330 Reviews

Uncle Bill, these are wonderful! My brother wanted something for an evening snack this evening and he insisted on getting potatoes! That split second I decided I would try out this recipe. I did and I'm so glad I did that. I used 3 medium-sized potatoes(peeled and thinly sliced), 1/4 tsp. black pepper and 1/2 tsp. salt. I mixed it all nicely together in a microwave bowl and microwaved these chips on HIGH power level for 7 minutes 29 seconds to be precise! Please note that I did not apply any oil to my bowl and these chips were wonderful - they did not stick to the bowl, though I admit, they did stick to each other, but that was fine, really. They scooped out beautifully and I served them to bro with some tomato ketchup on the side. He was really delighted when I told him that these are no oil French fries! He was really thrilled on hearing that. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. No more of the French fries on the stove with oil and the mess of draining the excess oil on kitchen paper napkins. We'll go with this recipe hereafter! A thousand thanks!

92 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani November 29, 2002

Great snack... I just joined Weight Watchers and shared this with them (many dubious expressions!). After many attempts of oil, etc...I decided on parchment paper. That corrected the sticking problem. Many thanks Bill!

40 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catfish Stew March 07, 2003

I'm making these for Super Bowl Sunday and you are a genious!! These are more than spectacular!! I cannot believe that they're crunchy!! I'll never ever buy chips in a bad again! The first batch I made I used garlic salt and a little red pepper. The second I used onion powder and garlic salt. They even got brown! I can't wait to try all different things. Also, I sprayed the dish with olive oil spray and then srayed the potatoes after adding the spices. Thank you so, so much!

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiss*My*Tiara January 24, 2003

The first one I tried was chewy, but if you let them cool off for a sec... they are wonderful! I cut mine very thin and have been enjoying trying different seasonings with them! (Even parmesean cheese tastes great) Having a great time playing with all kinds of herbs and spices with these! Wonderful!!

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deb k January 06, 2003

These potato chips hit the spot. Used garlic salt and nuked them for 6 minutes in a 1000 watt microwave oven. Perfection!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satisfied Kris April 13, 2005

These are wonderful. They were very easy to make and taste great. I have also tried different herbs and spices as well as salt and everything tasted great! Thanks so much Uncle Bill for an easy and economical recipe. No more stale chips from a bag!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin W January 13, 2003

I decided to use another reviewer's tip of parchment paper, and made a microwave bag for the chips by wrapping them in one long sheet, folding over the top and rolling up the sides. NO CLEAN UP! The taste really improves with a light touch of butter flavor spray, and seasoning before cooking. Excellent recipe for the crunchy munchies. THANKS Uncle Bill!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire de Luna April 07, 2003

Wonderful uncle bill, you made my childrens night thanks!!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweethonesty24 Fleming February 05, 2003

Uncle Bill, I made these on Friday afternoon. I read all the reviews and had to try them. I used a vegetable peeler and they were done in no time and they came out terrific. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy-Jude April 05, 2003

I had real problems with this recipe. Maybe it's just my microwave, but they didn't get crisp! I even tried drying them over-night in the oven after microwaving. Maybe I'm just challenged in this area. They tasted great (cajun seasoning) but were still flexible! How did I go wrong? I will try again:)

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mostrah February 20, 2003
Uncle Bill's Microwave Potato Chips