Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Petite Pea Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Petite Pea Salad

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2003

      I love this one, Uncle Bill. I, too left the peas whole, as that's how we like them. I also threw in some shredded cheddar cheese. It is very refreshing and I will be using it often for picnics this summer! Thanks for a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2003

      A wonderful salad. I have a recipe similar to this, and to tell the truth, I love this one better as it uses frozen peas. I think the mayonnaise and sour cream flavored with dill and onion is terreific. I didn't use light sour cream or mayonnaise, as I wanted to try the recipe as written, but next time I think I will experiment. The bacon gives a nice crunchy flavor that goes well with the peas. Thanks for posting your tried and true recipe. I will be using this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2003

      Delicious recipe. The only change was to leave the peas whole instead of chopping. We will be making this recipe often. Thanks, "Uncle Bill."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2003

      I really liked this. I did not use the bacon cause I am trying really hard to cut down on that stuff. Used low fat mayo and low fat sour cream. Thought there was plenty of "juice" so I add another cup of peas and another couple of tablespoons of onions and had lunch for 2 days! Thanks Unk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2003

      Excellent -- refreshing and crisp! We really enjoyed this along with a hamburger and some baked beans. The crunch of all of the ingredients together was fabulous. Will be making this one a regular! Thanks Uncle Bill!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2003

      A wonderful and easy alternative to the usual salads. Sweet peas, crunchy onions and celery, and the sweet, sour tang of a sour cream-mayo dressing. Dill weed accents all the other flavors and bacon adds a salty richness. I made the recipe as directed and would not change anything. My 4 star rating = very good, will make it again without any significant changes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2003

      A great summer salad. I used fresh peas, just blanched in boiling water for a few minutes so they retained some of their crunch. I used red onion so it would add some colour to the salad. The different ingredients work very well together. Make sure you leave time to chill the finished dish so the flavours blend nicely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      I'm usually a little leery of those pea salads found at potlucks, but if it's an Uncle Bill recipe, it has to be good. And it is. I love the dill addition. Nothing overpowering and lends itself well to any meal, fancy or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2012

      Anton Ego agrees with the cook that says "too much dressing" Perhaps either do not make as much as called for OR add by bits, tasting between adds. I also didn't liketheaddition of cheese. The recipie by itself is fine. In factasfd,sd it's good -- and I don't say that easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      I used fresh dill and green onions from the garden for this lovely salad. I didn't bother cooking the frozen peas, instead just thawing them. So delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      this is exactly how I make it only with the addition of 1/2 c. parmesan or cheddar and don't chop the frozen peas. Been doing it this way since the early 80's. Wonderful to find others think along the same lines!!!! Great Job Bill!
      Considering I am one that LOATHES peas normally unless they're only thawed from freezing this salad says alot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      A very nice salad. I don't think it needs bacon. I used more peas than the recipe called for. I did add a little extra dill as well. My guests loved it thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      Loved it!! My freezer died yesterday and in an attempt to save all the veggies I found your recipe! I took this salad to a group dinner last night and everyone raved!! They want me to bring to the July 4th gathering too! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      This was an awesome twist to a plain ole pea salad. I added 2 boiled eggs and 2t. of horseradish for a kick. I also left out the celery as I don't like raw celery. But this was great and I will be making again! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Excellent salad. I did add some small vermont cheddar cubes and used quite a bit more bacon (personal choice, I love bacon), but otherwise followed the recipe. This was just so good. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Some people say they don't care for peas. I really urge them to try this salad. This is a wonderful way to serve peas and so easy to put together. We loved it and reminds me of a salad I had once in Denmark. I did stir in small cheddar cheese pieces before garnishing the top with the bacon. Uncle Bill, you've done it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

    • on June 26, 2008

      This is a very yummy salad! I added cubed cheddar cheese right before I served it. Next time I will probably add more peas, as there is a lot of the sauce. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      This salad was light and very tasty. I think it tastes better the next day. We added fresh chives and water chestnuts and it was so good. Be careful when stirring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      This was a very nice pea salad. Loved the dill. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Petite Pea Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.5
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    55%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 13.3 mg
    4%
    Sodium 216.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites