9 Reviews

This is a great recipe, however it leaves out one very important step that is required to treat the sunchoke root before cooking or serving it. Because the roots contain inulin which cannot be digested in its raw state, the roots must be parboiled first. If you don't parboil them for about a minute then you'll experience the gas and bloating that comes from the indigestibility. To parboil them properly, first bring a pot of water to a rolling boil, then drop the roots into the boiling water for at least a minute. Then take them out to cool before finishing your preparations. At this point you can slice and dice them for salads, for roasting, or sauteeing. You can skip this step if you plan to bake them or use them in soups and stews. Sauteeing is not a hot enough process to convert the inulin to a digestible state. I hope this helps!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy L. March 11, 2014

I just found my new favorite vegetable. I absolutely love the flavor and texture. I haven't tried any other recipes but I doubt I will, since this one was super delicious. I do have to say that before you prepare/eat the dish, read McDee's review. She is not kidding! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp March 05, 2012

Loved this recipe. So easy and wonderful. This was the first time trying sun chokes and I now plan on buying them often, but I do have a note to self....do NOT these if you have to leave the house for 24 hours!! These things give you unbelievable gas! Now that I think of it, it could be fun to serve to people you don't like too much. I wish I could invite my ex-mother in law over for dinner! But do try this recipe. It's delicious :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
McDee1964 February 24, 2012

First time trying these things we got in our local organic weekly basket. Since we don't do dairy I had to leave butter out and used avocado oil to fry as I understand it's healthier than olive oil when heated. Had them sprinkled with organic chopped cilantro, no parsley, grey sea salt, freshly ground black pepper and organic garlic cloves. 1 out of 3 liked them. I think they just have a natural taste we don't favour. I left an extra star as I'm sure the butter would have made them tastier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat December 05, 2013

I'm not rating this recipe with stars because I didn't care for the taste of the Jerusalem Artichoke itself. However, the recipe did give a nice flavor. I added a few shakes of red pepper flakes while cooking. If it weren't for the taste of the artichoke, I'd probably give this recipe 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oliver & Fischer's Mommy January 11, 2011

Very quick, very easy and very very tasty ;-9 Didn't have any parsley, and don't add salt or pepper to most of my cooking. But they still tasted great! Thanks so much Uncle Bill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Littlefoot #18 May 11, 2007

I'm not sure if I like Jerusalem artichokes or not. I bought some as they were on sale and thought I would try this recipe. Although I'm not sure on the veggies themselves I couldn't fault this cooking method, very easy and tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PinkCherryBlossom December 11, 2006

MY Oh My, these are DELICIOUS. We love Jerusalem artichokes (Sun Chokes)this is a very easy, tasty way to fix them. I made just as stated, just scrubed them, but left out the parsley. We use to grow the artichokes then moved, we are planting more. I will be making these again & again,Thanks Uncle Bill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz January 14, 2006
Uncle Bill's Simple Jerusalem Artichokes