Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unbelievably Easy Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unbelievably Easy Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    86 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 86

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2012

      I had some leftover heavy whipping cream and was looking to use it up. I had everything on hand for this recipe. I made enough for two servings. I had about half a cup leftover chicken broth from canned chicken chucks earlier in the week and used that in place of some of the water. Also sauteed the onions prior to putting in the pot. In addition to the potatoes and celery, I also added one coarsely grated carrot and some granulated garlic to the pot. When done, added a handful of real bacon bits. Didn't need very much of the heavy whipping cream. When serving, topped each bowl with shredded sharp cheddar cheese, more bacon bits and fresh chives from the garden. I'll be making this one again very soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

    • on June 07, 2012

      This soup was true to it's title - unbelievably EASY!
      I put bacon pieces in mine too and with the ingredients I used it equated to just under 300 calories. I'll be making this again and again and again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      Awesome base soup that can be jazzed up to be amazing! I love how simple this method is, and that it doesn't require blending. I added extra onion, used chicken stock instead of water, and added several cloves of garlic. You can play around with seasonings to find what you like (try seasoning salt, garlic powder, basil). Definitely a basic recipe I will use again, with just a few additions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      Very good! I added white jasmine rice and used red pearl onions instead. Also added oregano.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      So tasty and so easy! I used carrots and celery and added chicken bullion with the cream. Thanks for this great recipe, I will be using it often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      GREAT recipe for the amount of ingredients! 1 added 2 pieces of bacon, some butter, a dash of liquid smoke. I used a blender and make it like a cream of potato soup. Next time i might use chicken broth instead of water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      i love this recipe Made it for company ....added a few bacon crumbs form breakfast and they raved about it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

    • on March 23, 2010

      I made this last night and my Dad claims it was restaurant quality! I made this as 8 portions and added 1/4 c of bacon grease...the flavor it kicked in was incredible. We then sprinkled just a little bacon on top. yummmmmo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I really, really like this recipe. It's simple and quick, and the variations on it are endless. I prefer to cook this with carrots and to add some bouillon cubes for flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      Easy & Delicious!!! This is my new go to for cold weather soup. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      This is exactly how my mom used to make it too (minus the celery)! Depending on my mood, sometimes I will add some canned tomatoes or corn, but it's excellent just as it is written! Thank you for sharing such a simple and delicious soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Very easy to make. I added some hot sauce, garlic and paprika to spice it up, but the soup still tasted bland. This recipe is a good foundation, but experimenting with flavors is needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This was everyone's favorite and easy. I used 3 boullion cubes in the potato stock and sprinked some instant mashed potatoes to thicken at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I made this as is, only adding carrots to the soup. It was good, my intention was to add turkey bacon and paprika as well, but I forgot. A great basic soup, super easy to make. We had a bunch of people over for New Year's Day and this was one of the soups I made, everyone really liked it and I had a request from one of the guests for the recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      This has become a staple in my menu planning. Its such a great winter meal and can do most of the cooking while you are getting dressed or finishing up a task. YUM! I add a splash of beer and some shredded cheese and bacon bits and its to die for

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      This was sooo Delicious:) I spiced it up a bit though. I used chicken broth instead of water. Added cream of celery with the milk&& lots of spices(dill,garlic salt,minced onions) topped with cheese, bacon and green onions.THANK YOU so much for the idea and recipe...Super Simple&& scrumptous:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      I love this soup. I've made it several times now, always with great results. It's so budget-friendly and tastes so good. Perfect with a green salad and some crusty bread for dinner. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      For such a simple ingredient list, this soup is surprisingly delicious! I added bacon bits, a little garlic, and some baby carrots (cut in thirds) to the mix. As my potato masher is mysteriously missing, I had to do with a big spoon and a fork. I also had to drain off quite a bit of water after the veggies had cooked, and even let it go at a full boil after adding the half & half to get the soup to the proper consistancy. Next time, I will start with much less water, make sure I have a masher on hand, and leave out the carrots (just didn't "go"). Overall, a simple, quick soup perfect for warming up a rainy day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unbelievably Easy Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (495 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 343.2
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    94%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 73.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.7 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    36%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites