Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Halloween Central >

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    Try These Petrifyingly Perfect Party Bites
    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    19 Boo-tiful Baked Goods
    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    A Tasty Snack For Your Little Goblins
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unbelievably Easy Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unbelievably Easy Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    88 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 88

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2010

      I have been wanting to make a potato soup recipe for years but never took the time to search for one. I wanted a basic recipe that sounded like the potato soups I had eaten in the past. I had a lot of potatos on hand and decided to look for a recipe to use them in. I searched for a "basic" recipe and finally found this one. If you are looking for a true potato soup this is it. I always make a large quantity of any soup I make and share it family and friends. Everyone really loved it. This would be a great base recipe for a chowder. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      This has become a go-to recipe in our home with a few modifications. I use vegetable stock instead of water, add a smashed clove of garlic for each potato (you can mince it, but it cooks down so soft that it gets broken up pretty well with the potato masher), I leave out the celery (we don't like the texture and the stock has plenty of celery flavor), and top with a little grated cheddar and soy bacon bits and voila quick and delicious vegetarian baked potato soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      I loved this recipe. Like a reviewer on here before, I sauteed the onions and used carrots instead of celery (because I had them in the house). As a garnish, I added sour cream, bacon and chives. Served with a nice fresh crusty bread! It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      I love this recipe. It's basic, easy, tasty, and versatile. I usually cook the potatoes, celery, and onion in 1 can of chicken broth. When the ingredients become tender, I add 2 TBS. butter before adding the milk. I've made this recipe without celery and it's still good. Thanks so much for sharing! PS. You won't need as much salt if the salt is added to the water or broth while vegetables are cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      Absolutely delicious! I'm not very good at cooking, so this really was the best recipe for me. Simple, and can be spiced up with substitutions or kept as is and it's still great! I didn't have any celery on hand, so I used cream of celery soup. It was so great! This was much better than anything I could have made in the microwave out of a can. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      This is the way my mom always made potato soup and I love how wonderful it tastes with so few ingredients. The only thing I add is bacon bits. I think it's best with whole milk or half and half. Love love love this recipe....makes me feel like I'm back home eating my mom's soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Great base for a recipe. I took the advice of some of the other reviews: I added celery as well as carrots, I also through in some chicken bouillon and diced garlic. I served it with some sourdough bread and topped it with cheddar cheese and chives. Great comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      Good basic soup. Very easy. I used Carrots because I didn't have celery; added chicken bouillon, bacon & I sauteed the onions first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      I've made this recipe twice and its very delicious! The first time I think I added too much water and ended up removing some during the cooking. But it still had great flavor and was really tasty. The second time I prepared the recipe, I was out of onion and used onion powder and flakes instead. It wasn't bad but using real onion is definitely the way to go. I love this recipe because it's a great way to use potatoes without needing a lot of other ingredients! I like to add bacon pieces and cheddar cheese on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      MMMMMMMMM!!! Instead of water, I used chicken stock - and I added in a bunch of cut up carrots too... YUM!!! This is FABULOUS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2012

      I made this last night and it was AMAZING!! I did however add some kale, red pepper flakes, garlic, chives and a little bit of bacon!! This is a great base that you can add whatever it is that you and the fam will enjoy! Next time Im thinking of adding Italian sausage!! Thanks for posting this Vina!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      I played around with the recipe a bit as well after reading some of the reviews. I ended up using:
      4 large potatoes, about 3/4 C chopped sweet onion
      3 C vegetable broth, let it simmer and then added in real bacon bits, 3 large dollops of light sour cream, most of a package of sharp cheddar cheese, and salt/pepper/garlic powder to taste.

      And ohmygoodness, it is thick, and creamy, and chunky and just fantastic!!
      Some of the best potato soup I've ever had, I'm a fan! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Yummy! I used chicken broth and a dash of Paul Prudhomme Vegetable Magic seasoning.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      Thanks for this recipe! I have used it several times. I boil the potatoes, then take about half of them out when par boiled. I cook the rest down and puree them with my stick blender. Then I add the par boiled potatoes and veggies back in - this way I still have some firm potatoes while the others provide a thickener.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      Love this recipe. I needed a simple way to use extra potatoes I had on hand. My kids loved it and my potato soup snob husband thought it was great! Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      Yummy, It was my 10 year old sons day to cook, he made this. WE ALL LOVED IT

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      I added a few things suggested by others, such as frozen broccoli, thinly sliced turkey kielbasa, and also some thinly sliced cabbage (since I had some in the fridge). After 25 minutes, I spooned out the kielbasa, put the rest in a blender and pulsed it for a second. I joined it with the kielbasa and added about 1/2 cup light sour cream, 1-1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper. My husband said, "Can you make this again?" I'll definitely keep this recipe for review again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      Yum! I used this recipe as a base and added chopped broccoli, low-fat shredded cheese and 2 links of turkey kielbasa. I didn't peel the potatoes for the extra nutrition and color. I also used skim milk. So easy, so good and so healthy! Thanks Vina!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      LOVE this! So simple and satisfying. The first time I made as written, except used some leftover vegetable broth instead of the water. The next time (the very next night!) I used water, but also added in some carrots. It was already the thickness I wanted, as I like really thick soups, so instead of milk I stirred in a little sour cream. There are endless variations for this soup, AND it's delicious as is! It's going in my Six Stars cookbook. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      This recipe was terrific and SO FAST. My kids loved it and it was as close to our local Wildflower Bread Company recipe as I have found. I added 1/4 cup of low fat cream cheese at the end and it really tied it together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unbelievably Easy Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (495 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 343.2
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    94%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 73.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.7 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    36%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes