Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Microwave Potato Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Microwave Potato Chips

    Average Rating:

    329 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 329

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2002

      Uncle Bill, these are wonderful! My brother wanted something for an evening snack this evening and he insisted on getting potatoes! That split second I decided I would try out this recipe. I did and I'm so glad I did that. I used 3 medium-sized potatoes(peeled and thinly sliced), 1/4 tsp. black pepper and 1/2 tsp. salt. I mixed it all nicely together in a microwave bowl and microwaved these chips on HIGH power level for 7 minutes 29 seconds to be precise! Please note that I did not apply any oil to my bowl and these chips were wonderful - they did not stick to the bowl, though I admit, they did stick to each other, but that was fine, really. They scooped out beautifully and I served them to bro with some tomato ketchup on the side. He was really delighted when I told him that these are no oil French fries! He was really thrilled on hearing that. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. No more of the French fries on the stove with oil and the mess of draining the excess oil on kitchen paper napkins. We'll go with this recipe hereafter! A thousand thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      Great snack... I just joined Weight Watchers and shared this with them (many dubious expressions!). After many attempts of oil, etc...I decided on parchment paper. That corrected the sticking problem. Many thanks Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2003

      I'm making these for Super Bowl Sunday and you are a genious!! These are more than spectacular!! I cannot believe that they're crunchy!! I'll never ever buy chips in a bad again! The first batch I made I used garlic salt and a little red pepper. The second I used onion powder and garlic salt. They even got brown! I can't wait to try all different things. Also, I sprayed the dish with olive oil spray and then srayed the potatoes after adding the spices. Thank you so, so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      The first one I tried was chewy, but if you let them cool off for a sec... they are wonderful! I cut mine very thin and have been enjoying trying different seasonings with them! (Even parmesean cheese tastes great) Having a great time playing with all kinds of herbs and spices with these! Wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2005

      These potato chips hit the spot. Used garlic salt and nuked them for 6 minutes in a 1000 watt microwave oven. Perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      These are wonderful. They were very easy to make and taste great. I have also tried different herbs and spices as well as salt and everything tasted great! Thanks so much Uncle Bill for an easy and economical recipe. No more stale chips from a bag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2003

      I decided to use another reviewer's tip of parchment paper, and made a microwave bag for the chips by wrapping them in one long sheet, folding over the top and rolling up the sides. NO CLEAN UP! The taste really improves with a light touch of butter flavor spray, and seasoning before cooking. Excellent recipe for the crunchy munchies. THANKS Uncle Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2003

      Wonderful uncle bill, you made my childrens night thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2003

      Uncle Bill, I made these on Friday afternoon. I read all the reviews and had to try them. I used a vegetable peeler and they were done in no time and they came out terrific. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2003

      I had real problems with this recipe. Maybe it's just my microwave, but they didn't get crisp! I even tried drying them over-night in the oven after microwaving. Maybe I'm just challenged in this area. They tasted great (cajun seasoning) but were still flexible! How did I go wrong? I will try again:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2003

      Absolutely wonderful! My husband was recently put on a low sodium diet for blood pressure and I am a chip-a-holic. Now we can have a terrific healthy chip with or without salt; and so easy to do! I'll probably never buy another bag. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Hi Uncle Bill - what a great treat! I used my mandoline to slice the potatoes quickly and evenly. Used parchment paper, and had no clean up. I made too many for my husband and I (we had to make ourselves stop eating them!) so placed in a Ziploc bag. The next day, placed back in the microwave for 40 seconds, and they crisped right up again. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      Classic recipe Uncle Bill. No fancy microwave gear either so I used a Pyrex flan dish and brown paper to cover. Which worked fine. My microwave needed the 8 minutes for best results. Both my toddler and I thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2003

      I'm rating five stars because my whole family said they were awesome with more potato taste than commercial-bought potato chips. But, boy oh boy, did I ever have trouble getting the microwave time down, and each batch, no matter how much oil I used, stuck to the dish. I mean really stuck! LOL Since my family liked these so well, I'm going to invest in a microwave bacon tray and a round heavy plastic cover. : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2003

      I love them! I've made them a few times now.. and I prefer seasoned salt on mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      These were great! I don't have a bacon tray for my microwave so I used a casserole with a glass lid. The only thing I noted was that after the first batch (once the dish had heated up quite a bit), I had to reduce the microwave time and watch each batch to make sure they didn't burn. Other than that, they turned out fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      these taste delish! I did encounter some probs as well, similar to others...I don't have a bacon tray, so I tried the flat dish, but I didn't have a proper lid, so the chips took too long to cook. I decided to try the parchment paper. This worked better, but I had to spray both bottom sheet and the covering top sheet, and still got some sticking. Took over 9 min in our microwave. I was surprised as I thought our mic was powerful. As I progressed, each batch turned out better than the last. great tasting recipe..time consuming though, unless you have a huge microwave...or 5 of them! Thanks Uncie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Very good and easy! Keeps the kitchen cool by not using the oven! I sprinkled sea salt and Mrs Dash table seasoning on them. The thinner the better! I am definitely buying a mandolin just for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2003

      Hello Bill, This is an interesting recipe. I made one batch and need to try again. Next time I will cut the potatoes super thin. Also I will leave off the plastic wrap because it retained to much moisture in the potatoes... so I needed to "Nuke It" again... and don't pile the potatoes on each other. If I get it right, I might go into the Potato Chip business LOL Thanks again Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      Not, that you need anymore reviews, but thought I would add to the love fest! :-) What a great healthy way to have potato chips. I cooked them on parchment paper sprayed with olive oil pam. The first batch I sprinkled sea salt, garlic powder and cayenne pepper on the potatoes. The next batch I used just sea salt and cayenne pepper. I liked the first batch a lot more. The garlic added a nice flavor! Maybe next time I will try them with onion powder......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Microwave Potato Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    45%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites