Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Rick's Caribbean Chicken Curry (Revised) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Rick's Caribbean Chicken Curry (Revised)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2012

      This is PERFECT!! I have been craving for Caribbean chicken curry and I finally decided to try to make it. It was my first time and it turned out PERFECT! It was easy, simple and very tasty. I didn't have cinnamon stick but i don't think it would have made a difference to me. It was a bit too "soupy" so I added one tomato and a tTbs of constarch to thicken it up. This is definitely a keeper!!!! Thank you for sharing!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      OMG! Absolutely amazing! I travel to the Caribbean all the time time and to recreate a dish like this was just gorgeous! I did use sweet potato instead and as I like thicker curry sauces I did mash some sweet potato to thicken the sauce and I also added a little cornflour/water mix to help it. I didn't mess with the recipe! So so flavoursome! I'll make this regularly. Absolutely fantastic!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      This is a wonderful recipe however, as a Caribbean curry lover, I have made a couple of minor modifications. 1. Add a couple of finely chopped roma tomatoes to #7 for a richer sauce. 2. Watch the amount of curry powder called for as some mixes are hot. The recipe calls for Indian curry powder. West Indian curry powder - especially Jamaican - is a better choice as they are formulated very differently from the Indian powders and are more appropriate for this Caribbean recipe. Jamaican curry powder is available in any Jamaican/West Indian store. You may have to add more chili powder for a little more heat. I use Kashmiri Chili powder - called Kashmiri Mirch. It is available in the Indian grocery stores and adds just the right amount of heat and a nice color. Try serving with Jamaican Rice and Peas for a traditional side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Great meal, would cook again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      I am sat at my laptop having just devoured another plate of curry. Its marvellous, this must be the sixth time ive cooked it, and its become a weekly favourite. Fabulous!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      I made this dish this past weekend and my family LOVED it. I think a added a touch too much black pepper for spice, but other than that it was great and I know it'll be a favorite of ours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

    • on February 08, 2006

      Loved this. Very spicy and delicious. I didn't add all of the curry powder or it would have blown my head off (perhaps curry powder is spicier here in the UK) and I substituted some of the potatoes for sweet potatoes. Will definitely make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      I am a georgia peach who is cooking for my Boston based Trini and this curry chicken recipe hit the spot. Great dish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2004

      Haven't had dinner yet, put the pot is doing final simmer. Early tastes tell me its a winner. I swapped the potatoes for plantains to add to the Caribbean character of the dish. While that left my sauce a bit thinner, a pinch of arrowroot seems to have done the trick. Lime wedges seem like a great complement to this dish. Looking forward to the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Rick's Caribbean Chicken Curry (Revised)

    Serving Size: 1 (376 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 429.7
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    32%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 130.7 mg
    43%
    Sodium 952.3 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 37.5 g
    75%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger puree

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites