173 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Because I am not a wing eater, I will give you my DH's take on this recipe. He proclaimed this 5 stars all the way. While he felt that the wings could have a little more kick in the spice department, it was certainly not a deal breaker (or a review star taker). In his words, "They are juicy and awesome and a definite DO AGAIN!"*** (**Must add that DH reviewed these after having warmed them up in the microwave the day after I baked them. He never tried them fresh out of the oven--so I imagine that these are even more fantastic freshly prepared.)

Now, as a wing maker, I can tell you that this could not be easier to make and I found that the wings crisped up very nicely under the broiler. The sauce was easy peasy to make as well. After it cooled down slightly from the microwave, I simply dumped the sauce and wings into a ziploc and shook to coat. Thanks for a great go-to wing recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud March 12, 2013

2/2/13 Crazy good and so easy. I used Frank's Red Hot Original hot sauce. Thanks for posting WhoDat. Made for Best of 2012. UPDATE: 2/19/13 Made a 2nd time and decided that we will make using drumettes next time. Still loving this! I boiled the ahead of time and stuck them back in the fridge until dinner time. Snipped the wing tips off so they would not burn under the broiler. Brushed the Frank's hot sauce on each win rather than dipping. Got a photo this time too :D Made for Best of 2012 Tag game!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour March 05, 2013

Loved the recipe. Came out alittle dry though. Next time I think I will do what another reviewer said, and bake my wings on 425 or maybe 500. Didn't have any red pepper flakes so omitted, and I used alittle less than a tbsp of cayenne pepper. I also seasoned with garlic powder and a cajun spice after boiling. I think next time I will leave cayenne pepper out. Posted picture also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife2uRick February 27, 2013

we loved this recipe but made some adjustments.
Cut the seasonings in half and bake the wings at 425 degrees for 25 minutes.
When I first made the recipe I tried the broiling but my wings seemed over cooked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COhome February 24, 2013

Delicious! I make a very similar tasting recipe to this, but mine uses a lot more butter. That's why I'm putting this recipe into my best of the best file - it tastes like our favorite wing recipe but it uses much less butter! That's a winner in my book.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 22, 2013

These were good... not great. Maybe I used the wrong wings. I didn't cut up fresh wings from the supermarket. I used the IQF (Individually quick frozen) Tyson wings from Sam's Club. They weren't cooked wings.. they were raw. I defrosted them first and then made this recipe with them. They were a lot of work for the end result. A big pot to wash... a broil pan to wash... bowl and tongs... sink to wash out after draining the boiled wings and spices. I'm just not as thrilled with this recipe as much as others are.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge February 18, 2013

I didn't care for these at all. I tried a couple before adding any sauce & they were tough & tasteless. Doubt if I'll make 'em this way again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ackman February 13, 2013

I don't make buffalo wings often, but these were the best I've tried. I used half Frank's & half Louisiana sauce and used about 2.5 lbs. chicken wings and had plenty of sauce for that amount. I baked 15 min. on each side but I think next time I'll cut the time back just a little bit more. These are very good and I plan on using the technique in the future with different sauces. It's always nice to find ways to cut back on fat & calories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skoc50 February 12, 2013

Great method! Since I have a new oven and am not used to all its quirks yet, I stood by the whole broiling time to keep an eye on it. I broiled on the lowest shelf, 10 minutes on one side and 5 on the other. It came out nice and crispy. I used Frank's Red Hot for the sauce part, but agree with the others who said this method would work great with any type of sauce you were in the mood for. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews February 11, 2013

Best buffalo wings ever! Followed as directed! So yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dizzyfreedom February 03, 2013
Unbelievable Baked Buffalo Wings