Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Soy-Ginger Marinade Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Soy-Ginger Marinade

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2002

      Great steaks, We love the flavor of the soy & ginger. I got your recipe off of Allrecipes that you posted there. Thanks for posting it on ZAAR so that others may enjoy it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2014

      Good stuff! We marinated chicken thighs overnight in this mix. I also added 2tsp. chili garlic sauce to turn up the heat a notch ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Believe it or not I marinated some ribs in this marinade for about 8 hours, then cooked them on the grill slathering them with the sauce as they grilled. Excellent! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      We sure enjoyed this...I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. Wil be making this agian.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      This marinade was fantastic! We marinated 2 strip steaks and 2 filets for about 3 1/2 hours and ended up with delicious restaurant-quality meat. I did take the option of using a dry red wine instead of the beer, and used a little less sesame oil than called for. We cooked our steaks medium on the grill and they were outstanding - thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Wow, was this ever good! Everyone loved it and both my guests asked for the recipe. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This recipe is Great ! My husband and I have tried this 4 times now - He actually requested it yesterday, definately a keeper. We don't usually marinade rib eye steaks because they are so tender anyway - but this is a nice change. Excellent Flavor !! And Oh Sooo Tender ! UPDATE - we never use to marinate ribeyes but we use this all the time now - the flavor is so good and it is so tender / just cooking steaks with seasoning just isn't the same. Thank you for sharing this recipe Uncle Bill. Awesome !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      Really good marinade for steaks. I used red wine instead of beer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      This was fabulous!! I have had this in my cookbook for awhile but since we don't drink beer I had to wait to get around to buying some. I made the marinade during my OAMCooking blitz in a large ziploc bag and then tossed in the steak and then threw it into the freezer. The night before serving, I put it into the fridge and let it defrost all night before grilling. Dh grilled the steak to perfection and the taste was incredible! I don't even like steak and I had a few pieces. We look forward to making this one again, thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2005

      Uncle Bill, this marinade was very good! I used it on my steaks. I left the steaks in the marinade for 24 hours, I only made a mistake of adding too much ginger and it overpowered the beef, that was my mistake, also I subbed the pancake syrup with corn syrup, and that seemed to work just fine, also I added some freshly ground black pepper also. I'll be making this again, but with less fresh ginger. Great marinade recipe Uncle Bill, thanks for sharing!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2004

      Excellent marinade! This stuff really tenderized the rib eyes so well. The hint of sweetness was a wonderful contrast to the stronger soy and ginger. A delightful combination of ingredients. I just put this marinade into my tried & true cookbook. Thanks so much, Uncle Bill for sharing this amazing recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2004

      Loved the marinade used on steak (cheap cut)very tender cooked on the grill. Will be using this on chicken tonight. Thanks Uncle Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      Great marinade. Excellent balance of flavors. I was a little skeptical the marinade would tenderize the meat. I put it to the test . I used it on Rib Steaks from a 2+ year old bull that were tough. I marinaded for 8 hours and grilled them. They ccame out the most tender of any out of this beef. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2004

      AWESOME marinade!!! The marinade itself deserves 5 stars!! As Uncle Bill's suggested in a post, I used orange marmalade instead of pancake syrup. I am glad I did. I think it gave the marinade a great taste. I have made it twice. On beef sirloin steaks the other night...cooked in a crockpot. I think I cooked them too long because the beef juices made a difference in the taste of the marinade. It was good but I didn't get the full flavor of the marinade. Next time I will grill the steaks or cook them in a skillet with the marinade. I made the marinade again last night and let it sit in the fridge overnight. This time I used it on a pork steak for my dinner tonight. I marinated the pork steak for about 5 1/2 hours. I cooked the pork steak with the marinade in a skillet...no oil... on medium heat. It was absolutely delicious. The pork steak was really tender too. This marinade is versatile. I think it would be good on fish and chicken too. Thanks Uncle Bill for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Soy-Ginger Marinade

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.4
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    56%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2030.7 mg
    84%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    28%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites