88 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved this recipe! This is what I came up with (based on combined reviews) 4 large potatoes chopped small, 3 C chicken broth, let it simmer for 25 minutes. Sautee in olive oil 3/4 C chopped green onion, fresh parsley, and shredded/chopped celery and carrots. 3 large dollops of sour cream, a small package of sharp cheddar cheese, and salt/pepper/garlic powder to taste. I did add just a bit of 2% milk at the end. It was so delicious and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tds1993 December 30, 2013

Made this for supper tonight, We all loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
renie48 November 03, 2013

I adjusted this slightly, added some leftover potato casserole and also some carrot along with the celery, onion & potatoes. Once cooked down & mashed I added a small handful cheese along with a little crumbled bacon, was very hearty & delicious and yes unbelievably easy...:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** May 14, 2013

I love potato soup and this here looks great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flygt February 26, 2013

Great Base!
I have to cut out the whole veges due to digestive issues, I've alway's used chicken stock in place of the water, and whole milk not canned and cream is just too rich. Instead of smashing parts of the boiled potatoes I've always added a small amount of potato flakes ( have them in diff flavors now too) just add enough towards the end to make the soupy part textured and creamy, and always add unsalted real butter at the end about 2-4TBLS to bring a good balance of flavors. Top with crisp crumbled bacon or ham slightly browned.
Try the flavored instant potato flakes this really enhances the flavor of the Soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CatHanson65 January 30, 2013

Really awesome! I love how simple it is! I used waxy potatoes but it would probably be better with starchy potatoes such as Yukon golds. I also added a little too much water to start so I didn't add any milk, just a few tbsp of heavy cream. Some dried thyme made it even better though it was also good with a pinch of nutmeg!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
endeavour January 17, 2013

I usually make recipes exactly as posted the first time I make them, then adjust where needed. I wouldn't change a thing with this recipe except to add fresh chives or parsley as a garnish on top. We loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hot Pepper December 12, 2012

Excellent base recipe, great flavor just as it is, I also rendered some pork loin bits in with the onions. The resulting flavor is rustic, savory and with the diagonally sliced carrots and demi-mashed chunks, it's hearty! This one is going in the recipe box for a chowder base.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karakerkhof December 02, 2012

OMG...this is wonderful in taste and ease. You can do so much with this recipe. I added cheese and smoked bacon salt and we couldn't eat it fast enough! I alos doubled the recipe for lunches :) Thanks you for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taylor's Mommy October 22, 2012

Surprisingly good to be so simple! I added some leftover ham I had in the freezer and a couple of carrots, and I used fat-free half and half. I wish I had gone with the lesser amount of half and half, but it was still delicious. It really hit the spot on a cool fall night. Thanks for posting; this one is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeriBinNC October 06, 2012
Unbelievably Easy Potato Soup