Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Uncle Bill's Beef Roast in a Slow Cooker Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Beef Roast in a Slow Cooker

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2011

      This was a really good roast recipe, but I was not that fond of the garlic in the meat. My husband on the other hand loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      Excellent! I made a few modifications to suit dietary restrictions in our family, but the general method refined by Uncle Bill cannot be beat. The gravy is just wonderful, and the meat exceedingly tender. I will make all slow cooker pot roasts this way from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      Delicious! I did cook it longer like other reviewers, but not because I read them, because I always cook my roasts all day in the crock pot. Everything was done perfectly! It's a little more work than I usually put into a roast, but well worth it! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      I had to make a few modifications, but I followed the basic recipe, and it turned out exceptionally well! I had some questions regarding the recipe, so I sent an Fmail (is that what it's called now?) to Uncle Bill and he was gracious enough to respond quickly, with just the answers that I needed. I have made several of Uncle Bill's recipes and they are always top quality!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Flavors were very nice. Family enjoyed also. Really liked the garlic and bacon, nice addition. I followed recipe as written, but like Chef #1556461, my roast and vegetables were not close to being done in the time stated. I ended up putting everything in the oven to finish in time for dinner. Other than that, we all enjoyed very much. Thanks Uncle Bill.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Yet again another superb recipe from Uncle Bill!!! I've made this twice this month and needed to check ingredients when I realized I hadn't reviewed it yet. Complex flavours that make for a happy mouth, and happy family; what more can you ask? I love the addition of the wine and pearl onions. Thanks, Uncle Bill; you know I'm a huge fan of your recipes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Wow! Just stumbled upon this recipe last night. After four hours in slow cooker, I got worried because the meat was rock hard. I let it cook another 4 hours (8 total) on low, and was pleasantly surprised when the meat began to fall apart and shred beautifully! My hubby ate it for lunch and called me right away to complement me on this meal. The only thing I did not have was onion soup mix or silver onion skins, so I threw in a quartered onion and some garlic powder. I also had trouble stuffing the bacon wrapped garlic into the slits, so I first slid the garlic in, then the little bacon slice into the same holes to seal them. The meat I cooked was outside round roast, 1.2kg, about $6 on sale. Not bad for the amazing quality! Thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      I followed this recipe to a T, all I can say is that this recipe will be my "go to" for roast! Uncle Bill, this is AMAZING!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      Uncle Bill this recipe was so well received in our house that its now THE ONLY WAY im allowed to do roast beef-Thankyou so much for sharing this fantastic recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Uncle Bill...Uncle Bill.... what can I say other than this recipe is marvelous!! After 40 years of " old school" cooking I finally broke down and decided to try a crock pot recipe. Naturally the first person I went to for a recipe was you as you have never let me down. I was shy about using the cream of mushroom soup as I normally just don't like the taste of canned creamed soups however, I was pleased with the end result. I tried to stick with the recipe as directed. Well, almost. I used small quartered onions in place of the pearl onions, a few more baby carrots and baby new potatoes. I seared my roast in bacon grease as I found I was out of bacon but still did the garlic as directed. Next time I'll be certain to have the bacon. I remember my Grandmother used bacon in this same fashion to " marble" her roasts. I used Maderia wine as that was what I had. The roast was so tender no knife was needed to cut it. The flavor of the gravy ( which I chose not to thicken) was outstanding! I loved the addition of mushrooms in the vegetables. I served this with a German salad recipe I have and crusty sourdough bread. While eating dinner my Grandson said " Granny, yer a good cooker.' I may never leave home while the crock pot is on but I can say without a doubt I will make this recipe often. Thanks so much for sharing your recipes and advice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Uncle Bill, This recipe rocks! I cooked two roasts for guests we had for dinner. There was nothing left on the platter. Really excellent flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Las Vegas Chef Here Just Tried This Today At Home For My Birthday Dinner And Got Rave Revues Excellent Recipe For Home Crockpot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      We enjoyed this last night. The bacon I used was smoked, used 4 handfuls of carrots (about 24), portabello mushrooms, regular onions, Cabernet Sauvignon for the wine and I used my Dry Cream Soup Mix recipe to help reduce the fat and sodium. When you carved the roast the garlic and bacon stayed intact and looked very appealing when plated. Thank you for another great recipe. Made for *Zaar Cookbooks Tag 2008* game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Thought this was fabulous !!! All the ingredients worked sooo well together. I didn't have any red wine on hand, so I used grape juice, it worked out fine. I think this is one of the best tasting beef roasts I have ever made. Thankyou Uncle Bill for making me look good !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Had this tonight, prepared by my visiting DS. Very minor changes, using pork lardoons inlieu of bacon, reduced potato's eliminated fresh and canned mushroom, subbed in water and cooked 5.25 hours, at which pount my outside round roast was 190* well done and falling apart tender. The meat and veg, in this more "sauce" than gravy was "professional" grade. I "stealing" this one! Fantastic result! It doesn't get better than this! Thanks So much Uncle Bill, for letting us in on this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      This was, as Uncle Bill says, SO TASTY! I put this on for Christmas night, when we finally come home and relax. I had a 4-1/2 pound chuck roast, and I went ahead and added the celery with everything else, since we didn't know how long we'd be gone. I didn't turn the roast or touch anything for 5 hours, then when we got home, I added 2 Tablespoons of ultrafine flour mixed with 1/4 cup of water to thicken the gravy just a bit. (Just our preference.) When our daughter's friend saw me poking the bacon into the roast, he asked if he could stay to dinner! :) The flavor of this was fantastic, and with buttered sourdough bread for mopping...HEAVEN, such great comfort food! As always, Uncle Bill's recipes are wonderful, I must have about 50 of them saved. Be sure to try this one, it's a keeper, and everyone will love you for it! Thanks, Uncle Bill.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      I really enjoyed this recipe. I did do some things differently like skip the bacon (to save a few calories) and celery (because I wouldn't be home to tend to this while it cooked). I left it in my crock pot longer while I was at work all day so it was a little dry. The onions from the french onion soup made an awesome crust on the top of the roast. The gravy was AMAZING! I added cayenne pepper. I will definately be making this again, hopefully in a new crock pot with a timer. :) Posting a photo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Here's a review from one of my recent dinner guests: Speaking of loving, wow, that pot roast was truly one of the very best I've ever had, obviously none of us could quit eating, good thing there weren't more people, even though you made enough for an army!!!!!! there must have been drugs in it, because when I came home I just crashed and don't even remember brushing my teeth!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      We had this wonderful recipe last night and it now will be a family favourite. Thank you so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Beef Roast in a Slow Cooker

    Serving Size: 1 (600 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 767.0
     
    Calories from Fat 249
    32%
    Total Fat 27.6 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 165.8 mg
    55%
    Sodium 1309.1 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 62.8 g
    125%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites