Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Carrots - Turnip - Parsnip Dish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Carrots - Turnip - Parsnip Dish

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2009

      Wow, this was really flavourful! So sweet and yet not too sweet. I used more parsnips (1 medium, 1 large one), because my family likes them so much. Then I also added some ground nutmeg and about 1tbs agave nectar. That really brought out the veggies flavours! Yum! Last I used 2 tbs cream cheese and 1 tbs butter instead of 3 tbs butter. But other than that I made it exactly as posted. The directions were very clear and the time very accurate. Thank you so much for sharing this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      Like lalaloula, I also used a bit of cream cheese and cut back on the butter in this. I used baby carrots (please don't hold it against me, as I've already been subjected to the 'bleach water' urban legend by another user... ;-)) that I diced up, as well as two small turnips and two medium sized parsnips. I have never had parsnip before, and I was surprised by the flavor... sort of a spicy/ lemony combination. This mashed up a bit wet for me, even after draining for a few minutes, so next time I might try the saute method, or throw them back on the burner after draining to dry them out a bit more. I wasn't sure I liked this with the first bite, but the more I ate it, the more it grew on me. Might try again with rutabaga, since hubby won't eat turnip anything. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      I like to think of myself as a "Mad Scientist" in regards to food so I had to make this 3 different ways last night, to see which my family would enjoy the most. I had bags and bags of carrots, parsnips and turnips so these are the variations: 1) The way that Uncle Bill suggested...boiling them. 2) Roasted the veggies first, cut them in diced pieces, and added the butter and seasonings. 3) Cut them into diced sections, sauteed them and seasoned. My poor family had to try each version: adults LOVED the roasted and sauteed version/kids were split between boiled and sauteed. This is a beautiful way to feature the unsung heroes of the vegetable world: ROOT vegetables! Thanks, Uncle Bill, for a stellar recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      This was wonderful with my pork roast.I had never tried parsnip with my carrots and turnip;wow! Thanks for posting; we loved it. Sage/Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Uncle Bill You have some marvellous recipes. I made this one last night and I didnt make enough. The grand kids loved it. Diane from Sth Aust

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      Wonderful fall flavors. Went great with my turkey dinner. I made two changes. I used regular carrots and a couple of purple carrots (that is why my pic has dark pieces in it) and I took another reviewers suggestion, after tasting the dish, and added some ground nutmeg. This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      really good stuff thank you for posting dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2004

      This is one of our favorite vegetable combination side dishes. I usually chop up all the vegetables coarsely in my food processor and then I don't add water, instead I melt the butter in a saucepan and add the vegetables, sauteeing them lightly. Then I turn the heat down low, cover them, and cook them slowly. Nutmeg is a good addition as well for a nice flavour. This is a really great recipe Uncle Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2004

      You are right when you say this is so easy and it is a great flavor combination. I cut it back to two servings - no problem. I have often combined carrots & turnip but the addition of a parsnip makes a whole new taste experience. I like it coarsely mashed so you can see the three colors of the veggies - Thanks Uncle Bill this will be a regular at my house

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Carrots - Turnip - Parsnip Dish

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 81.6
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    65%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 299.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    parsnips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites