Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions

    Average Rating:

    138 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 138

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2010

      Mmm, this made such tender potatoes with a great flavor with only a few ingredients. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Aahh this is sooo good! I cooked this a little longer then called for in the recipe to make sure the potatoes were nicely browned. I am proud to be reviewer #101.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      LIke this needs another review! These are awesome! I am making them for the second time this week per my husband's request!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      "We love it," says six year old Joel. Easy to make -- should double it to have some gooooood leftovers. Probably reduce the onion next time, and increase the frying time. Leftovers good with cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      My potatoes also didn't brown well. Next time I will start the onions first, then add the potatoes. I also added more seasonings, and used olive oil instead of butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      Yum! My DH used to make fried potatoes like this and everyone always loved them. These were so simple and so good! Thanks for sharing Uncle Bill. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      These were perfect, so simple and delicious!!! They were such a big hit with my family, it definitely will become a regular at my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      These are the best fried potatoes & onions I have ever made and eaten. Tom from neenah, wi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Simple review. "yummy" try it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      Love these potatoes, I have also made them with leftover boiled potatoes, they just cook faster....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      This was very good. My husband and i really enjoyed it. thank you for posting such a great recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      AN Honest Blast from the past. Back before TV diners this was at every table. I remember my MoM preparing this dish almost every day. Back in the 1930's this was considered eating GOOOOOD. MoM used to fry it up and it came out of the skillet in one piece. So crisp and crunchy. I will resurrect this for us from now on. Then when Pot Scrubber mentioned Sausage and Gravy I was transported back to HOG HEAVEN. Thanks folks. Cap'n Jack

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      Simplicity at its best! Thank you for posting this timeless (and forgotten) treasure. One bite took me right down memory lane...back in the day when butter wasn't a bad word. Again, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Down home eating at it's best! These are good with any meal, but they're flat out great with breakfast. I had never thought to use garlic until I saw your recipe - it adds great flavor. I also like more onions, but there have been many times when others I was serving, like my son when he was young, didn't, so I've had to go both ways with that. I am much freer with the salt - I just think potatoes need it. I don't know how I missed reviewing this before, so here's my belated thanks, Uncle Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Great with eggs over easy and a nice slice of ham, some bacon or fried sausage. Sure does bring back memories for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Very tasty! I added a few dashes of season as well, but would be just a great as posted. Thanks for sharing! We'll be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      You did it again! You posted yet another fantastic recipe I will now be adding to my master recipe collection! We LOVED these potatoes. Made them exactly as written. My DH's mother used to make these for him growing up so it brought back good memories of her wonderful meals. I cooked the potatoes a little longer to make them more on the crispy side. YUMMY! The seasonings listed are good amounts. If your sensitive to salt it's probably perfect. If you like more you can always add as everyone's different with the salt issue. I expected the butter to burn before the potatoes were done but somehow it didn't and all cooked up perfectly. Thanks again Uncle Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      This is so delicious!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe...my husband's mom used to make it for them when they were children.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      Well, Uncle Bill, here's your eighty-first review! Loved the sound of these and they were so easy to make. I used only 3 and a quarter tablespoons of butter as I first panfried 2 rashers of bacon, which I removed from the pan and kept warm while the potatoes and onions cooked. When I turned the potatoes and onions I added three cloves of minced garlic rather than garlic powder, only a pinch of salt (because I'd included the bacon) and freshly ground black pepper. I also added the bacon which I'd crumbled and some fresh thyme to the pan at this point. These potatoes looked great and tasted even better. We thoroughly enjoyed them with breezermom's Chicken & Mushrooms With Creamy Dijon Sauce. Thank you so much for sharing this super recipe, which I'll certainly be making again. Depending on what I'm serving with these potatoes, I might squeeze some lemon juice over them on another occasion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (428 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.5
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    36%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 271.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.4 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites