Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Halloween Central >

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    Try These Petrifyingly Perfect Party Bites
    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    19 Boo-tiful Baked Goods
    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    A Tasty Snack For Your Little Goblins
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unbelievably Easy Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unbelievably Easy Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    86 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 86

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2014

    • on March 13, 2014

      I was pleasantly surprised at the ease of this recipe. I added in some other things (sliced carrots, garlic, rosemary, dried onions, and a bit of vegetable Better Than Bouillon) and it was really delicious. Also, I didn't end up smashing my potatoes at all; the smaller bits kind-of melted into the pot as I stirred then I added a splash of half and half at the end to loosen it up a bit at the end. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      Absolutely love this recipe!!!! Great when I'm hungry later on at night and don't want junk food!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      Very easy and so good. I varied the recipe a bit..... Boiled the potatoes and vegetables in chicken broth instead of water. Also added diced mushrooms and saluted those with the onion. Added both to potatoes and also added the chopped celery. Used the half and half as stated but added some shredded cheddar cheese for more flavor. Excellent. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2014

    • on January 08, 2014

      This was a great starting point. I, too, sauteed the onion and celery, and I added a little bacon. (What isn't better with bacon?) Thank you for this recipe. I know I'll be using it again in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      Very tasty and perfect for a chilly night with a chuck of crispy bread. I also used chicken broth instead of water and added sautéed onions that I had in the freezer plus a clove of gar lice and a few baby carrots. It was perfect and did not need much salt due to the broth. Also added a bit of lemon thyme and rosemary before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      Loved the soup. It has great flavor for being such a simple recipe. I will be making this often. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      Loved this recipe! This is what I came up with (based on combined reviews) 4 large potatoes chopped small, 3 C chicken broth, let it simmer for 25 minutes. Sautee in olive oil 3/4 C chopped green onion, fresh parsley, and shredded/chopped celery and carrots. 3 large dollops of sour cream, a small package of sharp cheddar cheese, and salt/pepper/garlic powder to taste. I did add just a bit of 2% milk at the end. It was so delicious and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2013

      Made this for supper tonight, We all loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      I adjusted this slightly, added some leftover potato casserole and also some carrot along with the celery, onion & potatoes. Once cooked down & mashed I added a small handful cheese along with a little crumbled bacon, was very hearty & delicious and yes unbelievably easy...:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      I love potato soup and this here looks great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      Great Base!
      I have to cut out the whole veges due to digestive issues, I've alway's used chicken stock in place of the water, and whole milk not canned and cream is just too rich. Instead of smashing parts of the boiled potatoes I've always added a small amount of potato flakes ( have them in diff flavors now too) just add enough towards the end to make the soupy part textured and creamy, and always add unsalted real butter at the end about 2-4TBLS to bring a good balance of flavors. Top with crisp crumbled bacon or ham slightly browned.
      Try the flavored instant potato flakes this really enhances the flavor of the Soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      Really awesome! I love how simple it is! I used waxy potatoes but it would probably be better with starchy potatoes such as Yukon golds. I also added a little too much water to start so I didn't add any milk, just a few tbsp of heavy cream. Some dried thyme made it even better though it was also good with a pinch of nutmeg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      I usually make recipes exactly as posted the first time I make them, then adjust where needed. I wouldn't change a thing with this recipe except to add fresh chives or parsley as a garnish on top. We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      Excellent base recipe, great flavor just as it is, I also rendered some pork loin bits in with the onions. The resulting flavor is rustic, savory and with the diagonally sliced carrots and demi-mashed chunks, it's hearty! This one is going in the recipe box for a chowder base.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      OMG...this is wonderful in taste and ease. You can do so much with this recipe. I added cheese and smoked bacon salt and we couldn't eat it fast enough! I alos doubled the recipe for lunches :) Thanks you for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      Surprisingly good to be so simple! I added some leftover ham I had in the freezer and a couple of carrots, and I used fat-free half and half. I wish I had gone with the lesser amount of half and half, but it was still delicious. It really hit the spot on a cool fall night. Thanks for posting; this one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      As written, as it is meant to be, I give this a big thumbs up. This was written to be a BASIC recipe and that is exactly what it was; a GOOD, BASIC recipe.
      Now, to make this a little better than basic, I crumbled some bacon(home-cured, home-smoked of course) then added a couple Tablespoons of butter.
      Maybe next time I will add some cheese also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unbelievably Easy Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (495 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 343.2
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    94%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 73.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.7 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    36%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites