Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Halloween Central >

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    Try These Petrifyingly Perfect Party Bites
    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    19 Boo-tiful Baked Goods
    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    A Tasty Snack For Your Little Goblins
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unbelievably Easy Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unbelievably Easy Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    88 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 88

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2009

      I love this soup. I've made it several times now, always with great results. It's so budget-friendly and tastes so good. Perfect with a green salad and some crusty bread for dinner. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      For such a simple ingredient list, this soup is surprisingly delicious! I added bacon bits, a little garlic, and some baby carrots (cut in thirds) to the mix. As my potato masher is mysteriously missing, I had to do with a big spoon and a fork. I also had to drain off quite a bit of water after the veggies had cooked, and even let it go at a full boil after adding the half & half to get the soup to the proper consistancy. Next time, I will start with much less water, make sure I have a masher on hand, and leave out the carrots (just didn't "go"). Overall, a simple, quick soup perfect for warming up a rainy day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Hmmm. I don't know why, but I just did not have the same good luck with this soup as others have. It was too watery, and it took WAY more salt than I would have liked to add. A little flavorless, even with added cheese and garlic salt. However, I did like the leftovers the next day better than day-of.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      When my picky toddler said "more soup please" I knew this was a winner! This got rave reviews from the whole family. I added peas and cheddar cheese. Yum! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      Very good and Harty!!! Lots of things you could do with this! LOVED IT! will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      Fabulous! This was my first-ever attempt at soup and it was wonderful. I used 8 or 9 small to medium potatoes and skipped the celery as I had none on hand. I heated the onions and a minced garlic clove in a skillet and steamed some shredded carrots. I added all that to the potatoes when I turned it down to simmer. I also added a teaspoon of dill. I served this with Chef Boca Pat's Cornbread in a Skillet (Cornbread in a Skillet). Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      This is really easy and wonderful! I used half and half in mine. I also added 4 chicken boullion and 2 onion boullion cubes instead of onion. So quick, easy and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      The husband and I loved this! I only ran into one problem, and that was more of my error: I apparently put in a bit too much water and when I continued simmering to let it reduce, my potatoes ended up too mushy and it was more like...really tasty mashed potato soup, haha. We also added cheddar cheese, bacon, and a bit of paprika to jazz it up. Next time I plan on cooking the vegetables with the lid OFF so that the water will evaporate more quickly. We like a thick, chunky potato soup, and I think that'll do the trick. :) Thanks for the awesome easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Most of my attempts at soup don't come out very well. This was really excellent. I added too much water (oops), but letting it simmer and reduce fixed it in no time. I added a dash of colby cheese on the top. It went really well with Simple Crusty Bread. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      Made this for DH, he loved it. I added some garlic and thyme.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      It was a snowy day and my husband wanted some kind of soup all of a sudden. I didn't have all I needed for the soup he wanted but then I saw that I had potatoes. I googled easy potato soup and found this recipe. It was SOOOOOO easy and VERY, VERY tasty!! All 3 of my children clean their bowls!!! I had added to much water and milk so it was kind of soupy at first but I happened to have some potato flakes so I added a little of those and it thickend up nicely. I also cooked bacon in the microwave and added it to the top of the soup when it was done. That was a nice addition. I will definetly keep this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Quick, easy and nutritious. Great for a college student with low budget and little time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      I had never made potato soup before and I chose this recipe to use. I am very glad I did. It was so good. I did not use the celery because I didn't have any. I also sprinkled some garlic powder in it. I used my Vidalia Chop Wizard so all my potatoes were the same size cubes. I am not good at chopping uniformly. I will make this again, thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      This soup was unbelievably easy to make. It was also very tasty! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I sprinkled the top with paprika and parsley. Thank you for sharing your recipe Vina! Upon making this soup again I decided to add the 5th star because it definitely deserves it! I had some cheese leftover and threw it in the pot and topped with green onions. Mmm....good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      I loved this topped with crushed potato chips. My husband wanted a cheesy potato soup but creamy, so I added sharp cheddar to this recipe for him and kept some plain for me. I also used the half and half. It's excellent. I think I might try adding some cooked chicken and maybe some mushrooms next time for something different. Thanks so much for sharing this. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      I agree with some of the other reviewers...this is a nice, hearty, easy to prepare soup but it takes a little creativity with the addition of spices, cheeses, etc. to get it up to it's full potential. Will definitely try this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

      This was a good starting potato soup recipe. It definitely needs some little additions: spices, bacon, other things like that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      How delicious is this? And yes, easy! I tweaked the recipe by adding a little fresh dill, 2 cups grated sharp cheddar cheese, and a combo of diced yellow and red onion. I steamed my carrots and also sauteed the onions in butter before adding to the soup to make sure all veggies were nice and soft. So good! Thanks for an easy and delicious potato soup recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      Like everyone has already said, this is VERY easy. I added some garlic powder, cheddar cheese and a little dill to perk it up a bit. Thanks for a good, quick recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      This is my new favorite weeknight meal! This was incredibly easy and so tasty. I left the skins on for taste and nutrition, then added some garlic powder. I also left out the celery since I don't care for it. Then I topped it with some bacon bits and a little shredded cheese, and it was heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unbelievably Easy Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (495 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 343.2
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    94%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 73.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.7 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    36%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes