19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a really good roast recipe, but I was not that fond of the garlic in the meat. My husband on the other hand loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover December 05, 2011

Excellent! I made a few modifications to suit dietary restrictions in our family, but the general method refined by Uncle Bill cannot be beat. The gravy is just wonderful, and the meat exceedingly tender. I will make all slow cooker pot roasts this way from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo October 14, 2011

Delicious! I did cook it longer like other reviewers, but not because I read them, because I always cook my roasts all day in the crock pot. Everything was done perfectly! It's a little more work than I usually put into a roast, but well worth it! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ultimate Food Junkie August 10, 2011

I had to make a few modifications, but I followed the basic recipe, and it turned out exceptionally well! I had some questions regarding the recipe, so I sent an Fmail (is that what it's called now?) to Uncle Bill and he was gracious enough to respond quickly, with just the answers that I needed. I have made several of Uncle Bill's recipes and they are always top quality!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Polar Bear January 02, 2011

Flavors were very nice. Family enjoyed also. Really liked the garlic and bacon, nice addition. I followed recipe as written, but like Chef #1556461, my roast and vegetables were not close to being done in the time stated. I ended up putting everything in the oven to finish in time for dinner. Other than that, we all enjoyed very much. Thanks Uncle Bill.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kim April 24, 2010

Yet again another superb recipe from Uncle Bill!!! I've made this twice this month and needed to check ingredients when I realized I hadn't reviewed it yet. Complex flavours that make for a happy mouth, and happy family; what more can you ask? I love the addition of the wine and pearl onions. Thanks, Uncle Bill; you know I'm a huge fan of your recipes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef February 26, 2010

Wow! Just stumbled upon this recipe last night. After four hours in slow cooker, I got worried because the meat was rock hard. I let it cook another 4 hours (8 total) on low, and was pleasantly surprised when the meat began to fall apart and shred beautifully! My hubby ate it for lunch and called me right away to complement me on this meal. The only thing I did not have was onion soup mix or silver onion skins, so I threw in a quartered onion and some garlic powder. I also had trouble stuffing the bacon wrapped garlic into the slits, so I first slid the garlic in, then the little bacon slice into the same holes to seal them. The meat I cooked was outside round roast, 1.2kg, about $6 on sale. Not bad for the amazing quality! Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anna_berenthal February 18, 2010

I followed this recipe to a T, all I can say is that this recipe will be my "go to" for roast! Uncle Bill, this is AMAZING!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaMere December 02, 2009

Uncle Bill this recipe was so well received in our house that its now THE ONLY WAY im allowed to do roast beef-Thankyou so much for sharing this fantastic recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angel-mae & cleopatra's mummy August 29, 2009

Uncle Bill...Uncle Bill.... what can I say other than this recipe is marvelous!! After 40 years of " old school" cooking I finally broke down and decided to try a crock pot recipe. Naturally the first person I went to for a recipe was you as you have never let me down. I was shy about using the cream of mushroom soup as I normally just don't like the taste of canned creamed soups however, I was pleased with the end result. I tried to stick with the recipe as directed. Well, almost. I used small quartered onions in place of the pearl onions, a few more baby carrots and baby new potatoes. I seared my roast in bacon grease as I found I was out of bacon but still did the garlic as directed. Next time I'll be certain to have the bacon. I remember my Grandmother used bacon in this same fashion to " marble" her roasts. I used Maderia wine as that was what I had. The roast was so tender no knife was needed to cut it. The flavor of the gravy ( which I chose not to thicken) was outstanding! I loved the addition of mushrooms in the vegetables. I served this with a German salad recipe I have and crusty sourdough bread. While eating dinner my Grandson said " Granny, yer a good cooker.' I may never leave home while the crock pot is on but I can say without a doubt I will make this recipe often. Thanks so much for sharing your recipes and advice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sammijo August 18, 2009
Uncle Bill's Beef Roast in a Slow Cooker