Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Russian Cabbage Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Russian Cabbage Rolls

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2008

      First time using savoy cabbage for my rolls. Boy, was that easy in the microwave for the leaves. 1 head took 10 minutes only. Unbelievable !! I will have to tell my Mum to stop doing it the way she does. The flavor of these rolls Uncle Bill are DELICIOUS. Even my DD actually ate the whole 2 rolls, cabbage and all !!! The only thing I did different was halve the recipe. I still had meat mixture left over and did a quick meatloaf out of it. The only thing I found was it did not have enough sauce for me. I just made a note to add more sauce the next time. This pic is before I put the sauce on it. Again I was eating them and realized I didn't take a pic of the finished meal. Silly Wabbit !! But Uncle Bill I will say again they were soooo good, thanks for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      Neither the basmati rice nor the uncooked onions were cooked after 2 hour. Also, the cabbage would have been ready after 10 minutes in the microwave. I'll make again with all the rice and onions cooked because the seasonings were wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      Well,I knew if this was Uncle Bill's recipe it had to be the best.The only change I made was the rice.I used white long grain.These are the best cabbage rolls you can make so I won't be trying any others.No need to.Thanks again Uncle Bill for another perfect recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2006

      Oh...Mah...Goodness. It's hard to cook for one, but this dish does the trick. I halved the recipe, and made 8 rolls, ate 1 but wanted another. Froze 7. FANTASTIC recipe! I subbed a can of hot rotel for the plum tomatoes, and it left my mouth tingling. Very, Very, Very Tasty. Thanks for a great recipe that I'll make again. And again. And again. And... you get the idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      Wonderful! What can I say, I have NEVER separated the cabbage leaves so easily, (however in my microwave just 10 mins core down did the trick). Uncle Bill is now a household name lol. My Mum says Uncle who? (never having a brother by the name of Bill of course). Made the borscht, made the cabbage rolls, did the au jus roast beef and will make many more of your fabulous recipes! Thank you, thank you, thank you, sooooo much. GoldenWookie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      Uncle Bill, the filling for your cabbage rolls was fantastic! the blending of the spices really enhanced the flavors so well...however I made the rolls with just regular head cabbage, and I used my own sauce recipe, I hope you do not mind, even at that, I had to rate your recipe 5 stars, because the cabbage rolls turned out delicious! thank you for sharing another winner!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      My Mother and Aunt are from a polish family and refer to these rolls as "Gowumki". They learned how to make them from their polish relatives. They had no recipe to follow. I had them try these, and they agree, these are excellent. Microwaving the cabbage makes it very easy. Thanks Bill for writing it down. Now I can pass it along to my children.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      I have tried many recipes for cabagge rolls and this is the best one yet. I did only make half of it but ikept the proportions the same with the exception of the meat. 1 lb. of beef and 1/2 lb. of sausage was still used. The other exception was, Ihad no long grain rice available so I used a package of Uncle Bens " Herb & Wild Rice ".It added some extra flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Russian Cabbage Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 354.7
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    29%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 38.1 mg
    12%
    Sodium 639.4 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 15.2 g
    30%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    savoy cabbage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites