Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Chicken Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Chicken Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2003

      Excellent! Homemade chicken soup is our favorite cure-all. DH was on his way back from a business meeting after having had a very "unsettled" night probably the result of eating raw oysters. I wanted to try something different without losing the character of the classic version. Adding thyme and rosemary was the magic touch! I made the recipe by cooking bone-in chicken breasts in the water broth mixture with the bay leaf, thyme and rosemary. I removed them, chopped the meat and returned the chicken to the broth. I added the veggies and noodles and finished the soup as directed. DH just kept saying "oh, this is so good!" After 3 helpings he went to bed as a very happy man. Thank you Uncle Bill for this "magic recipe".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      Excellent. I made with all homemade stock. Very flavorful. My biggest mistake was making it about 20 minutes too early, so the pasta got a little overcooked sitting in hot liquid. Will make again soon & just do it last minute. Thanks Bill.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      Wonderful flavor blends that are really accented nicely due to the tymme and rosemary. I used home made canned turkey. (1 pint). I did omit the mushroom and leek. A nice comfort food for this time of year where there's still a little nip in the air. Made for Spice of the Month in the French Forum - rosemary~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      Fantastic flavours! I made some changes to use what I had on hand. I started with Thanksgiving Turkey bones which I boiled for hours and then picked clean, then proceeded with the recipe. I only used 2 garlic cloves and still thought the garlic was strong but that is my personal taste. I did add dill at the end because I love it and it adds a new dimension of flavour. It was nice to try a new recipe for chicken soup and I will definitely make this again. Thx Uncle Bill!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      After searching through numerous chicken soup recipes for my sick BF I felt that this was the best. I made my own noodles and had to add extra water and an extra can of broth because the noodles soaked up the liquid which would not have been a problem if I had followed the recipe. The spices were delicious and my BF said that this was the best chicken soup he has ever had! This will be my chicken noodle soup recipe from now on. Thank you for posting your fantastic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Perfect chicken soup. It has great flavor. I added 1/2 tsp dried dill, since I love it in soups. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2005

      Excellent soup, made for a delicious lunch. The wonderful combination of seasonings perfectly complimented the chicken giving the soup that wonderful old fashioned flavor. We love soup and this one is a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2003

      Congratulations Bill... you're one of the few people here that actually know how to make a good chicken soup! The herbs are particularly important. This could still be improved by using chicken on the bone, browned, and then simmered in water to make your own stock instead of the canned stuff. You will notice a much cleaner flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      A very tasty and easy soup. The only change was using homemade chicken stock instead of canned. UPDATE: This has become a #1 soup favorite. Everyone who eats it comments how good it tastes. Old-fashioned flavor and comfort at its best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Like the man said this soup goes great with a cold. I made mine with wheat spaghetti noodles and an all natural broth. I did have to add an additional 3/4 cup of water and 16 oz of both as the mixture was very thick. I omitted the leeks and it was still quite flavorfull. Very easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      This sounds delicious and I am thinking Fettucini instead of Ramen. Another winner! Jelly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2003

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Chicken Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 183.0
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    42%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 42.8 mg
    14%
    Sodium 519.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 13.6 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites