Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions

    Average Rating:

    139 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 139

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2008

      Well, Uncle Bill, here's your eighty-first review! Loved the sound of these and they were so easy to make. I used only 3 and a quarter tablespoons of butter as I first panfried 2 rashers of bacon, which I removed from the pan and kept warm while the potatoes and onions cooked. When I turned the potatoes and onions I added three cloves of minced garlic rather than garlic powder, only a pinch of salt (because I'd included the bacon) and freshly ground black pepper. I also added the bacon which I'd crumbled and some fresh thyme to the pan at this point. These potatoes looked great and tasted even better. We thoroughly enjoyed them with breezermom's Chicken & Mushrooms With Creamy Dijon Sauce. Thank you so much for sharing this super recipe, which I'll certainly be making again. Depending on what I'm serving with these potatoes, I might squeeze some lemon juice over them on another occasion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      So good...just like Mom used to make! I reduced this to 1 serving, used Smart Balance in place of butter and a red potato. It's my new comfort food. Thanks Uncle Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Back in 1954, while I was on K.P. duty at Fort Riley Kansas, the Mess Sgt. had the cooks fry "Taters" just like this. I have fried them like this ever since! They are awesome with ham hocks and beans! Recipes like this will never be replaced! Thanks Uncle Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      My grandma used to make fried potatoes alot too. Very good side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Very simple, easy, and delicious. I added a little extra salt and garlic, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Next time I'll cut back a little on the onions and add mushrooms. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      These are DELICIOUS!! I remember my grandmother (no longer with us) making these, and my mother still does!! We always just used salt and pepper, I like the addition of the garlic powder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      This was great, very tasty and easy to prepare....thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Funny how your taste buds can open old memories. Thanks for a classic I hadn't cooked in a while........Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

    • on June 12, 2008

      I would give these 10 stars if I could. A simple dish, but such delicious comfort food. When I was a little girl my dear dad would make fried potatoes for me too. My DH and sons loved them! They only left me with an empty pan to clean. Next time I will have to make more. A HUGE hit with our family. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      What a great easy way to make fried potatoes. I have made these several times now but forgot to rate it. Sometimes I slice them and other times I cut in chunks. Excellent !!! Thanks Uncle Bill

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Many a fond childhood memories at the dinner table with this dish. What's not to love? Simplicity and taste come together in this down home dish. I eat it as a main course in the winter - of course the amount of onion is doubled, if not tripled in my house. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      I remember Momma fixing this MANY weekday nights ! Pure comfort food ! Am on a temporary wacky diet, low Iodine, and this provided a tasty change from UN-tasty sides ! Thanks Uncle Bill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      This is a great way to prepare potatoes. Very simple, very delicious. There was just 2 of us, so I cut the recipe in half. I used olive oil instead of butter and didn't use the full amount (even at half). In a non-stick pan, it worked just fine. They browned nicely and the flavour was great without being greasy. I normally use fresh garlic, but the powder worked really well here. I used more salt than I normally would, but I think this dish needs it. The onions were nice and caramelized, I think next time I will use more because they were so great but of course they shrink. Thanks Uncle Bill, I will make these potatoes regularly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      These were true comfort food. I halved the recipe, used bacon grease for half the butter, and real garlic. Even picky dh gives these 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      Oh yum. I made this to go along side of pork chops. We really like these potatoes and onions. I used the leftovers the next Sunday for hash browns, they worked perfectly. Thank you for such a basic side dish that was great.... Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Well, this would get 5 stars from my guys as they love, love, love fried potatoes. I don't make them alot and so when I do it's a real treat. I knew when I was skimming thru your recipes, that I had to try this one because of the garlic powder. What a great little addition. Never thought of that~ Thanks for the idea and recipe Uncle Bill. Another winner of course!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      I made these to go with the ribs I cooked. Perfect! I didn't measure the garlic, salt or pepper. I just sprinkled some on. The flavor was well balanced. My only problem was trying to turn them over in the pan without breaking it apart. Most of them stayed whole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Wonderful recipe to have with any meal. I used little red potatoes in this recipe. We had these for breakfast with Oven Omelet and some homemade breakfast gravy and toast. It was a full filling breakfast meal :) I also want to add that the garlic powder gave it that special taste. :) Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (428 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.5
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    36%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 271.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.4 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes