my convection oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Very easy bread recipe -not the prettiest rolls I have ever made. . . but very good - esp. for the minimal effort that it takes to make them. I am going to freeze most of them for the holidays and will definitely make this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      11/27/09 - The very best dinner rolls indeed! I made a half batch to take to thanksgiving dinner at a friend's place yesterday. I made 11 large rolls and they were extremely soft, light and tender. Very easy to make too. My dough was sticky but after 2 risings, it was very soft but no longer sticky. So I was able to shape the rolls into rounds easily. I also brushed melted butter on top instead of drizzling. Awesome recipe, Unknownchef86! Update 12/10/09: The other day I tried making these with whole wheat flour. They turned out extremely well. I made half a batch and needed only about 3 cups of white whole wheat flour, 3 heaping tbsp of vital wheat gluten. I also used a third less sugar and far less butter for brushing on top. I shaped them into 16 rolls and froze 12 of them. I thawed and re-heated a few today and they were as good as on the first day - soft, tender and flavorful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      If I could give this recipe 10 stars, I WOULD!!! The BEST BEST BEST rolls I have ever had!!!! This Thanksgiving was the first time I have ever decided to try and make a dinner roll and these were so EASY!!! I just can't say enough good things about them! My husband has already requested I make another batch, and he rarely consumes breads! My suggestions: 1) Attempt to get the milk to about 110 degrees before adding yeast. 2) Let rise 2 times, not just one 3) Watch them like a hawk in the oven and as soon as they start to get brown, take them out! 4) Don't worry so much about the shape/appearance of the plops before they go in the oven...they come out looking fine. 4) Make more then you think you will need cause they are still FAB the next day :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2014

      YAY Unknownchef86!!! These are fantastic, and so easy to make with a stand mixer & dough hook. I halved the recipe, let them rise twice, and they came out perfectly. I will be making these many, many times. Thanks very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2014

      Wow! I melted the butter and added 1/2 c more flour like one of previous people tried chef Suzie Q..I had enough dough to make cinnamon rolls a small coffee cake and 18 dinner rolls. Excellent recipe! Grandkids devoured cinnamon rolls, all dinner rolls, and very small piece left of coffee cake left<br/>Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2014

      Perfection! Just what I was looking for! We call them sweet rolls around here! Love them! I added about 2 tablespoons more sugar =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2014

      Made this about 10 times now. The family/kids/co-workers love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2014

      My family and I loved these! They were very impressed:)<br/>You can definitely make them without the bread hook. I used my hands to mix and it worked perfectly.<br/>Next time I will add just a touch more salt (you could easily add a touch more sugar if you prefer a sweeter roll).<br/>Would be so good with cinnamon butter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      The best roll ever. I am definitely sticking to this recipe as my go to bread recipe. Thanks, unknown chef! I know you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      Very nice dough as a result of this recipe. My rolls were indeed light and fluffy! I had to convert the ingredients to metric system and used about 900 grams flour, two packets of yeast, 115 grams of butter and 2,5 cups of milk (approx. 380 ml). They did not rise very well, and the dough was not really sticky, but very good end result. Going to make these to serve with soup on the next birthday at my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      For my husband and I this "dinner roll" recipe was more like a biscuits. Still vary good but the texture was more biscuit like, and did not smooth out well. I did let it rise twice and that really helped with the stickiness of the dough. I did two different batches trying different techniques and both I had a hard time getting the tops to golden brown. One I tired an egg wash and that one would not brown at all, the other with the melted butter. I baked on @ 400 and the other @ 375.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      OMG, I loved these rolls. I have always been afraid to try homemade rolls but no more. These were simple to make and they are soooo good. thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      These ones and Tasty Buns are the two recipes I use. These ones are a little lighter -- good for a dinner roll. Tasty Buns are a little denser, good for a stew.<br/>Thanks<br/>UPDATE: I have strayed, but I came back. I have to admit, I've tried the top 6 or 7 other buns, but they just aren't comparing. These remain my 2 faves!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unknownchef86's Very Best Dinner Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (1884 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 149.3
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    30%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 22.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 175.9 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes