33 Reviews

I don't mean to disrespect the people who say it doesn't have any flavor, but maybe they over-flavor their food in general, because this loaf was very tasty. The carrots and ketchup add a nice sweetness, and the W. Sauce adds a zing. The onion and garlic are very aromatic as well as a great combo to the ground chicken. I love that this is low-calorie and has awesome flavor.

To those reading these reviews: yes, if you overuse (or use GENEROUSLY) condiments, spices, herbs, what-have-you on a regular basis, this might be too bland for you in it's original context. Spice it up a bit. But this is, by no means, bland or flavorless all by itself. Those comments must have been exaggerated.

Love the recipe. Gonna defend it. Thanks Debbb!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyode219 September 28, 2011

loved it!! Great idea to use the blender to chop up the carrots etc. Mine may have been a little over blended, it was quite liquid, next time I will leave it a bit chunky.I added some chipolte sauce to the mix for a little kick. Otherwise followed instructions. I did form it into a loaf but cooked it on a foil lined cookie sheet. I used half chicken and half turkey, turned out to be a nice combination. We had half for supper (with leftovers) and I froze the other half. Thanks for posting, we enjoyed it very much. Forgot to mention, it cut beautifully and am looking forward to sandwiches for lunch!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf October 26, 2006

This is a great recipe. I substituted salsa (I like medium and my wife likes mild) for the ketchup. I also spooned some salsa across the top of the loaf. Everyone who has tried this loves it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wfcuvahac July 28, 2009

I've used this recipe so many times over the years I don't even need to have the recipe handy anymore. I've memorized it. I eyeball all the ingredients except the breadcrumbs, which I always measure with a measuring cup. It's true, you can add pretty much whatever you want to this recipe. I always add a bit of hot sauce (Sriracha or whatever I have on hand. Tonight I am using PickaPeppa Jamaican hot sauce which tastes like Worsteshire sauce but is spicy) ). And I always use 1 whole egg, not just the white. I chop the garlic, onion and carrot in my little food processor, then add the rest of the wet ingredients and blend into a sauce, which goes over the chicken that has been mixed with the breadcrumbs in a separate bowl. I grease a regular calphalon loaf pan and bake it in there. My husband and I love this chicken loaf and we usually have potatoes, carrots and string beans or roasted broccoli on the side.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinnamonkejaro March 12, 2013

This was good, nice texture and I love the veggie mixture over the top. I found it just need a little more zip-next time I will slightly increase the garlic, worcestershire & pepper and perhaps add 1/2 tsp chili flakes.I don't think it will serve 8 people unless they are very small eaters I think 4 is closer to servings. Thanks Debbb this is a good recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy April 09, 2004

Very tasty recipe. I added finely chopped celery in place of the celery seasoning. I also added freshly chopped coriander for a taste boost. You can spice this dish up in a number of ways, but I like it just the way it is with mashed potatoes and fresh seasonal veggies on the side. Everyone in my family seems to like this meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cat T. June 18, 2015

We really enjoyed this. I added some peppers, and because some people said it was bland, I added a teaspoon on Siracca chili garlic sauce. Really added some nice flavor. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jgundelach83 March 18, 2015

Debb, thank you very much for your wonderfully flavorful and easy to make recipe ! I've been looking for something not fryed to make with my ground chicken for 2 days and my hubby got pretty angry and hungry with me ! Just when I Found your magic recipe. I changed couple of things in Ingredients and in Baking times and Temp. : I used combined mild Salsa + Ketchup, added chopped fresh Celery and 1 slice of good quality thick Bacon to cover a Loaf. Also covered the Loaf with additional bit of Ketchup under bacon. I also added 1.5 chopped Idaho potatoes ( in O.O.and some salt ) around loaf. Baking times: I used dark heavy baking sheet. In round I of baking I Baked loaf for 40 min at 350 F, then took the Foil off and increased the Temp of oven (I have a new oven with Conventional setting) to 355 F Convect. and baked Uncovered for 12 min., so bacon could get browned a bit. P.S. I tasted the Loaf when took it out to take the Foil off, and it was almost Done, as Potatoes. So my Baking times were Shorter. The loaf and Potatoes turned out wonderful: juicy, flavorful and great looking !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msterin_12817088 February 26, 2015

Wonderful!!! As for people saying it is bland, if you tend to like things spicy you would be able to tell from the recipe this isn't super spicy. You can add some chopped bell peppers or do what I did and use a flavored ketchup instead of plain (I used Jalepeno ketchup). This was way better than I expected. So glad I found this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dutchgirl1966 January 25, 2015

This is so easy to prepare and with a boost in spices can taste good too.<br/><br/>The problem for me, which several reviews have mentioned, is the texture.<br/><br/>This meatloaf is just plain mushy. If you can custom grind your chicken to a greater coarseness then maybe the problem is solved but for me I just can't get past this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doubting Thomas December 23, 2014
Unbelievable Chicken Meatloaf