Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions

    Average Rating:

    137 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 137

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2009

      To get your potatoes browner, fry them until golden brown with the lid off first, then put the lid on to finish cooking. Also, make sure your oil or oil / butter mixture is screaming hot to get a nice browning head start. I've been making these for 25+ years and never thought of garlic... what a wonderful add in! We put cubed velveta and a little milk in ours then let it melt with the lid on. Makes wonderful cheesy taders :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      Oh, how this takes me home! There is a place in SW MO called Silver Dollar City where they make potatoes very similar to this out in open air stands in huge cast iron skillets (they add sweet potatoes to theirs). And being 5,000 miles away from those lovely potatoes, I needed this recipe! So thanks, Uncle Bill, for my trip home :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      This was absolutely divine! I made mine into a turkey hash. I fried a pound of ground turkey first and then set it aside. Then I made the potatoes and onions exactly as written (except I used 5 potatoes) and added the turkey back in with step #5. Everything was caramelized and seasoned to perfection!! This also fit wonderfully into my DH's new low sodium diet that he has to be on now. Made with 1/4 t sea salt, the turkey, and even the butter listed, it came to only 135 mg sodium per cup of hash. Very low!! My whole entire family LOVED it and begged me to put it in our rotation. This is quite a feat considering we have 4 boys ranging from toddler to teenager!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      These were VERY VERY good! Next time I'll use a cast iron skillet and put it on the grill. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2014

      I madea few changes due to what I had on hand, so used canola oil, no onions, and used leftover russet baked potatoes which I skinned and sliced. Such flavorful potatoes, and the best part was my hubby loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2014

      Uncle Bill,<br/>Another amazing recipe! I would have never thought to use butter--so tasty! And, the dill was great! So yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      Oh, uncle, bill; thanks so much for sharing, came across this recipe, & it brought me back home.....(the good old days, good simple hearty food and some great memories ! ! ! Thanks, again, p.S. my sliced potatoes are just waiting to hit the hot pan for tonight's' supper. If, and I mean if there ever were any extra's left we would also be just as happy to put a layer of these great potatoes between 2 slices of white bread (maybe a little ketchup on 1/2), a meal in itself.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      I was scared there would not be enough seasoning but these tasted great! I used red potatoes. I also took Angie's advice and friend them first without the lid. I'll definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2013

      I just made these this morning...wonderful!! I'm quite simple so I only used sea salt and black pepper as seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      We've done a similar recipe in our family for years.. as a staple. Except we add the garlic in earlier and also add about a 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes. For a bit of kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      Potatoes like this have been a fave for years at our house. Quick simple meal all you need to do is stir in a can of roast beef and gravy to your potatoes and its an awesome main dish! LOVE< LOVE< LOVE!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      I nix the dill and garlic, I don't think you really need it. The best homemade fried potatoes! As another reviewer stated they have made fried potatoes an art form in southern MO and this is about as close as it gets to those...de-ee-licious!! I serve them with baked pork chops and southern-style green beans. Good stick to the ribs home cookin'!!! Thank you Uncle Billy!!! Sallll-lute!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      Down home cooking! Reminded me of my grandmother. We all enjoyed this very much. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      Beautiful!!! Well, not entirely I was a little heavy handed turning my potatoes so they fell apart too much to post a nice looking photo! But I'll work on that...the addition of the dill weed, I wasn't sure would work, but that made it even more delicious than I expected...Also I love the different photo presentations.Great ideas for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. 10 stars! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      Can't go wrong with this recipe! Yummy!! The only thing I did differently was to omit the dill. We loved the flavor and crispyness of these potatoes and onions. Note: I sliced my onions thin but they tended to burn. Next time I will slice the onions thicker. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      These were amazing. I would love to cut down on the fat next time, but my goodness they were delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      Loved these! Perfect recipe for fried potatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      this is a great recipe! just like both of my grandmothers used to make. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      Totally awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      Simple and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Fried Potatoes and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (428 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.5
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    36%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 271.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.4 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites