Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unfried Chinese Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unfried Chinese Rice

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2009

      Love this recipe, as a new owner of a rice cooker I am very impressed! I added some green prawns to the rice at the last 12 minute mark then dumped the other ingredients in when it changed to the warm cycle and I needed to fluff up the rice. Totally delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2006

      If only we had know of unfried rice before. This was amazing and I will make it often now that I know how. Because I was using egg whites only I decided to cook them along with the bacon and spring onions. I used Weight Watcher’s bacon (very lean short cuts) to lower the fat content even more. I lightly cooked the bacon along with the spring onions in a medium pan, added the peas then pushed them to one side in the pan to cook the egg whites. When the whites were cooked I added the spices and soy to the bacon mixture and mixed them together along with the cooked whites, which didn’t need chopping because they were soft – they just stirred into the mixture in pieces. Then I continued with the recipe as written. It was so quick and easy and my husband loved it. Thank you homegirl for sharing your recipe. We think it is worth more than five stars. Glen

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      I actually steamed everything together in the rice cooker except for the scrambled eggs, which I added at the end, and it turned out great! Very neat idea for rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      I loved this! I got a new rice cooker, and went in search of recipes, for it. I had leftover pork ribs, so I used those, for the meat. I added a little grated carrot and sesame oil, for flavor and crunch. Oh, and I scrambled the eggs, in the microwave, too.Thanks...will definitely make, again, when leftovers "happen!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      We skipped the meat portion and saved the soy sauce for later...It made a great make-ahead meal for work! Just heat it up, add the soy sauce, and delicious! Fantastic idea to make it in the rice cooker, it's definitely healthier that way! ~Wife of Celtichellion :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Terrific recipe!!! Easy, fast and yummy. Will definitely be making again ... added some fresh grated ginger and carrot as some others suggested. Definitely a keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      I have made this twice and it's been a hit! Great way to get all the flavours of fried rice without all the hassle and oil. I added grated ginger as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      This recipe WORKS! I even used cooked brown rice and it still worked amazing! That tiny bit of ginger is spectacular. Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      I had my doubts, but this came out great! I like it much better than fried rice, and it took very little time and was VERY easy. I used cooked yellow onion instead of spring onions and left out the meat. My boyfriend, whose family makes traditional fried rice at home, also LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Very easy and extremely yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      Pretty good, especially for a healthy recipe. I didn't have any meat available, but you could probably use left over chicken. I added frozen carrots and it tasted all right. I'm not a fan of soy sauce in general, so you could try teriyaki sauce or oyster sauce to give it a different flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      A great way to use jasmine rice and much healthier than fried. I used corn instead of peas. My kids especially liked it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      This is hearty enough to be a meal on its own, but I served it as a side with Hoisin Salmon and Sesame Roasted Green Beans. My husband is a fried rice fan, and he really enjoyed the blend of flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2006

      Got yourself a winner here! If could...nominate this as recipe of the year! Healthy, nutritious, easy as can be, Hope you will try it...as a suggestion from ME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      A great low-fat alternative to fried rice, which I’ll make again. Tasted very much like the real thing, but much lower in fat! I thawed the peas and I added some broccoli florets in step two and a handful of fresh beanshoots after step three. Served with Miller’s Soused Mushrooms Soused Mushrooms. Very tasty low-fat meal. Next time, I'm going to use snow peas instead of the frozen peas. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      Very good. The flavour was divine. I just found that mine turned out a bit "sticky". Other than that, I enjoyed the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      We love fried rice and we loved this new way of preparing it without oil. I made as written, using a frozen pea and carrot blend and some leftover char sui for the meat. I let the frozen veggies sit out for about a half hour before dumping the hot rice on top. I also used half the amount of uncooked rice but left the amounts of the other ingredients the same. This is a great quick and easy side dish and I'll be making it again. Thanks for posting this recipe homegirl :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      This is a real find for anyone on a diet. I made it with bacon plus a little bit of leftover cooked chicken. It was great! Bye bye, fried rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      I agree. This tastes good without the frying. Very nice flavor. I used leftover pork loin. I also added a little chopped carrot for extra color. I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unfried Chinese Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 272.0
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    47%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 51.0 mg
    17%
    Sodium 685.3 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes