Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Christmas Fruitcake With Brandy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Christmas Fruitcake With Brandy

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2008

      I first made this fruitcake for my dad for Christmas 2 years ago. Well that started it all. The word spread about how good it is and now everyone wants on the "fruitcake list"! It's getting very hard to keep up with all the requests! This is a very nutty and fruity cake. I personally don't like the citrus in most fruitcakes so I replaced it with dried, diced apricots that I found at a local Amish bulk food store. I have also made it with two pounds of pecans instead of one pound of almonds and one pound of pecans. Turns out just as delicious either way. There are just so many variations you can do with different fruits and nuts. Next time I may just go a little crazy and add some dried papaya or mango! As others have noted...this recipe really does get better with age. This year I made mine in October and by Christmas it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      This was fantastic...I allowed the brandy to sit with the fruits for 3 days, stirring it about 4 times a day, and man did the fruits fill out! They were just big and juicy. I have been brushing the cake for 2 weeks after baking, and I just had a slice, and it was WONDERFUL! Thankfully the recipe made 4 cakes for me, and I have got 3 more which I will be brushing and brushing more brandy into it. Will update ard December the difference in taste. but after 2 weeks it is this wonderful, I can't wait till December. Thanks Uncle Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      I almost forgot to rate this one! I couldn't fine some of the ingredients, like the pineapple, but I improvised with dried fruits and used the mixed peel. At first tasting, We weren't thrilled, but at about the one month mark, it was wonderful. My boyfriend loves fruitcake. Next time, I will use the recipe for the pineapple slices to see how the recipe was intended. Thanks Uncle Bill!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      I've used this recipe for two Christmases already, and this will be my third. It starts off the holiday season in November when I make these cakes and baste them weekly. I've tried many cakes and this is the ultimate recipe. Very moist and flavourful. Incidentally, if asked to blow into a breathalyzer immediately after having a piece, you will fail- you should wait 15 minutes for the mouth alcohol to evaporate- we had fun trying this out at work!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      My mom stopped making fruitcake years ago and I thought I would give it a try. While I still like her recipe a little better, this one is a close second. I tried the fruitcake after approximately 10 days and wasn't too impressed, but I completely changed my opinion after it had sat for five weeks. Thanks for the recipe. I would recommend it and will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      Uncle Bill I've been waiting since the first week in October to try and review your fruitcake. We love it and so did everyone that received one as part of their Christmas gift from us. I couldn't find red or green pineapple in Australia so just used normal pineapple (about 3 large tins). Our family isn't really keen on mixed peel so instead I used extra rasins, sultana's and currants. Thanks for sharing a delightful recipe that has now been voted "tradition" by my family and friends as part of their Aussie Christmas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2004

      Ok, finally a review. I made this in October, with the ingredients I could get in France, which meant a lot of fruits confits of different sorts, and I made my own candied pineapple, in simple syrup and a lot of soaking and boiling. I soaked the fruit and nuts in cognac. I didn't have any maraschino cherries, there are none here, which is too bad, as my cakes were not as pretty as they could have been, but there were good! I have been giving them to friends as holiday gifts and cut a few up for students. The French really like them. A very nice recipe, which looks far more complicated than it is, and was easy to put together and bake. I got 6 French sized loaf cakes out of it, and made a double recipe. Basted with Grand Marnier twice during the time it sat. I still have a couple of cakes, but I'm sure they will keep really well. The directions are really well done and easy to follow.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      I made this on oct.25 and when I opened them to put more brandy on them I couldn't resist taking a slice, and it was soooo goooood , I can hardly wait to open them up again and steal another piece

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      I tried this recipie last year! and for this year Christmas cake I also will use this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      This fruitcake is a delicious delight! I must confess that I had to substitute locally made candied pineapple because the red and green was not available here in my rural hometown. No other changes were made. I fed (bathed?) the cake every 2 weeks, starting in September, and served the cake for Christmas and for New Year's Eve. Rave reviews from all who ate it. I have decided Uncle Bill's Fruitcake is going to be a tradition of mine. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2002

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Christmas Fruitcake With Brandy

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 70

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 279.5
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    31%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 18.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 38.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 31.4 g
    125%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed peel

    golden seedless raisins

    apricot brandy

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites