Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions

    Average Rating:

    138 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 138

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2007

      Deeelicious! I love fried potatoes and I haven't had them in ages. I am so glad you posted this Uncle Bill! I had to sub a baking potato for the russet or yukon, margarine for the butter, and frozen chopped onion instead of sliced. The onions carmelized beautifully, the garlic powder, salt, and pepper are the perfect combo. I actually didn't measure the spices :) but that didn't cause a problem at all. I only used 1 medium-large size potato since I was the only one eating this. The only reason why this isn't getting 5 stars is that my potatoes didn't brown up at all. I even added an extra 5 ins at the end, and for some reason, they just wouldn't brown. They cooked through well though, and the onions even got browned and crispy (YUM!) I posted in the Cooking Q&A Forum as to why my potatoes might not have browned. This was still amazing though, still had the fried flavor. This is still a keeper for me. I made this for my lunch today. Here's an update; I'm upping my stars from 4-5 b/c after confirming my thoughts on my why my potatoes didn't brown, I really do believe that there is nothing wrong w/this recipe. :) Even if my technique or subs cause these potatoes never to brown for me, I will make this often. I am so pleased by the flavor and simplicity of this recipe, and the way the onions cooked up, that this will remain a staple for me. Thanks again Uncle Bill, my tummy loves you for this, a treat and a comfort food to me. :) I am back to add to my review! I give this 10 stars, especially b/c Uncle Bill offered a great suggestion which I used this time around to brown the potatoes: I started onions first until they were just starting to carmelize, then added in potato slices to brown (and they browned alright! lol) and then added onions back in to finish. I'm kind of miffed w/myself, as I got so excited that my potatoes browned using Uncle Bill's suggestion that I totally forgot to add in the sal, pepper, and garlic powder, and I already had them out of the pan. These taste better if you season them while they are still cooking, oh well. :) It also prob helped that I splurged and used real butter instead of margarine this time, too. Thanks again! :) An UPDATE to my previous ramblings, I mean reviews lol! This time used a russet, & bf bought the wrong onions (yellow instead of white, no biggie); & again I used margarine (gasp!) b/c I honestly don't mind the taste of it & it's easier on my tummy. With the fresh (not frozen) onion slices, even the marg didn't prevent this dish from browning. I went back to the original recipe instructions b/c I wanted to see if I could get the potatoes to brown by not using frozen onions. That's all it tok, really! I hope my experiences w/this recipe help others who are novice cooks like me; do I get a reward for longest review ever? Lol. As promised, I came back (again) to say I tried a Vidalia sweet onion in this. If you like a milder onion taste, a sweet onion is great. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      Ok, I have made this recipe before.. now at 3am, I want it!! Sold me again Uncle Bill, I WILL buy potatoes today!!! amberngriffinco

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      We had this for dinner tonight and it was delicious. It smelled great and was so easy to put together.The combination of potatoes and onions plus the perfect blend of spices made for a wonderful side dish that was enjoyed but eveyrone, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      These are fabulous and easy - I've made they a few times now (have been delinquent on my reviews) and have never once been disappointed. Thanks Uncle Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      This was CRAZY easy and CRAZY delicious!!! Some of the best potatoes I've had (and I'm a true potatoe lover so that means a lot). TRY THEM YOU'LL LOVE THEM! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      I liked this but surprisingly the kids were a bit iffy. Worth a try though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      Awesome recipe and its very easy to make. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      My husband loved these. They are so easy to make, he is always asking for them. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      AWESOME!!!! I'm a fried tator gal from the south ;):)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      I cooked this tonight this is a definite keeper!!!! Great taste & great recipe. I've never fried potatoes before and it was success! Very very tasty, I think the only thing I would do is add a little more garlic powder or use garlic cloves because my family loves garlic. I had to cook it longer than 10 minutes, my husband wants to try this out for breakfast!! Thank you Uncle Bill!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      Very good and easy too! The whole family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      Loveed this! So easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      This was great! And easy too. I did add more salt. I'll use this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      WOW, really good... I used 2 baking potatoes and the same amout for the rest ingredients... Really really really good.. lol..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      Thanks Uncle Bill for the great potato recipe. I have read so many people raving about these. Now, I finally know why. It was very easy to put together. The only thing I did differently was not to peel the potatoes, as I always prefer the skin on. I had it along side honey-mustard chicken, broccoli and cornbread. What a great side dish. I ate so much of the recipe that I'm still feeling full 5 hours later. So, YOU KNOW I loved it! This will be made again and again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      Bill, for a simple potato dish, these sure hit the spot. Sorry for the very late review, but better late than never, eh? lol Simple yet delicious and I will be making these often. Thank you. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      These are SOOOOO Good!!! I made these the other night with some Chicken and this recipe is wonderful!! I used a Vidalia sweet onion and a little bit more garlic but loved this recipe!!! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      This us the best way to make fried potatoes and onions. Delicious. Thanks Uncle Bill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      Absolutely delicious! We really enjoyed these, and will definitely make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      I hadn't had fried potatoes like this in years. Reminds me of the ones my grandmother used to make. We had them with grilled steak and carrots tonight. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (428 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.5
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    36%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 271.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.4 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites