143 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this to serve with brats tonight and it was fabulous! I made the following changes: 2 T. minced garlic (in oil), 2 T. spicy mustard (about 10 min. prior to serving). I also laid my brats on top of the potatoes, put the lid on, and let them steam cook. The mustard really bumped up the flavor a notch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
omadarlin February 26, 2010

These are worth every star I can give. I made these for breakfast this morning for my kids. I think I could have tripled the recipe and there would have been none left they were so good. The only thing I changed was to use half the butter. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada February 15, 2010

Wow, such a simple technique, so easy and so good! I usually use leftover baked potatoes for my fried potatoes, but these were better...glad to have this option...thanks Uncle Bill!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingin7 February 14, 2010

I came to look at your recipes,because I remembered that we share the same birthday.I've been making this recipe for about two years now and I didn't get to review it yet.When I first came across your recipe I was in a place with restricted connection to the internet,so I had so save it offline and copy it in a notebook.Still have it and it's officially my DD's favorite food.She can eat it anytime of the day.There are a lot of stories I could share about my DD and this dish. I cut it into cubes for her,as it's a lot easier for her to eat them this way.Thank you for sharing and I'm sure DD is too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia February 10, 2010

Mmm, this made such tender potatoes with a great flavor with only a few ingredients. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews January 30, 2010

Aahh this is sooo good! I cooked this a little longer then called for in the recipe to make sure the potatoes were nicely browned. I am proud to be reviewer #101.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue January 24, 2010

LIke this needs another review! These are awesome! I am making them for the second time this week per my husband's request!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rae #3 January 22, 2010

"We love it," says six year old Joel. Easy to make -- should double it to have some gooooood leftovers. Probably reduce the onion next time, and increase the frying time. Leftovers good with cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilachandler73 January 08, 2010

My potatoes also didn't brown well. Next time I will start the onions first, then add the potatoes. I also added more seasonings, and used olive oil instead of butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
francoroni December 15, 2009
Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions