Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Corn on the Cob - Microwave Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Corn on the Cob - Microwave

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2008

      I loved corn cooked this way, instead of plastic wrap I actually keep the corn in its husk and microwave each ear for 2 minutes each, so if I have 3 ears of corn I stick them all in at once for a total of 6 minutes. Perfect corn on the cob everytime. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      Made with "bread and butter" corn, our Mid-West term for the yellow and white sweet corn. I double rolled it in Parchment paper and twisted the ends tight for a perfectly steamed ear in the time stated. This was a terrific side with Ez Chicken and Veggies for One, Thanks for another of your wonderful recipes Uncle Bill! Made for When It's Hot Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Perfect way to cook corn without heating up the kitchen! So easy. My favorite part was that the corn stayed hot in their plastic pouches until we were ready to eat each one. Thank you! I'll use this method very often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      Since I have learned that your not supposed to cook or use plastic wrap or cook in plastic in the microwave, I have stopped using this method to sometimes cook my corn. It is said that it causes cancer, so that was enough news to make me go back to the traditional method!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      Excellent, easy, tender and delicious corn. I did 4 ears for 6 minutes, rotated 180 degrees, then did 4 minutes more (HIGH power both times) as Uncle Bill instructed in the request forum. I then sprayed them with butter spray and sprinkled with seasoned salt immediately and wrapped them in foil to rest. They were just perfect. Thanks for posting the easiest way EVER to make perfect corn on the cob!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      The perfect way to cook sweet corn! I used waxed paper and it worked beautifully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      When I can't cook my corn on the grill, this is the only way to go. SSOOO much better than boiling it. I love the fact I can prepare it ahead of time and just pop it in the microwave right before dinner. An excellent recipe/cooking method. UPDATE: you can also use waxed paper and get the same results. Always good to know if you're out of plastic wrap. ;) It is easier to open too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      This was maybe the best corn I have ever made. No kidding! DH and I loved this...and it's so easy. Followed your directions exactly. We are only sorry that fresh corn season is over, and we have to wait until next summer to make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2005

      I follow the procedure pretty much as described but wrap a husked ear of corn with a damp paper towel. I don't even bother turning and just cook for about 5 minutes. This is such an easy way to make corn and so much cooler than boiling a pot of water!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      Hi Uncle Bill, this is the way we cook our corn when I don't want to heat up the kitchen. I pop one in for 3 minutes and that's all, let it cool a little then carefully take off the plastic wrap (open ends first to let off steam) and reuse it for the next ear. Heed Bill’s words of warning as the plastic holds in the heat for a LONG time and the steam will get you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

      Worked like a charm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      This is a great quick way to cook corn on the cob. Came out perfect. Thanks Uncle Bill for yet another keeper. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      I think you have to play around with the timing of your microwave before you will get success cooking corn on the cob. Mine, unfortunately overcooked my corn with the time stated, so next time (while cooking 2 cobs) I will cut the timing down 1-1/2 minutes. I was a little wary of using plastic wrap until I came across Press n' Seal which is microwave safe. I found it easier to cut the plastic off with sissors rather than a knife. Since the corn season has just begone, I will play around with this one

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      awesome bill. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2012

      This is a great method!!! but I'm a little lazy to put plastic wrap around it! I simply just put the corn on a plate and microwave.. then when its done I spread my butter and seasonings on :]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2012

      Thanks Uncle Bill! This was perfectly steamed and full of flavor.....our only problem was restraining ourselves long enough for it to cool down. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      Quick, easy & tender. I haven't tried it with the plastic wrap (for health reasons) but used wax paper and it worked great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Cooking corn in the microwave is quick and easy, but for those who don't want to use plastic wrap, just leave the corn in the husks and microwave each ear for about 2 minutes. Let them sit for a few minutes to cool off so you can peel them or I often use the downdraft fan on my range to speed up the cooling process, hold the corn carefully then peel back a little of the husk, set the corn on your fan, wait 20 seconds or so, then peel off a few more, repeat until all the husk is gone. Then doctor with butter, salt, pepper, etc to your liking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      So fast, so easy, so yummy! Thanks for sharing. This is how I always do my corn on the cob.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Perfect! I'll be using this method from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Corn on the Cob - Microwave

    Serving Size: 1 (117 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.5
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    61%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 116.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes