19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love this recipe, as a new owner of a rice cooker I am very impressed! I added some green prawns to the rice at the last 12 minute mark then dumped the other ingredients in when it changed to the warm cycle and I needed to fluff up the rice. Totally delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan.connelly January 02, 2009

If only we had know of unfried rice before. This was amazing and I will make it often now that I know how. Because I was using egg whites only I decided to cook them along with the bacon and spring onions. I used Weight Watcher’s bacon (very lean short cuts) to lower the fat content even more. I lightly cooked the bacon along with the spring onions in a medium pan, added the peas then pushed them to one side in the pan to cook the egg whites. When the whites were cooked I added the spices and soy to the bacon mixture and mixed them together along with the cooked whites, which didn’t need chopping because they were soft – they just stirred into the mixture in pieces. Then I continued with the recipe as written. It was so quick and easy and my husband loved it. Thank you homegirl for sharing your recipe. We think it is worth more than five stars. Glen

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ninna March 10, 2006

I actually steamed everything together in the rice cooker except for the scrambled eggs, which I added at the end, and it turned out great! Very neat idea for rice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soliloquy December 17, 2011

I loved this! I got a new rice cooker, and went in search of recipes, for it. I had leftover pork ribs, so I used those, for the meat. I added a little grated carrot and sesame oil, for flavor and crunch. Oh, and I scrambled the eggs, in the microwave, too.Thanks...will definitely make, again, when leftovers "happen!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Belinda in Austin, TX October 02, 2011

We skipped the meat portion and saved the soy sauce for later...It made a great make-ahead meal for work! Just heat it up, add the soy sauce, and delicious! Fantastic idea to make it in the rice cooker, it's definitely healthier that way! ~Wife of Celtichellion :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
celtichellion September 28, 2011

Terrific recipe!!! Easy, fast and yummy. Will definitely be making again ... added some fresh grated ginger and carrot as some others suggested. Definitely a keeper! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Look January 12, 2010

I have made this twice and it's been a hit! Great way to get all the flavours of fried rice without all the hassle and oil. I added grated ginger as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
good_lily September 01, 2009

This recipe WORKS! I even used cooked brown rice and it still worked amazing! That tiny bit of ginger is spectacular. Thank you :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rusticgirl July 23, 2009

I had my doubts, but this came out great! I like it much better than fried rice, and it took very little time and was VERY easy. I used cooked yellow onion instead of spring onions and left out the meat. My boyfriend, whose family makes traditional fried rice at home, also LOVED it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jcluver123 January 23, 2009

Very easy and extremely yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stefandmrb August 26, 2008
Unfried Chinese Rice