Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions

    Average Rating:

    138 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 138

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2008

      Uncle Bill you took something so basic and wonderful to many of us and made it available to many more. I have e-mailed your recipe many times to those that have never made fried potatoes coz they didn't have a recipe. We love these with cream gravy as a side to pork chops, chicken fried steak and of course breakfast! Thanks again for posting another awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      So simple, yet very good. The type of onion used really effects the flavor and I am at a toss between yellow and white as being the best for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      I ate these alot as a child but your recipe was my first attempt on my own. They turned out wonderful, and my whole family enjoyed them. Thank you...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Very yummy. We have it once a week. However, potatoes always fall apart -- it's never as pretty as the picture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I've been cooking a side dish similar to this one for years, but I must say this recipe is much better. The buttery potatoes combined with the spices was pure comfort food. I served this with Herbed Beef Stew #202765, omitting the potatoes in that recipe, and homemade biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I have been making these for years and they are always good. I love them with fried eggs and bacon on the side. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Tasted great... I'll be adding my own spices to it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Delicious, delicious. I used 4 medium potatoes, 1/2 an onion, all other ingredients as listed and then fried everything in vegetable oil, since I did not have butter on hand. I fried the potatoes for 5 minutes first, and then added the onion since onion is thinner and cooks more quickly. I added some chopped scallion for the last 5 minutes of cooking, for color. I served with Ranch Chicken Breast, and Boston baked beans. Uncle Bill, this also reminds me of a dish my grandmother would prepare. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      ooh these potatoes were so good and easy to make! i had them last night for dinner on the side with some porkchops!!! i really enjoyed these and thought they took no time or hard work! thanks uncle bill! :D! we have a new and easy side dish to make from now on with our dinners!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Yummy! I love that it only took 15 minutes to cook the potatoes. I thought it would take forever. Might try them cubed up too for breakfast. Yummy, Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      These are hands down the best potatoes I have ever tried. They should get 10 stars. My husband thought they were awesome as well. I was really skeptical they would cook up in 15 minutes but they did and they crisped and onions caramelized beautifully. Wow, what a winner of a recipe one we will enjoy over and over again and so easy and simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      I made these tonight to go along with meatloaf! They were awesome, they remind me of the potatoes my Mom use to make. These are going to become a staple in my house.Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      Good, cheap, and simple. I didn't use the garlic on my husband's portion, but his potatoes were still tasty. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      I agree... worthy of more than 5 stars. Uncle Bill, eating these potatoes made me feel spoiled as I imagine you did when your Grandma made them for you. Fried potatoes never tasted so good or were so easy to prepare. My grandsons have simply loved them!! I served them today with Southern Buttermilk Biscuits #26110,Pork Steak #42905 my own glazed carrots recipe and Zucchini Cobbler ( WOW!)Although I have made this recipe several times this was the first using young potatoes as you suggested. They were the best yet !! Knowing there would be no left overs I saved ( hid is a better choice of words) a bit back for my breakfast tomorrow. I used my meat slicer to obtain even slices and electric skillet to fry in which gave me an even heat and browning. Thanks also to Vicky for the perfect photo. Next time I plan to add some green and red peppers for an O'Brian flair. Thanks for sharing Uncle Bill !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      Awesome potatoes - delicious and easy! What more can you ask for?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      Worthy more than 5*, I hardly ever go to the trouble making fried potatoes since it always seemed so time consuming, and some wouldn't brown, or underdone. Of course in the past I didn't have a mandoline or quality cookware, which makes the process so much easier with perfect results. Served this with Ginger Glazed Carrots and Oven Fried Chicken With Honey Butter Sauce II

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Absolutely delicious fried potatoes. Made them exactly as written and served them with chunks of boiled kielbasa, scrambled eggs, rye bread, and sliced tomatoes from the garden. Will make fried potatoes this way often. Thanks for posting such a classic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Thank you Bill for recommending this dish. It was simple, tasty and a bit different for when I was so tired of the usual sides. Even my DH liked it and he's pretty picky. He even ate the onions!!! The only thing I did differently is that I added sliced garlic because I didn't have any powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      Thanks Uncle Bill for this recipe. You have done something with the lowly potato that even the Aztecs' could not do. I always enjoy your potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      Really, Really good!! Next time I will probably reduce the butter, trying to use less fats, but everything else the same. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (428 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.5
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    36%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 271.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.4 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites