Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Stuffed Sweet Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Stuffed Sweet Peppers

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2012

      I made this exactly according to the recipe - couldn't stop eating the filling before putting them in oven. Delicious!!!!! Best stuffed peppers EVER! I can't imagine why some of the comments say that people doubled the cooking time on the rice! Rice takes 20 minutes to cook, period! LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      I've made this recipe many times and both family and friends love it. Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      Uncle Bill..yer a culinary genious ! This recipe makes the best stuffed peppers I have ever tasted. Using an assortment of peppers makes for an eye catching presentastion. Although I have been using this recipe for a least 1 1/2 years I have been negligent on submitting a rateing..for that I'm ashamed. The only additions I have made to this already perfect dish is, when available,I use diced fresh tomatoes from my garden,I add three leaves of chopped fresh sweet basil and four tablespoons chopped fresh parsley...not that it needs it but I do need to use items from my garden ~grin~ The carrots give a suttle sweetness. Last fall I froze the last of the peppers ( mix of red and green) from the garden that were about the size of a walnut. For Christmas dinner I stuffed them using this recipe. I arranged them on a plater of fresh spinach leaves. They were not only delicious but beautiful. Thanks for sharing a materpience from your recipe file ! Samijo

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      These were pretty good but I think next time I'd add cheese to the entire beef mixture before stuffing it into the peppers because when I cut into them everything kind of fell out and was crumbly. I think maybe it needs something to bind it all together. I also skipped boiling them and just stuffed them and baked them. We don't mind them being a little crisp. Other than that these were pretty good and I'd make them again. Thank You.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      Excellent! What a great (and healthier) change from the standard stuffed pepper recipe. This was a little time consuming, but worth every second. I used a food processor for all the vegi chopping, which also helped the picky eaters not to pick out what they didn't think they liked--instead we all loved the meat-vegi-rice stuffing mixture. The only change I made to this recipe is that I used oregano, instead of Italian seasoing (which I didn't have) and skipped the salt. I did have a lot of extra stuffing mixture, so next time I will make sure to buy bigger peppers (we used a colorful combination, 3 green, and the other 3 different colors (red, yellow, & orange). This is a great dish to bring to a potluck, especially using the different colored peppers. Thanks Bill for a great keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2014

      Uncle Bill, my husband and I just loved your stuffed peppers! He gives you 10 stars! I can't post a photo because they are all eaten! Oishii, ne!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      Uncle Bill another great recipe! It took a bit of time to put it all together but well worth it. I had a ton of stuffing, probably because I added another carrot, eyeballed the mushrooms and onion, but had 2 extra peppers so I quickly blanched those as well and that was the perfect amount. I really like that there are so many vegetables and not just meat and rice in this stuffing. Since I am the only stuffed pepper eater in the house, I froze several of them for another day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      The stuffing will be resting for about 9 hours in the cold garage until early in the evening to get all the flavor mixed together. I can my own tomatoes in which I used 1 quart whole Roma's which are excellent in the dish along with 1 quart of canned Roma Tomato juice,also I did not add any ketchup or mushrooms. I do not use any store bought tomatoes from a can! I also grow all my own peppers. I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of a combination of Jalapeno, both hot and mild Banana peppers, Bell peppers, Sorrento peppers and Cayenne peppers that were dried then ground up last fall. I tasted the mixed before sitting it in the cold garage and the stuffing is excellent tasting.This is before I even stuff the peppers. I used orange bell peppers which have a nice sweet taste verus the green peppers that have a bitter taste just from not being ripe or left on the vine long enough to turn red. This makes a lot of stuffing so try to have at least 5-7 peppers ready to use up the stuffing and I still think there will be extra. These have a very good taste and will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      This filling is fantastic! Wonderful recipe thanks so much for sharing :) Used the leftovers to fill pillsbury crescents, so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2012

      Thanks for all the experimentation you did to get this wonderful recipe, Uncle Bill! My boyfriend isn't a big vegetable eater and I am, so I have to find ways to compromise our palates. Enter: Uncle Bill's Stuffed Sweet Peppers. My omissions/substitutions (due to lack of time and/or ingredients) were: omitted the ground beef and substituted with the equivalent amount of baby portabella mushrooms (ps. mushrooms are a great meat substitute) / used a can of diced tomatoes (we love tomatoes here) / had a bag of shredded carrots on hand but no carrots, so I finely chopped up the shredded ones which was surprisingly easy since they sort of stack up on themselves when you pull them out of the bag / used mild provolone instead of mozzarella. Also, I tend to make a pot of rice at the beginning of the week in my slow cooker, during the summer it's usually cilantro rice. Having this already made and on hand cut the prep time down considerably, plus the cilantro rice worked so well (especially with dill in the recipe). We'll be making this again and again here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      This was delicious! I too was unsure of the ketchup mixture but it was awesome! I added 1 tbsp of worcestershire sauce to it and a pinch of truvia. To the meat and rice mixture I also added 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper and I'm REALLY glad I did, it was delish. I used lean ground turkey and brown basmati rice. I had to add more broth to the rice and cooked it for twice as long. One pepper each was more than enough for a full meal for my husband and I, so we have lots of yummy leftovers AND they come out really well nuked in the microwave. Nuked for two mins, cut in half and nuked for another min. DELICIOUS! I'm making these again for my mother-in-law later this week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      we really like red bell peppers but this was just too much pepper for my bf & i. i made the full recipe and we only had 1 pepper each so i ended up chopping one of the remaining peppers & mixing it & a can of pinto beans with the left over rice/meat mixture to make burritos for my bf's lunches next week. i'll use the left over peppers on a burger or something so in the end it worked out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      These peppers were delicious! I used all red bell peppers and brown rice. I substituted half of the ground beef with soy crumbles, and only used one tablespoon of olive oil. I used lowfat colby jack cheese instead of mozzarella. I used a few tablespoons of fresh dill instead of dried. I left out the mushroom and celery (my kids don't like them). Instead of canned tomatoes, I diced up a few romas I had and simmered them in a can of tomato sauce while the rice was cooking. I doubled the ketchup mixture. Lol I think that's all. Anyway, they were awesome, and so healthy! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Great recipe I used lowfat ground turkey Doubled the amound of ketchup/ water mix omitted cheese and baked for 10-15 minutes longer If you want softer peppers I suggest paraboling them at least 10 minutes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Exceptional recipe! I used sweet Italian sausage instead of ground beef. Went for best tasting canned plum tomatoes available. Also used home made chicken stock doubled the quantity of stock and cooked the rice about double the time. Topped with imported Romano. The best stuffed peppers I've ever eaten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      OMG Amazing! I used ground chicken and omitted the celery and mushrooms. I also used Monterey Jack instead of the mozzarella. These were perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Thanks, Uncle Bill! This is truly outstanding! DH said "stuffed peppers?' and remarked he had never had one that was even edible. I persisted anyway, only change being I used Progresso crushed tomatoes and a tsp of sugar. He not only ate a large serving but went back for seconds and reported it to be "very good'. For him, that is a supreme compliment. I will keep this recipe and look forward to making it many times in the future. This is a real winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Great recipe. I used Delmonte diced tomatoes with garlic and basil. I added drained corn, 1 TBLS of worcestershire sauce, plus 2 tsp sugar. This will definitely be added to my recipe file. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      This recipe turned out very good. I grew up eating stuffed peppers and this recipe was a winner. I liked the veggies chopped in the meat mixture and the dill was a great addition. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Excellent recipe as the creator claims! I'd like to mention that these are a great vegetarian option as well, just omit the beef and your good to go! Will definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Stuffed Sweet Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (524 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 485.9
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    35%
    Total Fat 18.9 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 60.2 mg
    20%
    Sodium 869.1 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 14.6 g
    58%
    Protein 25.9 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes