30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this one, Uncle Bill. I, too left the peas whole, as that's how we like them. I also threw in some shredded cheddar cheese. It is very refreshing and I will be using it often for picnics this summer! Thanks for a winner!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookbook Barbie March 31, 2003

A wonderful salad. I have a recipe similar to this, and to tell the truth, I love this one better as it uses frozen peas. I think the mayonnaise and sour cream flavored with dill and onion is terreific. I didn't use light sour cream or mayonnaise, as I wanted to try the recipe as written, but next time I think I will experiment. The bacon gives a nice crunchy flavor that goes well with the peas. Thanks for posting your tried and true recipe. I will be using this again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie January 24, 2003

Delicious recipe. The only change was to leave the peas whole instead of chopping. We will be making this recipe often. Thanks, "Uncle Bill."

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M. Joan February 09, 2003

I really liked this. I did not use the bacon cause I am trying really hard to cut down on that stuff. Used low fat mayo and low fat sour cream. Thought there was plenty of "juice" so I add another cup of peas and another couple of tablespoons of onions and had lunch for 2 days! Thanks Unk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff September 10, 2003

Excellent -- refreshing and crisp! We really enjoyed this along with a hamburger and some baked beans. The crunch of all of the ingredients together was fabulous. Will be making this one a regular! Thanks Uncle Bill!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady June 29, 2003

A wonderful and easy alternative to the usual salads. Sweet peas, crunchy onions and celery, and the sweet, sour tang of a sour cream-mayo dressing. Dill weed accents all the other flavors and bacon adds a salty richness. I made the recipe as directed and would not change anything. My 4 star rating = very good, will make it again without any significant changes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac June 08, 2003

A great summer salad. I used fresh peas, just blanched in boiling water for a few minutes so they retained some of their crunch. I used red onion so it would add some colour to the salad. The different ingredients work very well together. Make sure you leave time to chill the finished dish so the flavours blend nicely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville June 01, 2003

I'm usually a little leery of those pea salads found at potlucks, but if it's an Uncle Bill recipe, it has to be good. And it is. I love the dill addition. Nothing overpowering and lends itself well to any meal, fancy or not.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers January 13, 2013

Anton Ego agrees with the cook that says "too much dressing" Perhaps either do not make as much as called for OR add by bits, tasting between adds. I also didn't liketheaddition of cheese. The recipie by itself is fine. In factasfd,sd it's good -- and I don't say that easily.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anton Ego August 01, 2012

I used fresh dill and green onions from the garden for this lovely salad. I didn't bother cooking the frozen peas, instead just thawing them. So delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 June 06, 2012
Uncle Bill's Petite Pea Salad