194 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is one of the best-tasting soups I've ever made. I used some chicken broth, as you mentioned -- about 6 cups low-sodium broth and 2 cups water. I didn't have to adjust any of the seasonings or proportions in the recipe -- I can always count on Uncle Bill to post a recipe that is a 10-star; I never make one and then think I will tweak it next time. They're always perfect just as written. I pureed half of the soup in the blender; this made a nice and thick soup with still some texture. The three of us finished this in one night, with some crusty rolls. I can't wait to make it again, it's SO good. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester May 06, 2010

My family swore they hated split pea soup, but I love it so I made this recipe. Well, I now have a family of converts. Everyone loved it!!!! Thank you!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slingmama April 15, 2010

Not that I would start ordering this at restaurants but this split pea soup's flavor was very good and I loved how healthy it is! My 1.5 year old boy asked for more! I was surprised I enjoyed it, since I am not a big fan of gritty texture that beans and split peas have. I will probably make again since it wont be the last time I buy a large ham it was great using all of the ham and the tiny pieces that break off the ham. Thanks for making it so simple! I did use extra carrots, celery, and thyme. I used 2 bay leafs and 3 beef bouillon cubes. Thanks again!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m April 27, 2010

FANTASTIC!!!! I had a huge ham bone sitting in my freezer, and I wanted to make your recipe, I was just waiting for a cooler day, and today was it! I used 5 cups of chicken broth and 5 cups water in place of all 12 cups water, and only used 1 beef cube... wonderful smokey taste that thickened up to just the right consistancy. I let it simmer slowley for about 2 hours, we really enjoyed this with homemade crusty buns...Uncle Bill has done it again! thanks for another winner!...Kitten:)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen August 16, 2005

Uncle Bill this is a great soup. Even my mom who strongly dislikes split pea soup thought this was good. I used 3 ham hocks and a dash of liquid smoke. Perfect!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazel's Momma May 10, 2009

I made this last week and forgot to review this. WONDERFUL...if I could give more than 5 stars I would. Followed the directions only adding 3 minced garlic cloves and 2 diced potatoes....heaven. Definately going into my Favorites of 2010. Thank you Uncle Bill for submitting such a delicious recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf January 02, 2011

I'm on the band wagon! A few potatoes jumped in, other that that made as directed. Perfect with fresh garlic crusty bead on the side...yum.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk April 18, 2010

Just as I remember my Mother making. Excellent!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smokey Garguillo April 13, 2010

Yes, here in Alberta it can be soup weather even in July. This was my first time to make pea soup, because it is usually my husband's job, but I already had the ham bone defrosted and the chicken stock fresh, and he was busy. I did add his signature rinsed can of peas and cup of frozen peas at the end (for texture and color). This only feeds about 7 for us, but since there are only 6 of us, it works fine. DH was impressed, which is hard to do.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise July 22, 2011

I have never written a review here that I'm aware of, but this soup is SO GOOD I feel like I have to. I've made it several times and it has always turned out so delicious! When looking for a chicken noodle soup recipe, I came across yours and that was a win too, you are a Soup King!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
harumpha May 27, 2011
Uncle Bill's Green Split Pea With Hambone Soup