142 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really do understand why it pleased you Uncle Bill when your Grandma made this dish. Like you say, it is a simple but tasty side dish that we all loved in my house. I did use fresh garlic and didn't deviate from the recipe. We will have this ofter in our house.... it would even be great for breakfast! I just ordered my copy of your cookbook "From Uncle Bill's Kitchen" and I can't wait to try some of the recipes in there!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks November 08, 2010

Super easy and super good... I make these regularly and my husband always wants seconds and thirds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YouForgot2Evolve September 14, 2010

These were quick, easy and delicious. Everyone in my family loved them. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nanita August 25, 2010

love how easy and quick this was to make. nice easy way to make potatoes w/ out having to have the pain of baking it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies June 13, 2010

Very good, will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmsbin June 10, 2010

Loved these potato's! Hubby did too. I had to add a little more butter as, I think my potato's were larger than large, if that makes sense. :0). I served these with cabbage, carrots, green beans and ham with beans. Great dinner and a really good recipe for fried potato's. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bellablue May 22, 2010

Uncle bill...... here's another perfect recipe from zaar.. dh could eat your potatoes every day.. i've never used garlic in fried potatoes, however;we both loved them. Will make often... thanks for recipe. UPDATE 2-21-2010 UNCLE BILL JUST WANTED YOU TO KNOW WE ARE STILL ENJOYING YOUR FANTASTIC POTATOES AND ONIONS, MADE THEM TONITE , nita 2-22-2010 UNCLE BILL I GAVE 5 STARS, DON'T KNOW HOW IT CAME UP ONLY 2 STARS

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nita 284904 southern girl April 22, 2010

I made this to serve with brats tonight and it was fabulous! I made the following changes: 2 T. minced garlic (in oil), 2 T. spicy mustard (about 10 min. prior to serving). I also laid my brats on top of the potatoes, put the lid on, and let them steam cook. The mustard really bumped up the flavor a notch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
omadarlin February 26, 2010
Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions