Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unfried Refried Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unfried Refried Beans

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2010

      Great recipe!! i used some of the other reviews as a guide. I added some more cumin/garlic/chili powder...but overall great!! will never used canned again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      Made as directed my family felt these had very little flavor. Since this makes a rather large quantity, and I didn't want to throw the leftovers away, I wound up doctoring them a bit with 1/2 chopped medium onion, 1 tbsp. chili powder, 1 tsp. each of cumin, garlic powder and oregano, 1/2 tsp. salt and I added a bit of vegetable broth during the reheat. With those changes we were quite happy with them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      I can't believe I forgot to review this! These were lovely, and smelled so good as they simmered away in the crockpot! It was so hard to keep the lid on and not lift it up for a better sniff! I skipped the jalepeno to make this more kid friendly. I didn't add enough of the cooking liquid afterwards, so they were very thick--especially leftovers--but that is my own fault. These kept very well in the fridge for the better part of a week. I've never had any luck making refried beans that I liked better than Rosarita's (canned), until now! Thanks so much for sharing, cookiedog!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      I doubled the garlic, which is normal for our house. I only used 1 jalapeno from the garden and it was plenty hot. Next time I will dice the onion and leave the jalapeno in bigger pieces so that our family members with frequent heartburn can pick them out of need be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2013

      I am NOT a big bean fan but wanted to use healthier re-fried beans in another recipes. I used half black beans and half northern beans. My only complaint was there was too much pepper for me. I also threw away the cooking water and added new water when I mashed them (somewhere I read that you should never use the first water when making beans because it causes nasty gases).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      Delicious and easy! I made a double batch so i could have some to freeze. Next time I will cut back on the black pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      I made these yesterday and they were great! The beans I bought came with a packet of ham flavoring so I used that instead of stock. I also didn't use as much black pepper. Next time I'll probably chop up the onion because I had a hard time getting that to blend in. Over all the whole family really liked them. My 4 year old brought his stool and a spoon over to the crock pot and scraped out as much as he could. :) Thanks so much for posting, I'm sure I'll make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      This was okay but not as good as the reviews led me to think. A little bland. Next time I think I'll try making the non-vegetarian version and perhaps cutting back on the pepper. Maybe using chicken broth will give it more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      FABULOUS!!!!! Best beans I have ever made or eaten for that matter. Better than anything you can buy in a store for sure, and even better than restaurant beans. Thank you so much for this delicious and healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      This has a little too much black pepper for me and my husband, but other than that I love the process. I am going to make another batch soon, leave out the pepper and mix everything together. I used 1 tsp chili powder , 1 tsp cumin, 2 tsp mexican oregano, 1 Tablespoon onion powder, I didn't have any onions on hand, or fresh jalapeno so I used, 2 tsp freeze dried jalapeno. I also added in two tablespoons of bacon fat. So yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Great recipe and incredibly simple to make. Planned on doubling the recipe for my large 5 quart crockpot. Used 2 pounds (5 cups) pintos, doubled all other ingredients, except for water cause only 14 cups would fit. Still worked well and cooked in the amount of time stated. Drained the liquid and used a hand blender to mash the beans. Got about 7 pint containers for the freezer, which have defrosted and reheated quite well. Great flavor and a wonderful fat-free alternative to traditional refrieds. Cheap, too. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Update: I make these beans often and keep them in the freezer. Last time I used black beans and since I didn't have fresh jalapenos on hand, added 1/2 t powdered jalapeno from Penzey's. Always delicious and a staple in my freezer. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      Wonderful! So easy and came out way better than the canned stuff. Great in burritos and bean dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      We love this recipe! The beans are so versatile and easy. We have made breakfast burritos ahead with this, beam burritos for a quick lunch/dinner, as part of nachoes, etc...The possibilities are endless! We have also frozen 1/2 the batch to use later. I used 2 cans of Rotel instead of the jalapenos and garlic. I add one less tsp of salt because the amount seemed a bit much. We followed all the rest of the seasoning/ingredient suggestions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Wonderful refried beans! What I don't understand is Recipezaar's nutrition facts. My bag of pinto beans says 1/4 cup has 22 grams of total carbohydrates and 14 grams of dietary fiber. Quite a big difference from what is listed opposite the recipe. I eat beans for fiber (and they taste good, especially this zippy bean recipe). Something's not right! Anyway, an easy, tasty and HEALTHY way to eat your beans. I put mine in the food processor after cooking, and added a bit of the leftover water--a very nice consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      This is is the bean recipe I have been searching for-- for years! They are perfect for making homemade burritos. I added pepper jack cheese and a spoonful of butter-flavored shortening at the end. I am thrilled to find a recipe so simple and yet so good--thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      This recipe is so great! I am trying to stay away from canned food due to BPA in the lining of cans so I am happy to have this healthier version for that reason too. I took the suggestion to use 1 C Red Beans and 2 C Pinto.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Great recipe to start from. I like it with 1c kidney beans and 2c pinto -- seems to give it more of a refried taste. I've tried adding a little cornmeal and some wild rice I had laying around, and it gave it a nice bonus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      I hate to be the one giving this one less stars, but I didn't find this one too amazing. It just tasted like beans. Not really much unique. We still liked it, though

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      I liked that this recipe was vegitarian (no ham) and that there was not too many ingredients. I do not have a slow cooker so I soaked the beans overnight and cooked it on the stovetop on medium high for 2-3 hours. I then smashed them a bit with a potatoe smasher. Someone told me if you dont soak your beans overnight you give your dinner party gas... Not sure if its true but it scared me enough to always soak my beans now lol. I am not a big salt fan and this was too salty for my taste. I will cut the salt down to 1 and 1/2 tsp next time. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      This recipe is great! I used dried chopped onion and dried chopped jalapeno pepper. I also used ham broth made from ham soup base seasoning for half of the water. Thanks so much. We've really enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Beans Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unfried Refried Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (194 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 31.4
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    11%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 456.0 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites