8 Reviews

This recipe is really wonderful. I used it to make caramel and chocolate covered pretzels and chocolate covered caramels. I started out making the caramel the traditional way on the stove, but discovered my candy thermometer was broken. This recipe allowed me to keep cooking and gave me a wonderful tasting caramel. I made this once using 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and once using all brown sugar and found that the all brown sugar version had a slightly richer taste. I also doubled the vanilla to 1 tsp. This recipe is so simple and quick that anyone can make their own caramels. I also second the suggestion of using a good quality aluminum foil. I used Reynolds Release with very good success. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krich December 16, 2008

If I could give this a 10 start rating I would. I have made three batches of these caramels, trying to put them away for Christmas but everyone keeps wanting more. I used to use another recipe but needless to say this one is a keeper. These caramels are so delicious, and yes additictive. Using parchment paper works wonders - to problems getting them out and the caramels do not stick. My next batch will be dipped in chocolate. Thanks so much for posting this recipe, it's a keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foleyfamily December 07, 2012

I doubled the recipe and had a little trouble with it being cooked long enough. You may need to use the cold water/softball technique to be certain.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lorrainejohnson November 05, 2011

Oh dear, this went badly wrong for me! I wonder if it was the type of brown sugar I used. The granules were quite large and hard, and failed to dissolve. This made the caramels very granular and they didn't set properly. Not wanting to waste the ingredients I salvaged the recipe by gently melting the half set caramel in a saucepan with a little milk until the sugar granules dissolved and then re-boiled on the stove-top until a little would form a ball when dropped in cold water (I don't own a candy thermometer). That did the trick and the flavour was really delicious, so am awarding three stars and will experiment another time with a softer kind of brown sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ambrosia 2009 March 30, 2010

After making two other caramel recipes which didn't turn out.... I made these. Unbelievable....So quick and easy. Delicious...and so quick to make.I used parchment paper instead of foil and it was perfect. No sticking. I butter a pan and then put the parchment in the pan. The butter helps the parchment paper stick to the pan. These are terrific and what a great gift...Thanks so much for posting. ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Shef December 11, 2009

Mmm, mmm, awesome!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri N Terry May 12, 2009

I am definately thanking you for posting this recipe Unknown chef! What a keeper, So easy and fast and taste just so morish! I coated some in choc and they are a real treat! thanks! Di :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dizzydi November 02, 2008

These get three stars for the quick, easy prep and the wonderful texture of the caramels. The only reason they are not a whopping five stars is because they don't taste alot like caramels to me, but only of brown sugar. I loved that they were so quick, easy and the texture was so nice. I wish they tasted less of the brown sugar and more of the caramels, they would have been perfect then. Maybe half white and half brown sugar might be better?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's August 28, 2006
Unknownchef86's Microwave Soft Vanilla Caramels