88 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been wanting to make a potato soup recipe for years but never took the time to search for one. I wanted a basic recipe that sounded like the potato soups I had eaten in the past. I had a lot of potatos on hand and decided to look for a recipe to use them in. I searched for a "basic" recipe and finally found this one. If you are looking for a true potato soup this is it. I always make a large quantity of any soup I make and share it family and friends. Everyone really loved it. This would be a great base recipe for a chowder. I will definitely be making this again.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imahapigirl April 03, 2010

This has become a go-to recipe in our home with a few modifications. I use vegetable stock instead of water, add a smashed clove of garlic for each potato (you can mince it, but it cooks down so soft that it gets broken up pretty well with the potato masher), I leave out the celery (we don't like the texture and the stock has plenty of celery flavor), and top with a little grated cheddar and soy bacon bits and voila quick and delicious vegetarian baked potato soup!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acaciabrooke June 24, 2011

I loved this recipe. Like a reviewer on here before, I sauteed the onions and used carrots instead of celery (because I had them in the house). As a garnish, I added sour cream, bacon and chives. Served with a nice fresh crusty bread! It was delicious!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JordanaK January 17, 2011

I love this recipe. It's basic, easy, tasty, and versatile. I usually cook the potatoes, celery, and onion in 1 can of chicken broth. When the ingredients become tender, I add 2 TBS. butter before adding the milk. I've made this recipe without celery and it's still good. Thanks so much for sharing! PS. You won't need as much salt if the salt is added to the water or broth while vegetables are cooking.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountainbaby August 15, 2011

Absolutely delicious! I'm not very good at cooking, so this really was the best recipe for me. Simple, and can be spiced up with substitutions or kept as is and it's still great! I didn't have any celery on hand, so I used cream of celery soup. It was so great! This was much better than anything I could have made in the microwave out of a can. Thank you for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princess_marth December 28, 2010

This is the way my mom always made potato soup and I love how wonderful it tastes with so few ingredients. The only thing I add is bacon bits. I think it's best with whole milk or half and half. Love love love this recipe....makes me feel like I'm back home eating my mom's soup!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenJellyBean January 26, 2012

Great base for a recipe. I took the advice of some of the other reviews: I added celery as well as carrots, I also through in some chicken bouillon and diced garlic. I served it with some sourdough bread and topped it with cheddar cheese and chives. Great comfort food!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Modern444 March 06, 2011

I played around with the recipe a bit as well after reading some of the reviews. I ended up using:
4 large potatoes, about 3/4 C chopped sweet onion
3 C vegetable broth, let it simmer and then added in real bacon bits, 3 large dollops of light sour cream, most of a package of sharp cheddar cheese, and salt/pepper/garlic powder to taste.

And ohmygoodness, it is thick, and creamy, and chunky and just fantastic!!
Some of the best potato soup I've ever had, I'm a fan! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsKelseyMarie January 18, 2012

Good basic soup. Very easy. I used Carrots because I didn't have celery; added chicken bouillon, bacon & I sauteed the onions first.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C.Luna November 19, 2010

I've made this recipe twice and its very delicious! The first time I think I added too much water and ended up removing some during the cooking. But it still had great flavor and was really tasty. The second time I prepared the recipe, I was out of onion and used onion powder and flakes instead. It wasn't bad but using real onion is definitely the way to go. I love this recipe because it's a great way to use potatoes without needing a lot of other ingredients! I like to add bacon pieces and cheddar cheese on top.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llangley July 17, 2010
Unbelievably Easy Potato Soup