88 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

MMMMMMMMM!!! Instead of water, I used chicken stock - and I added in a bunch of cut up carrots too... YUM!!! This is FABULOUS

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Radish4ever June 25, 2009

I made this last night and it was AMAZING!! I did however add some kale, red pepper flakes, garlic, chives and a little bit of bacon!! This is a great base that you can add whatever it is that you and the fam will enjoy! Next time Im thinking of adding Italian sausage!! Thanks for posting this Vina!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kasiandbrandon October 12, 2012

Yummy! I used chicken broth and a dash of Paul Prudhomme Vegetable Magic seasoning.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulesKitchen January 08, 2012

Thanks for this recipe! I have used it several times. I boil the potatoes, then take about half of them out when par boiled. I cook the rest down and puree them with my stick blender. Then I add the par boiled potatoes and veggies back in - this way I still have some firm potatoes while the others provide a thickener.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saracho January 07, 2012

Love this recipe. I needed a simple way to use extra potatoes I had on hand. My kids loved it and my potato soup snob husband thought it was great! Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara Laine December 05, 2011

Yummy, It was my 10 year old sons day to cook, he made this. WE ALL LOVED IT

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jtstaseik November 13, 2011

I added a few things suggested by others, such as frozen broccoli, thinly sliced turkey kielbasa, and also some thinly sliced cabbage (since I had some in the fridge). After 25 minutes, I spooned out the kielbasa, put the rest in a blender and pulsed it for a second. I joined it with the kielbasa and added about 1/2 cup light sour cream, 1-1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper. My husband said, "Can you make this again?" I'll definitely keep this recipe for review again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swankypup November 12, 2011

Yum! I used this recipe as a base and added chopped broccoli, low-fat shredded cheese and 2 links of turkey kielbasa. I didn't peel the potatoes for the extra nutrition and color. I also used skim milk. So easy, so good and so healthy! Thanks Vina!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick November 09, 2011

LOVE this! So simple and satisfying. The first time I made as written, except used some leftover vegetable broth instead of the water. The next time (the very next night!) I used water, but also added in some carrots. It was already the thickness I wanted, as I like really thick soups, so instead of milk I stirred in a little sour cream. There are endless variations for this soup, AND it's delicious as is! It's going in my Six Stars cookbook. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetySJD October 06, 2011

This recipe was terrific and SO FAST. My kids loved it and it was as close to our local Wildflower Bread Company recipe as I have found. I added 1/4 cup of low fat cream cheese at the end and it really tied it together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tcmagna September 20, 2011
Unbelievably Easy Potato Soup