329 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is in my "who'd a thunk it" category! We loved the chips and even added a little Mrs. Dash for extra flavor - minus the salt. Wow! It's a real keeper, so thanks for sharing the recipe. Uncle Bill has done it again - a wondeerful recipe with very explicit (wonderful) directions! Thanks! XX

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wineaux October 22, 2010

These were so yummy and very easy. I will be making these quite often. I sprinkled dill pickle popcorn seasoning on these and they tasted much better then the dill pickle chips I usualy buy.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenbeatrice September 26, 2010

OH MY GOD. I guess I can't really add anything that hasn't been said--these are absolutely fantastic. I made some quick fat free chili mayo (using Korean chili paste) and I died and went to heaven! I have some sweet potato ones in the micro now!!!!! I can't wait!!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock April 19, 2003

Amazing! I was really missing chips, and now i can have them virtually fat free!
I cut the recipe in half (2 potatoes), and used no stick pam on a large dinner plate. The first batch took 6 minutes, the second batch 5 and a half. They were crispy, warm, and tasty.
I overdid it with the seasoning salt on one batch, but got it just right on the other (the dogs enjoyed the other batch, lol).
I have a hand grater with a slicing spot,and I used that...it made perfectly thin slices...and took only a few minutes to slice two potatoes.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat'sUp May 27, 2011

Uncle Bill definitely hit on a winner here! I used regular baking potatoes and sliced them with a vegetable peeler. Then soaked for about 15 minutes in salt water. Spread them in a single layer on paper towels and put another paper towel on top. My dish was a glass 8x8 pyrex. I sprayed it liberally with cooking spray and then spread some olive oil over that. Not one potato chip stuck! My timing was 3 minutes for the first batch, 2-1/2 minutes for each subsequent batch (the glass pan was hotter after the first batch, I guess). Better than store bought, IMHO! Oh, I did not use any cover over the dish.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Giovanni-B March 23, 2011

As if you need another 5-star review. Thanks from one more fan for these delicious, easy, and healthy alternative to bagged chips. My husband, who hates healthy food, loved them. I think we found our next healthy snack... THANK YOU SOO MUCH. Also, to future readers all I have to say is that you have to find your microwave oven's sweet spot. Mine was 7.5 minutes on parchment paper. It takes a bit of experimentation, just keep an eye on them so they don't burn. Mine came out perfect on try one :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gabby B January 14, 2011

I made this recipe utilizing a sweet potato with excellent results. Peel potato and slice on mandolin, 1/8" thickness. Put the slices in a resealable bag with some extra virgin olive oil (about 1.5 - 2 Tblspn) and some dry Italian dressing mix (approx. 2 tsp), shake to coat. Coat plate with non-stick cooking spray and arrange potatoes in a single layer. Microwave, uncovered, in batches for about 6-1/2 minutes each.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KCK411 September 22, 2009

Ok, I have to admit I was skeptical ... But, these are fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly, using sea salt as my seasoning. I used a microwave bacon dish with lid. The first batch took about 9 minutes, and the second batch about 7 1/2 minutes. (Possibly because the dish is already hot???). They turned out nice and crispy and are a healthy, great tasting alternative to regular chips for those watching fat and calories. A Keeper!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha April 19, 2003

This recipe was so easy to make, and the chips turned out just like the kind I buy at the deli! I used a mandolin-type slicer to slice the potatoes, and they were very crispy and brown. I used the suggestion of parchment paper, because they did stick in the casserole dish with just the oil. Other than that, this recipe is perfect! Thanks Uncle Bill for a great new way to serve potatoes!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy - Ellie's Mommie April 09, 2003

I also was very skeptical of this recipe, but was bored so gave it a thought. VERY good, I was quite pleased. The only problem is that I put an extremely spicy habenero dry spice on them and with that much microwave time it was like someone released pepper spray in the house! Lesson learned :) I found my microwave only required 5 minutes or they burned. Great snack without all the grease.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kevin Young March 15, 2003
Uncle Bill's Microwave Potato Chips