Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unknownchef86's Microwave Soft Vanilla Caramels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unknownchef86's Microwave Soft Vanilla Caramels

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2008

      This recipe is really wonderful. I used it to make caramel and chocolate covered pretzels and chocolate covered caramels. I started out making the caramel the traditional way on the stove, but discovered my candy thermometer was broken. This recipe allowed me to keep cooking and gave me a wonderful tasting caramel. I made this once using 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and once using all brown sugar and found that the all brown sugar version had a slightly richer taste. I also doubled the vanilla to 1 tsp. This recipe is so simple and quick that anyone can make their own caramels. I also second the suggestion of using a good quality aluminum foil. I used Reynolds Release with very good success. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      If I could give this a 10 start rating I would. I have made three batches of these caramels, trying to put them away for Christmas but everyone keeps wanting more. I used to use another recipe but needless to say this one is a keeper. These caramels are so delicious, and yes additictive. Using parchment paper works wonders - to problems getting them out and the caramels do not stick. My next batch will be dipped in chocolate. Thanks so much for posting this recipe, it's a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      I doubled the recipe and had a little trouble with it being cooked long enough. You may need to use the cold water/softball technique to be certain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Oh dear, this went badly wrong for me! I wonder if it was the type of brown sugar I used. The granules were quite large and hard, and failed to dissolve. This made the caramels very granular and they didn't set properly. Not wanting to waste the ingredients I salvaged the recipe by gently melting the half set caramel in a saucepan with a little milk until the sugar granules dissolved and then re-boiled on the stove-top until a little would form a ball when dropped in cold water (I don't own a candy thermometer). That did the trick and the flavour was really delicious, so am awarding three stars and will experiment another time with a softer kind of brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      After making two other caramel recipes which didn't turn out.... I made these. Unbelievable....So quick and easy. Delicious...and so quick to make.I used parchment paper instead of foil and it was perfect. No sticking. I butter a pan and then put the parchment in the pan. The butter helps the parchment paper stick to the pan. These are terrific and what a great gift...Thanks so much for posting. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Mmm, mmm, awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      I am definately thanking you for posting this recipe Unknown chef! What a keeper, So easy and fast and taste just so morish! I coated some in choc and they are a real treat! thanks! Di :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      These get three stars for the quick, easy prep and the wonderful texture of the caramels. The only reason they are not a whopping five stars is because they don't taste alot like caramels to me, but only of brown sugar. I loved that they were so quick, easy and the texture was so nice. I wish they tasted less of the brown sugar and more of the caramels, they would have been perfect then. Maybe half white and half brown sugar might be better?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unknownchef86's Microwave Soft Vanilla Caramels

    Serving Size: 1 (9 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 64

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 36.5
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    24%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 2.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 11.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes