143 Reviews

I madea few changes due to what I had on hand, so used canola oil, no onions, and used leftover russet baked potatoes which I skinned and sliced. Such flavorful potatoes, and the best part was my hubby loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karero99_11337501 June 02, 2014

Uncle Bill,<br/>Another amazing recipe! I would have never thought to use butter--so tasty! And, the dill was great! So yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirakomaru May 20, 2014

Oh, uncle, bill; thanks so much for sharing, came across this recipe, & it brought me back home.....(the good old days, good simple hearty food and some great memories ! ! ! Thanks, again, p.S. my sliced potatoes are just waiting to hit the hot pan for tonight's' supper. If, and I mean if there ever were any extra's left we would also be just as happy to put a layer of these great potatoes between 2 slices of white bread (maybe a little ketchup on 1/2), a meal in itself.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keepntouch March 26, 2014

I was scared there would not be enough seasoning but these tasted great! I used red potatoes. I also took Angie's advice and friend them first without the lid. I'll definitely make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast February 16, 2014

I just made these this morning...wonderful!! I'm quite simple so I only used sea salt and black pepper as seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss _Jones October 26, 2013

We've done a similar recipe in our family for years.. as a staple. Except we add the garlic in earlier and also add about a 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes. For a bit of kick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jonathan L. September 29, 2013

Potatoes like this have been a fave for years at our house. Quick simple meal all you need to do is stir in a can of roast beef and gravy to your potatoes and its an awesome main dish! LOVE< LOVE< LOVE!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dlovelyvinson May 27, 2013

I nix the dill and garlic, I don't think you really need it. The best homemade fried potatoes! As another reviewer stated they have made fried potatoes an art form in southern MO and this is about as close as it gets to those...de-ee-licious!! I serve them with baked pork chops and southern-style green beans. Good stick to the ribs home cookin'!!! Thank you Uncle Billy!!! Sallll-lute!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steelsunflower January 10, 2013

Down home cooking! Reminded me of my grandmother. We all enjoyed this very much. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 14, 2012

Beautiful!!! Well, not entirely I was a little heavy handed turning my potatoes so they fell apart too much to post a nice looking photo! But I'll work on that...the addition of the dill weed, I wasn't sure would work, but that made it even more delicious than I expected...Also I love the different photo presentations.Great ideas for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. 10 stars! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Treenie November 30, 2012
Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions