Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Broccoli Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Broccoli Soup

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2002

      This was a really great homemade soup. I shredded my carrots instead of chopping them and added a bit more pepper - truly delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      I liked this soup but I felt that it was over seasoned and a bit heavy. The beauty of making soup from scratch is that you don't have to use that much sodium. The soup base was way overpowering as was the soy sauce, and I didnt like the sweetness the carrots added. You could barely taste the subtle flavor combination of garlic, onion, and broccoli that are so signature in cream of broccoli soup. This recipe is great if you love flavor packed foods, but I cook to avoid foods like this, so I was pretty disappointed overall. A tasty soup for those who can't taste. Don't make this soup unless you want cream of broccoli with a flare.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      THE MOST DELICIOUS SOUP we have ever tasted. We've made it twice now- once substituting 1 cup cream and 1 cup milk for the half and half, and the second time using evaporated milk in an atempt to be more healthy (I don't know what half and half is- I don't think we have it in Australia). I say forget being healthy and go for the cream. It was still fantastic either way, though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      WOW! That's all I have to say!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      How come I don't uncles with recipes like this ;-) It was delicious and satisfying on a cold winter night. Yum! The only small change I might try next time is to reduce the carrots to 2 or 3 since the color was a little bit too "orangey", but that could have been due to my definition of "large" :-) Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Wonderful soup thank you so much for sharing your recipe I loved the soy sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      This is the most delicious broccoli soup I have ever tried in my life. This is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      As with all Uncle Bill recipes, this one is delicious. Four tablespoons of chicken soup base seemed like it might make very salty soup, but I have learned to trust Bill's culinary instincts. So glad I didn't improvise--the flavor was perfect if you follow Bill's exact directions. MichelleAnne's suggestion about using a stick blender was very helpful too. So easy, so quick, so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      As a family broccoli is probably our favorite green vegetable so I was excited to make this. I have never made cream of broccoli soup, only broccoli cheddar soup so I was hesitant would we like just Broccoli. I made only minor changes like less vegetable soup base do to salt and I used whole milk. To start off it is the most beautiful color green, and then when I took the first bite it was bliss, so velvety smooth I can only describe it as Sensational. I will make this again and again maybe try a different way of thickening it up, for friends that can’t have flour. Thanks for another great health soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Uncle Bill always come through! I had alot of broccoli that needed to be cooked...soup was another way to sneak veggies into the kids! I added a small diced potato to help thicken the soup (omitted the flour and water), used some ready made broth and used my stick bender to puree the soup. Do not omit the soy sauce and black pepper, the take the flavours to another level!! Thanks, Michelle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Thank you for a broccoli soup without cheese, cheese is great, but it is refreshing to have a recipe listed that is different and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      What a great recipe! I love the carrot base, yet with no 'carrot' flavor. I added 1/2 tsp. garam masala per another recipe's recommendation. I also used home made, unsalted, chicken stock so, I had to add about a 1/2 tsp. salt to the finished product. My family LOVED this and I will definetly be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Yum! A super tasting soup. Strayed from the recipe in only one way....I didn't add the extra 1/4 c. water and the flour. Instead added another 1/4 c. of half 'n half then thickened it with potato buds. It's a real winner in any case. Thanks Uncle Bill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      Very tasty! Great soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      Uncle Bill....ANOTHER WINNER! Just made a big old pot of this and I'm on my 2nd bowl. I bet it will be better tomorrow too. THANK YOU for another great addition to my file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2006

      Myself and my husband enjoyed this soup on a chilly Sunday evening. I quite honestly threw this soup together while he was at the store. Absolutely delicious! Easy and quick if you decide not to puree the cooked vegetables in the beginning. I happen to like the "parts", and it was quite tasty in spite of the lack of puree. Thanks for a lovely recipe, and a quick way to get rid of a bit of broccoli and half an onion. I did by the way cut the recipe in half....we are only two...Way to go!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      Rich and delicious soup! Perfect alone or with a sandwich on a cold day. I cleaned out my crisper with this one, using about a cup and a half more broccoli florets and chopped baby carrots. Mine did not require thickening, I would assume because of the extra veg. Using a hand blender in the cooking pot made this even easier. Would also be wonderful with a low fat sub for the half and half since the soup is quite substantial with a lovely blend of flavors. Thanks, Uncle Bill, I'll make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2005

      Great soup! I made this exactly as the recipe states, except that I added most of the liquid after I pureed the vegetable mixture to make it easier to transfer from the pot to the blender and back. It worked very well and the results were delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2003

      I have now made huge batches of this soup. And frozen into portion serves so I can have this lovely soup whenever the urge takes me.Yummmm! Bella

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2003

      I am on a low-fat diet, and had remove some of the "good stuff", but even by substituting low-fat broth and skim milk, I found it to be very enjoyable...Thanks for submitting this, and will definitely make this soup again... SharonP.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Broccoli Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.9
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    62%
    Total Fat 15.5 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 45.1 mg
    15%
    Sodium 343.4 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites