Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Vegetarian Minestrone Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Vegetarian Minestrone Soup

    Average Rating:

    96 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 96

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2011

      Yum yum! A very warming and tasty minestrone with lots of zucchini (a plus!) It is also very tomato-ey, so if you love tomatoes you will enjoy this very much. My only suggestion is to cook the celery a little longer (with the onions maybe?) so they become more tender. I had to cook my soup awhile more until they softened. Also added some fresh spinach and basil from the garden. Thanks, Uncle Bill. [Made for All You Can Cook Tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      Uncle Bill, this is fantastic. I followed your recipe exactly but I used vegetable stock instead of water because I had some I needed to use up. My husband takes soup for lunch in the winter and he raved about this when he came home. Thanks for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      Thank you Uncle Bill for this recipe. So simple and delicious! I was looking for a vegetarian version for minestrone soup. I used chicken stock instead of vegetable, because well I'm not a vegetarian and wanted the flavor of chicken stock. My husband and two small children ate this up with crusty french bread for dipping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      I make this soup a lot- and it is great! I do use about half chicken broth and half water- and I love all the zucchini- I throw in any leftover vegetables I have- I also up the amount of oregano, garlic and basil a bit and use a whole can of beans- I think the rave reviews are because it is really so simple but tasty! When I serve it I grate some fresh parm and we have it with a hearty bread- Fantastic on a cold January day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2013

      I don't understand the excitement and rave reviews about this recipe. It's just a plain vegetable soup with too much zucchini and celery, and rather bland even with the addition of broth instead of water and extra spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      Delicious and very simple to prepare. Following the recipe to a "T", however adding in 3 teaspoons "Better Than Vegetable Bouillon" Vegetable Base and also 2 links of Tofurky Kielbasa, cut into small pieces. I would not change a thing! We really enjoyed this soup and will look forward to having it again. Thanks so much for sharing all your wonderful recipes with us Uncle Bill!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

    • on December 19, 2011

      Mmmmm! Delish! I used chicken broth instead of water and added the whole can of beans. I love this recipe. I will make again and again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      I know this sounds weird, but I added a can of vegetarian refried beans to thicken it up. Family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      I love all the veggies in this soup, but we had to spice it up quite a bit because it was a little bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      I did not like this at all but my husband thought it was good. Did everything as described but just not a soup for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      I cook this every three or four weeks, it's delicious. I use 1/2 a teaspoon of oregano instead of 1/4, a dash of Worcestershire and Tabasco sauces and a teaspoon of Vegeta. My boyfriend loves it for dinner with hot toast and butter. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      This was a very tasty soup. Everything blended together perfectly. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      Excellent soup, Uncle Bill! I didn't use the zucchini this time (but will next time), used regular canned, diced tomatoes, 1 can of great northern beans and added 3 chicken bouillon cubes. I did have to cook it quite a bit longer than the time stated because my celery was still crunchy. But I sure enjoyed this soup on a cool, rainy, dreary day. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      I made this for a soup potluck we had at work on a cold, rainy day and it was perfect!!! Got lots of compliments at how delicious it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      AMAZING! Our neighbors made this for us when I was sick and it is delicious! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      I modified this slightly, adding squash, spinach, and crushed tomatoes. It turned out amazingly. Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      Made this last night and had it again tonight. Very good! I did add a little too much pasta and I had to add a little more liquid but all in all it was delish! Will be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      This was so delicious and healthy also..great combination! I made this as stated but used fire roasted tomatoes as that is what was in the pantry. I did grate a tiny bit of parmesan on the top of mine and also "blessed" the soup with a drizzle of olive oil right before eating.

      Thank you, Uncle Bill, for sharing this wonderful soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      I am so full from eating so much soup. This is the second time I have made this soup. The first time I followed the recipe, but added so vegetable broth for some of the water. This time my boyfriend and I added ground beef and some tumeric spice. This soup is a really good base and can be so versatile. You go Uncle Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Vegetarian Minestrone Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (323 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.3
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    22%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 577.7 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes