Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's French Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's French Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2012

      Very good soup. I used Swiss Brown Mushrooms as it's the only thing I have (roughly chopped), scaled the recipe down to 4servings and followed everything else. The one and only changes that I made was I added 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder in it. Thank you very much, Uncle Bill! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Great soup. Perfect on a cold day. All you need is some croutons, and you're good to go. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      This was pretty tasty but next time I think I'll puree it; I wasn't a fan of the chewy pieces of mushroom. Also, I accidentally skipped the tempering of the egg/cream mixture so there were little lumps of cooked egg in my soup which i had to spend 10 minutes fishing out. Tasted great though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      This was a real delicious soup. Very creamy with a fantastic flavor. I made it last night for my lunch tomorrow. So quick to put together with a wonderful aroma. I made it as written except I couldn't find cremini and used button and bella mushrooms and I just roughly chopped them up. Thanks Uncle Bill for your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I just made this recipe, one word to you....AWESOME!! I did add 1tbsp of crushed garlic when I added the scallions. I used 16oz of fresh mushrooms, no crimini. I omitted the bay leaf, and substituted 1 tbsp of chicken base with beef since this is all I had on hand. I also substituted 1 of the cups of water with milk. Still turned out splendid. I will be saving this one to make again and again, thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      well Bill when you told me to try this mushroom soup I sure wish I would have sooner....its a mighty fine soup.....I agree with the rest ! and hey ladyfingers...he's mine...lol.....it tastes like it is from a very fancy restaurant....or at home with Shelleys best ever caesar salad and a slice of garlic toast ! YUM YUM !! you did it proud !!! thanks Bill and keep them coming...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      After eating Bill's delicious chicken noodle soup, trying another only made sense. We love soups, and this one is restaurant quality. I agree with MMinMI, perhaps it's the egg/cream secret. The very clear directions/explanations produce outstanding results. I think I'm in love...with all of Uncle Bill's recipes...or maybe even with Uncle Bill! Recipezaar is fortunate that he shares his culinary delights.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      You did it again Uncle Bill! DH and I loved it! Very easy to put together, the only change I made was to add garlic (4 cloves...we love the stuff!) I think that it would be company worthy, for those who enjoy mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      Wow! Was looking for a soup recipe for dinner last night and I had most of the ingredients for this one. WOW! (Did I say that already?) Just the right blend of flavors... YUMMY! I hadn't used egg yolks in a soup before, maybe that is the secret. I used homemade chicken stock, fresh thyme, a yellow onion ilo scallion, and a combination whipping cream and skim milk... weird I know, but didn't have enough whipping cream on hand. The added bonus is that is is quick to make! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's French Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (309 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.9
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    70%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 81.7 mg
    27%
    Sodium 456.5 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites