Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Whipped Shortbread Cookies

    Average Rating:

    303 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 303

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2012

      I can't tell you how much we love these cookies! We make them as a thumbprint with whatever fruit spread we currently have in the fridge. They are incredibly good and never last long in our house even though I make double batches! Everyone who tastes them loves them. They are light, buttery, and not too sweet. They're great plain, or as thumbprints with jam, jelly, or Nutella. If using Nutella I do not recommend putting it on until after they've been baked. I learned that the hard way. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      This recipe is BRILLIANT! So easy to make and SO delicious. I was searching for a quick and easy shortbread recipe, after these I shall search no further. My family fell in love with these and I will most definitely add them to my Christmas lineup. Instead of cherries, I tried a couple different variations: almonds, chocolate chips, and jam- for a deluxe assortment. I added red sprinkles for a touch of holiday flare. I just cannot say enough good things. Superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      So good and so easy. I gave them this year to my neighbors for Christmas. I did add a teaspoon of almond extract (in addition to the vanilla). Great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      Very delicate crumb on these even though I used extra 1/2 cup of flour to make the dough easier to handle (rolled dough between palms to make perfect balls for 'thumbprint' cookies).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Very easy recipe with delicious results. Made the perfect shortbread, in my opinion ... And got a thumbs up from my picky hubby too. This recipe will be my "go to" for shortbread. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      These were great. Easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      These cookies were so easy to make. I zapped my butter for a few seconds on thaw in the microwave to soften. My cheap beaters worked very hard mixing this and at first the dough looked so crumbly I thought I have done something wrong. Then suddenly it all came together. Worried a bit about not shaping them but the oven melts the dough into a pleasing shape. Made recipe exactly as written. My second batch browned a little too much at 17 minutes so do watch them!
      These were just delicious and didn't seem overly delicate to me. So quick to make! Just nice little cookies that melted in your mouth!. So festive with the cherries! A real keeper recipe. Thanks Uncle Bill!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      Wonderful! I loved making these and decorating them! I divided the dough and swirled food coloring into each section and topped with sprinkles. These are simple and delicate. They make the perfect cookie for a cookie exchange, or as others have suggested, a great addition to a Christmas goodie plate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      First time ever making shortbreads and they are perfect. DH said they were the best he's ever had. Everyone has different textures of shortbread that they prefer...if you like the kind that literally melt in your mouth then this is the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      These have become a Christmas staple in my home. For the purists we do alternating red and green candied cherries, for me and the kids we do alternating Hershey Kisses, (unwrapped, of course).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

      Love this recipe! There are so many ways to make these...I dipped in chocolate and then coconut; dipped in choc and then chopped pecans; candied cherries; peanut butter cups (mini); dusted with powdered sugar; the list could go on and on. Sure made 'short' work of my Christmas cookie projects! Super fast and yummy! Thank you sooo much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      I never realized how much I liked shortbread cookies until I made these for my husband and the superbowl party! I ended up eating more of these than anyone else (though my husband had his share of the dough...). The cherry is a great touch (tried both apricot jam and cherry halves) and adds just the right amount of sweet to the cookie. Make sure to mix the dough until it becomes VERY smooth (takes longer to mix than any cookies I've ever made) also the refrigeration definitely helped make them easy to separate into individual cookies (left them overnight in fridge). Fantastic recipe thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      Great tasting little cookies. Very light and airy. Can't beat a good shortbread cookie. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      I'm putting 2 stars because these really do taste good -- melt-in-the-mouth good. They are buttery and not sweet (so do put on some toppings!). Unlike what another reviewer, these did not turn out like "gluey" cookies at all.

      However, they crumble too easily. ): My cookie dough was very very soft, like cream and I didn't think it was a problem till I saw the baked results.
      I topped half of the cookies (both non-refridgerated and refridgerated dough) with large choc chips and these turned out looking alright but almost all my "thumb-print" jam cookies were HORRIBLE. Jam spilled out onto the baking tray because the cookie dough was too soft and I guess the so-called 'well' (holding the jam) didn't hold while the cookies were baking.

      I followed the suggestion in Step 13 and refridgerated half the dough for half an hour. The first half of the cookies (non-refridgerated) took 13-14 min to bake and were sooooo fragile upon touch. (sigh)
      The refridgerated dough resulted in it being slightly 'stiffer' but still very soft (I had to remix the dough to get the same texture throughout) and the cookies were slightly crispier on the outside.

      I followed the recipe exactly except for the cherry toppings. Help Uncle Bill ):
      Oh, in case you're wondering, I've been baking for 5 years and I've never baked cookies that end up like these before. ):

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      It's possible that I just didn't whip these enough, because they came out dense and heavy-tasting. They were like deflated sugar cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      These were easy to make. However that is the only positive thing I really have to say. I'm sorry but these are horrible. They taste like paste. They might as well be glue cookies. Before you say anything, Yes I am a avid baker. I really wanted to like these. Not matter what I tried I just couldnt bring myself to eat these or give them away. I added jam. I added pecans. I added Cherries. Nothing worked . For all those calories, they need to have taste. If I am going to have a moment on the lips and forever on the hips, it has to be better than these. Keep looking folks. I guess I am just not a fan of shortbread cookies Bleech

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Good! Super easy. I made the first batch exactly to the recipe, and it spread and the cookies fell apart. I'm at a high altitude, so I think that's the problem. The next batch, I threw in an extra 1/2 cup of flour, an extra tablespoon of powdered sugar, and 1/4 tsp. of almond extract. I baked them for exactly 15 minutes and they came out perfect! Used for a cookie exchange.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      Super easy and delicious!
      I didn't notice anyone using a cookie press, so I was a little worried about trying it. The cookies wouldn't stick to my parchment paper using the press, so I had to put them directly on my dark cookie sheet *GASP*! I kept a close eye on them, and each batch was ready in 6.5 to 7 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      I wanted to like these but they just didn't "do it" for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Whipped Shortbread Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (549 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 110.8
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    62%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 67.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites