10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've never really had beets and this was easy and tasty. Salty and sweet. You really need to keep the beets evenly sliced and watch them because they will burn. Thanks for posting and I will be making this again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Everything Sweet September 04, 2012

Very good but I would leave the beets a little thicker next time and watch more carefully as they burn quickly.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc September 13, 2012

great idea! recipe didn't work well using baking paper. Will try it once again but without the paper and with bottom heat instead of convection. definitely need to watch closely as they brown quite fast.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gail elise January 02, 2010

I made these before I actually found this recipe... I just skipped the cooking spray. I made the beet slices using a vegetable peeler, because I don't have a mandoline. The slices were VERY thin, and my first batch burned to a crisp... WATCH THEM CAREFULLY!! The second batch turned out wonderfully, though -- the perfect balance of salty and sweet!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brokenburner April 13, 2009

Made these along with Unfried Crispy Baked Beet Chips (Low Fat)! Did it as directed, with baking time at almost an hour, & the chips came out GREAT ~ crisp & tasty! And, with a slicer the prep was easy, easy, easy! Well worth keeping the recipe around! [Made & rerviewed for one of my adopted chefs in this Spring's PAC]

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 02, 2008

We sell beetroot chips/crisps at work and I'm addicted, but at $3.95 a 40g packet containing 15g fat, it's an expensive addiction in more ways than one! These are wonderful and so nice to know they are healthy. I made them in a fan-forced oven at 170c and started removing crisp ones at the 30 minute mark. You get to know which ones are done by the colour-they go from dark to pale and if you sit them on a board, they crisp up. I stayed close by and checked every 5 minutes, removing a few each time. The beauty of this recipe is you can do it with as many beets as you have-I used 1 1/2 and reckon that it's about 1 1/2 of those expensive packets I could buy at work!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS February 10, 2011

Love a new and different recipe! I was as excited as the time my g'babe caught a whale...all 6 inches of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 06, 2014

I can't give 5 stars since the first batch burned when sliced thin as indicated and cooked for the aproximate time and temperature given. I sliced the second batch a bit thicker by hand and reduced the time and when I yelled them from the oven they were somewhat soft but crisped up sitting on a plate a minute. I used local organic beets from our weekly CSA basket, organic avocado oil to be healthier and grey sea salt. Both DD's (2 & 6) and I enjoyed them as a snack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat November 02, 2013

This recipe was not a hit at our house. The beets all stuck together in a glom in the oven, and ended up burning on the edges while not being done on the other edge. We watched them very carefully, tried to pick out the ones that looked done, but since they're basically nearly black anyway, it was hard to tell. They were still not very crispy when I took them out of the oven, but they still tasted burnt. Very disappointing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quiltineb May 08, 2013

In general I'm happy with the way these chips turned out. I did not use cooking spray or salt, but used parchment paper. In order to see the nice pretty rings on the beets, the slices need to be rather thin, but at 375 those thin slices tend to burn or get a lot of brown discoloration. Next time I will make these at a much lower temperature and bake them longer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( March 18, 2011
Unfried Crispy Baked Beet Chips (Low Fat)