329 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i was dying to have some chips with my sandwich and remembered this recipe. thank you so much! they are so good! i just did mine with kosher salt. i just sliced up one potato for myself. it was just enough.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nancyal March 15, 2003

Delicious! These are a great low fat snack. I eat them while studying. I sprinkled mine with salt and some vinegar and they were really terrific. I might try them with some sea salt and rosemary next time. Thanks Uncle Bill.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl March 09, 2003

Mmmm these were great. a fair bit of effort for a small amount of chips but still good. I used salt and vinegar on my chips turned out great! Just have to figure out the right amount of seasoning on your chips sometime they were too salty other times not enough but all in all loved them. I used a potato peeler to get my chips so thin TY william

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aleigha Nicole March 14, 2011

I tried making these today and it just wouldn't turn out for me. I will try them again as they would be so much better than regular chips. Mine kept turning out mushy and I did slice them paper thin. They were edible but they just didn't have that crunch that I was hoping for. I will have to try it without the cover and going a little longer in the micro. They also stuck like crazy to my casserole dish and I did use olive oil first and the second time after I washed it I sprayed some non stick Pam but still they stuck like glue. I think it's a good recipe but thus far it just hasn't worked for me....but try try try again! :-) UPDATE: Tried again and the first batch stuck like crazy however the subsequent batches came off easily and I also upped the time on them but kept checking them to avoid them burning. Nice and crunchy like a chip but so much more tastier, this is a keeper! Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrissyVas80 March 01, 2011

One potato done it two batches. I cut them so paper-thin and they came out very crispy. I soaked them in salted water and then tasting them I added a little sea salt to them. I will make them again. Personally, the commercial chips make me physically ill from the oil so these were a big improvement. I am going to make them for DH as he is the chip lover in the family. BTW. I just sprayed a plate with Pam and didn't cover them. Thanks Bill!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secret Agent February 12, 2011

These are really good. I save 5 stars for recipes that knock my socks off. They did take longer to crisp up for me. It seemed that my microwave just steamed off so much liquid. It is definatly a good thing. And will be very handy for when I want a quick snack so I will not consume quick to eat sugars.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady July 26, 2010

I wish I had a bigger microwave. My husband kept asking for more but I could only make small batches at a time. We loved them! Crisp, flavorful and easy to make.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweeteacakes July 07, 2010

Yummy! One note: Do not let the potatoes TOUCH or you will have a glob of chip instead of individual chips. Parchment paper method worked great, but don't bother covering. <br/>Good with salt, but my favorite was sprinkled with Johnny's Salad Elegance. Took about 3.5 minutes/batch...DO SMALL BATCHES for best results! Very brown chips taste burned! 5 minutes was too long for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinaStudySmart January 28, 2014

I make these often and I use all kinds of spices in different batches, Montreal Steak spice is one of our faves, East Indian Spices are a nice change and salt and pepper are also one of our faves. I don't rinse mine (too lazy). I always use parchment paper and sometimes I have to remove a few before the rest are done. Some types potatoes cook quickers than others, so you really have start watching after the 6 minute mark when they get a little brown. Definately let them cool a bit, sometimes they do get a little "rubbery" or soft when you first take them out of the microwave. I have never used oil. Awesome with a little low fat or fat free dip. Helps my cravings on Weight Watchers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TJKITTY January 07, 2014

I'm rating this on sheer genious and flavor alone. Although mine were not as crispy as I had hoped, they did work well. (It could have been my crappy microwave). I used my mandolin to slice thin, and just made season salted. I served them with our brats (burnt on the grill... "thanks hubby"). I thank you for posting a quick and easy chip recipe. I will definately make these again. (Made for Alphabet Soup tag)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 June 14, 2013
Uncle Bill's Microwave Potato Chips