Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Microwave Potato Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Microwave Potato Chips

    Average Rating:

    329 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 329

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2013

      Geez, these are insanely good. The variety of spices to use.... I used the parchment paper method and was easy peasy. cook time for my microwave was 4:30. Doing an email blast on this recipe to all my friends.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2013

      Made half a recipe but each batch took 71/2 min. as I had used my food processor to slice the potatoes. It is 2mm, I believe. May have to get a different blade so they are thinner. Serving with Shrimp Dip later today.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      I was making these for a crowd so after several batches, discovered that the dryer the potatoes are before 'baking', the faster they will get finished. I allowed to cool, placed in a ziploc bag and the next day placed in a baking pan and heated at 200 degrees before serving. Seemed to really crisp them up. Plus everyone loved that the chips were warm.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      Made these for my Super Bowl party. These were the first to go. I told everyone how easy they were and they could not believe it. You have got to try these chips . They are wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      Worked VERY well. Nice and crunchy. I used a mandolin to slice - definately less than 1/16"...almost as thin as Lay's.. At 5 minutes they were too dark. 4 minutes still pretty dark. Used waffle bottom silicone so no added oil at all! I have to admit I was skeptical. Love the crunch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

      Love these! I've made them twice now, and both times I've skipped the soaking step and used the parchment paper method, allowing me to use the entire turn table in the microwave to place the potatoes on (the only microwave safe dishes I have are much smaller, so would limit the number of chips I can cook at a time). I re-spray the parchment each batch, and definitely reduce the number of minutes to cook each batch. First batch took 10 minutes, down to about 6 minutes for the 5th or 6th batch. I just used salt and pepper. I was considering making them for a BBQ tomorrow, but I think it would take way too long to cook enough batches for 15 people (I can eat almost 2 whole potatoes worth just by myself if I'm not careful!). Potato chips are one of my weaknesses, so I'm really happy to have an almost guilt free way to eat them! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      Love these. I make them almost every week & they are a hit!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      Fun to make and eat!

      Found this recipe from doing a search for low salt recipes. I cooked mine in a casserole that I lined with parchment paper and then sprayed with oil. I didn't cover them. That did the trick for them not to stick. Next time I will watch them more carefully as I overbrowned them a bit. Thanks Uncle Bill for sharing your recipe. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      Very good! Who knew!? I didn't! Now I need a mandoline. My food processor doesn't slice them thin enough and a veggie peeler is too tedious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      So the first time i tried this i had problems getting them to harden. This time i found one of those microwave plates. (I used the kind that u get with a frozen dinner.) I didnt have a microwave cover so i imrovised n used a plastic bottom of a leftover plate that i bought at the dollar store. (figured it was a heavy plastic that can be microwaved) Now if i can find a bigger plate so i can make enough at once so i dont eat them b4 the next batch is done!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2012

      These are soooo great! I used my mandolin slicer to slice the potatoes really thin. I put them on parchment paper to cook in the microwave and it took them about 6min 40 sec per batch. Sprinkled them with a little seasoning salt before cooking them. The only thing I would recommend is leaving the door open on your microwave and letting it cool down for 5 min or so between each batch. A friend accidently burnt hers out doing lots of batches in a row (it was an old microwave, but I'd prefer not to take the chance). Thanks so much for posting. Going to hit the bulk barn tomorrow to buy the powered popcorn seasoning to try sprinkling on them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2012

      So good, and so easy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      for Candace my dietitian who's awesome

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      I had a hard time finding the right amount of time in my microwave, but once I did it was magic on a plate.. My kids and my husband love the impromptu snack and I love that they aren't fried or store bought! Thanks Uncle Bill!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      Delicious! Fun! Easy to riff with different spices! BUT! Very time-consuming, as only small batches can go into the nuker. I soaked in cold, SALTED water and used the parchment paper option. Later the same week, I tried a recipe for oven-fried potato chips -- the microwave chips were far superior in taste and more uniform in cooking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      What a great alternative to the fried potato in oil and loads of salt. Something you can control and they are DELICIOUS. Who would think that microwaving potatoes can turn into crispy and very tasty potato chips. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      Although I haven't tried this as yet I have been involved in developing large microwave potato manufacturing. The dark areas is typically concetrations of sugar especially in older chips. You might try getting your hands on chipper potatoes which are low in natural sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      Thank you, Uncle Bill! Easy, yummy and healthy! I also have a small microwave, so I could only make small batches at a time. I plan to experiment with different flavors: a little BBQ sauce brushed on and some salt & vinegar. I think it will take my a little time to perfect the cooking time needed for my appliance. I found some to be a little on the chewy side. Most, however tasted just like you think a potato chip should-- but better!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      I made a batch of these potato chips yesterday using the parchment paper method. I took a sheet of parchment paper, folded it in half, then opened it up again and sprayed the whole sheet with Pam. Sprinkled the sheet with Kosher salt and then placed the sliced potatoes on one side of the fold. Then folded the other side over the chips and (using a cookie sheet) put the folded packet into the microwave oven. I had to cook it for about 9 minutes to get them crisp. None of the chips stuck to either the top or bottom paper. The chips were wonderful. Probably going to do a bach again tonight. I can't wait until the grandkids come over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      I have to add my five stars to all the others. This recipe was fantastic. I will never buy another bag of potato chips again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Microwave Potato Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    45%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes