14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Left out the ham. Had to use dried rosemary and oregano but had fresh basil. only had canned mushrooms. I halfed the butter and doubled olive oil (extra virgin). The asparagus and tomatoes were perfect The tasted was unexpected - light and flavorfull. My family enjoyed it very much. With the fresh herbs I think I would have given 5 stars. I had to re-review this recipe after using it so many times not just for pasta but for asparagus side dish. It is definately 5 stars I have never added the ham but still great

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mila64 November 23, 2009

This was wonderful! I left out the ham, since I'm a vegetarian and added a little spinach at the very end just because I needed to use it up. Next time I make it I'll use less butter, but other than that I won't be changing a thing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AEHbamafan April 10, 2008

I improvised a lot with ingredients i had on hand, halved the butter, doubled the oil, and it was still awesome. Used sausage instead of ham, zucchini and green beans instead of asparagus. But it was just the taste i was looking for. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristal H. July 22, 2012

Wonderful! I made one change. Because, I don't like tomatoes, out of season, I used a can of diced tomatoes. Otherwise followed recipe as directed...delicious! Thanks, "Uncle Bill"!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llangrove April 06, 2010

I really enjoyed this, made more of a sauce by adding some milk, but otherwise great, I did add some extra veggies I had on hand, mainly 1/2 an onion, half a zucchini and small red pepper. My DH would have liked more meat and more sauce, but what does he know lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kel-Cie T April 12, 2009

I would give it 3 and a half stars. The pasta was very asparagus-y. I like asparagus, but not that much. I admit that I repaced the ham with some leftover chicken we had. That might have done something to change it, but not much. It was still a good dish, but I won't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamplemoussee May 27, 2008

I normally always change something on a recipe, but Uncle Bill, you have come through with perfection! There is no need to change anything on this! When I told my DH it was Pasta Primavera for dinner, and even explained the whole "Taste of Home" thing, I could tell he wasn't convinced. But, one bite, and we both immediately said 5 stars!!! I would give it 10 if I could! Thanks so much Uncle Bill, this is going into my "company's coming" cookbook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.R April 09, 2008

I never write reviews, but this was so goooooood I just had to tell you! I've cooked for my husband for 27 years and he always eats anything, usually with no comments, but tonight he said "this is really good!" Flavorful and rich, the spices, fresh asparagus and mushrooms complimented the leftover ham and was wonderful on our pasta. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jsbalaguy March 25, 2008

Excellent recipe! This is now one of my husband's favorite meals. It is easy and works well with any vegetables. We are vegetarian, so we left out the ham and it still had plenty of flavor. I made this for the first time about a month ago and we have had it every week since.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moomari September 25, 2007
Uncle Bill's Asparagus Pasta Primavera